Dial & Lume

Seiko Prospex vs Citizen Promaster: Which Japanese Diver?

Two Japanese dive lines, both automatic, both marked 200m - and a documentation gap that runs the other way from the price. What each maker publishes for the references you can actually buy.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

Buy the Seiko Prospex if you want to know what you are buying, and the SRPG57is the reference to start at — a named 4R36 caliber, an approximately 41-hour reserve, 42.4mm across and 13.4mm thick, all of it published by Seiko for that exact watch. Buy the Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic if the budget is the constraint: the 41mm bracelet reference carries “AUTOMATIC DIVER’S 200m” on the dial and costs appreciably less than any Prospex, and the polyurethane-strap reference costs less again. The catch is real and worth stating twice: Citizen does not name the caliber, the crystal, the thickness or the power reserve on either of those listings. You are paying Seiko for paperwork as much as for hardware.

Prospex and Promaster are the same idea at two companies: a sports and tool line, sitting above the everyday catalog, sold mostly on a water-resistance rating. Both makers build their own movements. Both have decades of dive history. On paper this should be a close fight decided on dial colors.

It is not, and the reason is documentation rather than engineering. For every Prospex reference on this page, Seiko publishes a specification sheet naming the caliber, the jewel count, the reserve, the diameter, the thickness, the crystal and the luminous material. For the Citizen Promaster automatics you can actually buy on Amazon right now, the caliber is not named anywhere on the listing — and nor is the crystal, the thickness or the reserve.

That is not Citizen being incapable of publishing specifications. It publishes excellent ones: for the Promaster Dive Automatic NB6021-17E it names caliber 9051, a 41mm Super Titanium case, sapphire, a 42-hour reserve, antimagnetic resistance to 16,000 A/m and a stated -10 to +20 seconds a day, which is a tighter figure than Seiko publishes for anything in this comparison. That watch is simply not what Amazon sells you under the Promaster name. Below: what both lines publish, what each one costs in practice, and who should buy which.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceMovementCase sizeWater resistanceCrystal
1
Seiko Prospex SRPG57

Seiko Prospex SRPG57

The cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver's marking on the dial, and the single most useful watch in this comparison. It runs the same 4R36 as the Seiko 5 Sports, in a case the same thickness and a tenth of a millimeter narrower - what the extra money actually buys is a screw-down crown, a 200m diver's rating and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands.

Best overall
$440.00 · View on Amazon

$550.0020% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)42.4 mm200 mHardlex with magnified glass
2
Seiko Prospex PADI SRPE27

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPE27

The Prospex to buy if you want the diver's case AND a steel bracelet without paying Turtle money. Seiko publishes the 4R36, 42.4mm across, 13.39mm thick, 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' and LumiBrite hands and markers for this exact reference - and it is one of the very few Prospex references where Seiko's own page, not the retail listing, carries the PADI Special Edition name. It ships on a tri-fold bracelet with a lock and a diver's extender, which is the difference between a watch you wear and a watch you keep meaning to buy a strap for.

Best Seiko bracelet
$535.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)42.4 mm200 mHardlex
3
Seiko Prospex PADI SRPK01

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPK01

The only current Prospex Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal for, and the answer to the line's oldest complaint. Seiko's page for this reference states sapphire with an anti-reflective coating on the inner surface, a 200m rating 'suitable for scuba diving', the 4R36, and a steel bracelet with a tri-fold clasp, a secure lock and a diver's extender - all in the cushion case collectors call the Turtle, though Seiko itself does not print that word on the page. The cost of entry is size: 45mm across.

Best crystal
$569.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)45 mm200 mSapphire (anti-reflective)
4
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Best Citizen
$363.64 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Automatic41 mm200 mNot published
5
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen's mechanical diver, and the most overlooked serious tool watch under $300. Citizen is best known for solar quartz, which is exactly why its automatic divers stay cheap while the Seiko equivalents climb.

Best price
$218.40 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Automatic41 mmNot publishedNot published

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on September 1, September 18, September 30 and October 12, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 13, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Seiko Prospex SRPG57

The cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver's marking on the dial, and the single most useful watch in this comparison. It runs the same 4R36 as the Seiko 5 Sports, in a case the same thickness and a tenth of a millimeter narrower - what the extra money actually buys is a screw-down crown, a 200m diver's rating and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's rating with a screw-down crown and unidirectional bezel
  • Seiko states LumiBrite on hands, indexes AND bezel - the 5 Sports omits the bezel
  • 42.4mm and 13.4mm, so no thicker or wider than the 5 Sports it replaces

Trade-offs

  • 49.4mm lug-to-lug wears noticeably longer than the 5 Sports' 46.0mm
  • Hardlex mineral crystal, not sapphire, at well over $400
  • Solid screw case back - you lose the 5 Sports' view of the movement
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.4 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex with magnified glass
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. This is the reference that makes the whole Seiko 5 versus Prospex argument concrete. Seiko publishes both: 4R36 and approximately 41 hours on each, 42.5mm/13.4mm on the SRPD65 against 42.4mm/13.4mm here. The movement and the case size are not what you are paying for.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best Seiko bracelet

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPE27

The Prospex to buy if you want the diver's case AND a steel bracelet without paying Turtle money. Seiko publishes the 4R36, 42.4mm across, 13.39mm thick, 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' and LumiBrite hands and markers for this exact reference - and it is one of the very few Prospex references where Seiko's own page, not the retail listing, carries the PADI Special Edition name. It ships on a tri-fold bracelet with a lock and a diver's extender, which is the difference between a watch you wear and a watch you keep meaning to buy a strap for.

Strengths

  • Seiko's own page states 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' and that the watch follows ISO standards for scuba diving
  • 42.4mm and 13.39mm - the most wearable diameter in Seiko's current 4R36 dive line
  • Steel bracelet with a tri-fold push-button clasp, a lock and a diver's extender, included

Trade-offs

  • Hardlex mineral crystal, not sapphire, at well over $500
  • Seiko does not name the bezel material on its specification page, so we do not either
  • The blue-and-red PADI bezel is a strong look - it is not a watch that disappears under a cuff
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.4 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Seiko publishes 24 jewels and approximately 41 hours for the 4R36 inside this reference, and states the movement 'can be wound manually or automatically'. The specification sheet lists a length of 49.35mm; Seiko does not label that figure lug-to-lug, so neither do we.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best crystal

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPK01

The only current Prospex Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal for, and the answer to the line's oldest complaint. Seiko's page for this reference states sapphire with an anti-reflective coating on the inner surface, a 200m rating 'suitable for scuba diving', the 4R36, and a steel bracelet with a tri-fold clasp, a secure lock and a diver's extender - all in the cushion case collectors call the Turtle, though Seiko itself does not print that word on the page. The cost of entry is size: 45mm across.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal with an anti-reflective inner coating, on Seiko's own specification page
  • 13.22mm thick - thinner than every other 45mm reference Seiko publishes a sheet for
  • Steel bracelet with a tri-fold push-button clasp, secure lock and diver's extender, included

Trade-offs

  • 45mm across, with a 47.7mm length - it will overhang a wrist under about 7 inches
  • The dearest pick in Seiko's current 4R36 dive line by a clear margin
  • The patterned blue gradient dial is a Special Edition look, not a neutral one
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size45 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire (anti-reflective)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Seiko's own page titles this reference 'Prospex PADI Special Edition' and publishes 45mm x 13.22mm, a 47.7mm length, caliber 4R36 with 24 jewels and approximately 41 hours, sapphire with an inner anti-reflective coating, LumiBrite hands and markers with a blue glow, and 'Automatic with manual winding capability'. Seiko does not label the 47.7mm figure lug-to-lug, so neither do we. Amazon carries the same reference under several import listings at $695 and up; the entry here points at the cheapest live one.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best Citizen

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's marking on the dial - four times the Tsuyosa's 50m
  • Day-date and luminous hands and markers, on a steel bracelet rather than a strap
  • 41mm is the most wearable case width in Citizen's mechanical dive range

Trade-offs

  • Citizen does not name the caliber on this listing, and publishes no crystal, thickness or power-reserve figure for it
  • A rotating dive bezel on every outfit, which is a lot of watch for a desk week
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size41 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The Sport Automatic NH7530-52M that used to sit here is still sold on Citizen's own site but has no live Amazon listing, so it was replaced rather than parked. This is the Citizen automatic that honours the same brief - it swims and it takes any strap - and it does it on a 200m diver's marking rather than the NH7530's 100m. It is a different reference from the budget Promaster Dive on this site: that one is the NY0129-07L on a polyurethane strap, this one is the bracelet version with the amber dial.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best price

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen's mechanical diver, and the most overlooked serious tool watch under $300. Citizen is best known for solar quartz, which is exactly why its automatic divers stay cheap while the Seiko equivalents climb.

Strengths

  • Automatic movement from one of the big three Japanese makers
  • Day-date and proper dive-watch proportions
  • Under-the-radar pricing versus the Seiko equivalents

Trade-offs

  • Citizen does not publish caliber specs on this listing
  • Polyurethane strap will be the first thing you replace
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size41 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Citizen's Promaster line is its tool-watch range. The automatic versions are a small part of it, which is why they get so much less attention than the Eco-Drive models.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What each maker publishes

Read this table as a disclosure comparison rather than a performance one. Not one row claims a watch is worse — the rows say what you can find out before you pay:

Line / referenceCaliberPower reserveCase, as publishedWater rating
Seiko Prospex (SRPG57, SRPE27, SRPK01)4R35 or 4R36, named per referenceApproximately 41 hours41.7-45.0mm, thickness published200m, “suitable for scuba diving”
Citizen Promaster automatic (Amazon references)Not published on the listingNot published41mm width only“AUTOMATIC DIVER’S 200m” on the dial
Citizen Promaster NB6021-17E (own site only)9051, with -10/+20 sec/day stated42 hours41mm Super Titanium200m, “Scuba Diving”

The third row is the one that reframes the argument. Citizen’s best-documented mechanical diver beats every Prospex here on paper — titanium, sapphire, a published accuracy band, antimagnetic to a stated figure — and you cannot buy it on the retailer most people shop at. What you can buy there is the cheap end of the same line, with the paperwork stripped out.

The one number both lines really do share

Both are marked 200m, and in both cases that marking means something specific. Under ISO 6425 a watch may only be marked “Diver’s 200m” if it meets a defined set of requirements — at least 100m of resistance, a unidirectional or lockable elapsed-time bezel, legibility in the dark at 25cm, and testing of every individual watchrather than a batch sample. Seiko states its Prospex divers are “suitable for scuba diving” and follow ISO standards for scuba diving. The bracelet Promaster prints “AUTOMATIC DIVER’S 200m” on the dial, which is the marking the standard governs.

So on the thing a dive watch is for, these are genuinely equivalent, and anyone telling you the Seiko is “more waterproof” is guessing. Our water resistance guide explains what the rating does and does not promise, and why the screw-down crown matters more than the number.

Where Seiko is clearly ahead

You can look the movement up.Seiko names the 4R35 or the 4R36 on the sheet, and then publishes a caliber document for the family: 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations an hour, approximately 41 hours of reserve, manual winding, a stop-seconds function and an accuracy band of +45 to -35 seconds a day. You can hand “4R36” to any watchmaker in the world. You cannot hand them “automatic”.

You can predict the fit.Seiko publishes a thickness and often a length for each reference — 12.3mm on the SRPL15, 13.22mm on the SRPK01, 13.4mm on the SRPG57 — and thickness is what decides whether a dive watch lives under a shirt cuff. Citizen publishes a 41mm width for its Amazon automatics and nothing else about the case.

You can choose your crystal.Most Prospex references use Hardlex, Seiko’s mineral crystal, which is a genuine weakness — glass sits at about 5.5 on the Mohs scale, everyday grit is largely quartz at 7, so hairline scratches arrive over a few years. But Seiko gives you the way out and prints it: the SRPK01 is published with sapphire and an anti-reflective inner coating. On the Citizen listings the crystal is simply not stated, so there is no choice to make.

Where Citizen wins anyway

Price, by a wide margin.Both Citizen automatic divers sit well under the cheapest Prospex here, and the strap reference sits further under again. If the decision is “a mechanical dive watch from a major Japanese maker or nothing”, Citizen answers it at a price Seiko does not currently match in this line.

Day-date on the cheap reference.Both Citizen Promaster automatics here show a day as well as a date. On the Seiko side only the 4R36 references do, and the two 4R35 ones — the SRPF03 and the SRPL15 — are date-only.

A bracelet without the Prospex premium. The 41mm Promaster comes on a steel bracelet. On the Seiko side a bracelet means the SRPE27 or moving up to 45mm, and both cost appreciably more.

It is a 41mm watch. Only one Prospex reference on this site is narrower. If 42mm-plus is too much watch for your wrist, the Citizen is not a compromise choice, it is the correct one. Our watch size guide covers why the lug-to-lug figure predicts fit better than the diameter, and the small-wrist roundup is the page to read if neither of these fits.

What “not published” actually costs you

It is tempting to treat a blank specification row as a formality. Three places it bites:

  • Service. A named caliber tells a watchmaker what parts to order. An unnamed one means opening the watch to find out, and that is billable time. Our guide to automatic service costs puts numbers on the difference.
  • Expectations.Seiko publishing +45 to -35 seconds a day for the 4R family sounds unimpressive until you realize it is a promise you can hold them to. Where no figure is published, a watch running 25 seconds fast is neither within spec nor outside it — there is no spec.
  • Resale and comparison. You cannot compare two watches on figures that only one of them publishes, which is exactly why the cheap Promaster automatics stay cheap while Prospex prices climb.

Who should buy which

Buy the Seiko Prospex if this is your only mechanical watch and you want it documented, if you want a choice of case size between 41.7mm and 45mm, if you want the option of a sapphire crystal, or if you expect to service rather than replace the watch. Start with the full Prospex roundup and pick on thickness.

Buy the Citizen Promaster if the budget is the real constraint, if you want a day-date on a steel bracelet at 41mm, or if you want a mechanical diver from a top-three Japanese maker for the price of a decent NH35 micro brand. Accept that the specification sheet is thin, and that the Citizen references which arefully documented — the 9051 titanium diver, the 8204 Fugu — live on Citizen’s own site rather than on Amazon.

Buy neither if what you actually want is specification per dollar. At Prospex money an NH35 diver with sapphire, a ceramic bezel and a 300m rating is a better-equipped watch from a maker with no service network and no history, and that is a legitimate trade for some people. Our best automatic dive watches page is the cross-brand version of this decision, and Seiko vs Orient vs Citizen takes the three Japanese makers apart on movements and finishing rather than one line each.

Living with either one

Both are automatics with hand-winding, so a stopped watch starts from the crown rather than a shake — Citizen’s own 8200-family manual actually recommends winding the crown five to ten times to start the watch. Both hold roughly 41 to 42 hours off the wrist where a figure is published, which means either one will be stopped by Monday if you take it off on Friday night.

That is the whole argument for a winder on a watch like this, and it is weaker than winder marketing suggests for a single watch: resetting one day-date takes fifteen seconds. We argue both sides in do automatic watches need a winder, and if you decide you want one, winders sized for a Seiko covers the cushion fit that a 42mm-plus diver needs.

Frequently asked questions

Is Seiko Prospex better than Citizen Promaster?

Better documented, yes. Seiko names the caliber, the jewel count, the reserve, the diameter, the thickness and the crystal for every Prospex reference; the Citizen Promaster automatics sold on Amazon name none of those on the listing. On the thing that matters most to a dive watch - a 200m diver's marking governed by ISO 6425 - they are equivalent. If your budget stops short of a Prospex, the Citizen is a real mechanical diver from a top-three Japanese maker rather than a consolation prize.

Which is cheaper, a Prospex or a Promaster automatic?

The Citizen, clearly. Both Promaster automatic references on this page cost less than the cheapest Prospex, and the polyurethane-strap reference costs less again. Prices change daily, so the buy buttons above show the live figure rather than a number typed into this sentence.

Do Citizen Promaster automatics have sapphire crystals?

The references sold on Amazon do not say. Citizen publishes no crystal material on either of those listings, so this site records it as 'Not published' rather than guessing. Citizen does publish sapphire for the Promaster references it sells on its own site, including the NB6021-17E titanium diver and the NY0154-51L Fugu.

What caliber is in a Citizen Promaster automatic?

On the Amazon listings, Citizen does not say. Its documented Promaster mechanicals use the 8204 (an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds, about 42 hours, with a second-hand stop) or the higher-grade 9051 (-10 to +20 seconds, 42 hours). Neither number can honestly be applied to a reference whose caliber the maker has not named, which is why the movement row above reads 'Automatic'.

Can you scuba dive with either of these?

Both are built for it: Seiko states its Prospex divers are suitable for scuba diving and follow ISO standards for scuba diving, and the bracelet Promaster carries the AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m marking that ISO 6425 governs. In practice the crown has to be screwed fully down, and gaskets are a wear item - a watch that has not been pressure-tested since the factory is not one to trust at depth on faith.

Which has the better movement, the Seiko 4R36 or Citizen's automatic?

On published evidence, the 4R36 - not because it is a finer movement, but because it is a known quantity. Seiko publishes 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, approximately 41 hours, hand-winding, a stop-seconds function and +45 to -35 seconds per day for the family. Citizen's best mechanical caliber, the 9051, is tighter than that at -10 to +20 - but it is not the movement in the Promaster automatics Amazon sells.

Sources

  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Amazon - Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm (stainless steel bracelet) listing — The retail listing for the bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic: 'Citizen Men's Promaster Dive Automatic 3-Hand Stainless Steel Watch, Day Date, Luminous, 41mm', with 'AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m' printed on the dial in the listing image. Citizen does not name the caliber on the listing and publishes no crystal, thickness, lug width or power-reserve figure for the reference, so those rows read 'Not published'. This listing replaced the Sport Automatic NH7530-52M on 30 September 2026: Citizen still sells that reference on its own site, but its Amazon listing returned 'Currently unavailable.' with no offer behind it (accessed 2026-09-30)
  • Citizen - Caliber 8203/8204 instruction manual (NY0 series, PDF) — Citizen's own manual for the NY0 series: the 8204 has an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds (the 8203 -10 to +20), about 42 hours when fully wound, 21,600 beats per hour, a manual winding function and a second-hand stop function (8204 only). Citizen notes the stated accuracy is static accuracy at normal temperature and varies with mainspring wind, position and environment (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Promaster Dive Automatic NB6021-17E product specification — Citizen's own listing for the higher-grade Promaster mechanical diver: caliber 9051 automatic, a 41mm Super Titanium case, sapphire, 200m ('Scuba Diving'), a 42-hour power reserve, 'Antimagnetic 16000' and a stated -10 to +20 seconds a day (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Calibers 8200 / 8210 instruction manual (PDF) — Citizen's own manual for calibers 8200 and 8210: 21,600 oscillations per hour, automatic winding, a quick-set date, and a day of week on the 8200 only. Citizen recommends winding the crown manually 5 to 10 times to start the watch. The manual states no daily accuracy figure (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading