Dial & Lume

Invicta Pro Diver vs Citizen Promaster

A $90 automatic diver against a Citizen one. Both are rated 200m - but only one maker will tell you what is inside the case, how fast it runs, or whether the water rating was tested to a standard.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

If you can spend it, buy the Citizen Promaster— and buy a reference Citizen actually documents, like the Fugu NY0154-51L, where Citizen publishes caliber 8204, an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds, about 42 hours, an anti-reflective sapphirecrystal and a case it describes as “ISO compliant with a screw-down crown and water resistant to 200 meters”. If your budget is around $90, the Invicta Pro Diver 8926OBis still a remarkable amount of dive-watch hardware for the money — just understand that Invicta names its movement only “IM-A-005” and publishes no power reserve and no accuracy figure for it. You are buying a case and a bracelet with a sealed surprise inside.

This comparison looks like a price question and is actually a disclosure question. Both of these watches are automatic, both are built as divers, and the headline water-resistance number is the same. What separates them is how much each maker is prepared to publish about the watch you are buying.

Citizen publishes a sheet and a caliber manual. For the Promaster Fugu it names caliber 8204 with day-date, a 3-piece 44mm case, 20mm lugs, an anti-reflective sapphirecrystal, a serrated rotating bezel, and a case that is “ISO compliant with a screw-down crown and water resistant to 200 meters”. Its own 8203/8204 manual then gives the numbers almost nobody at this price publishes: -20 to +40 seconds a day, about 42 hours of reserve, 21,600 beats an hour, manual winding, and a second-hand stop on the 8204 specifically.

Invicta publishes a movement called “IM-A-005”. That is not a caliber in any meaningful sense — it is an internal label you cannot look up, cross-reference or hand to a watchmaker. On its own specification page for the 47mm Pro Diver, Invicta publishes no case thickness, no power reserve and no accuracy figure either. The 8926OB follows the same pattern, which is why the spec rows below read “Not published” rather than carrying a number.

Below: what that disclosure gap is actually worth, where the Invicta is genuinely the right answer, the one specification where the cheap watch wins, and the Orient that sits between them. We own neither watch. Every figure here was read from the makers’ own pages and manuals or the retail listing, on the dates in the sources, and prices come from a live daily check.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceMovementCase sizeWater resistanceCrystal
1
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic "Fugu" 44mm (NY0154-51L)

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic "Fugu" 44mm (NY0154-51L)

Citizen's real dive watch, and the only Citizen automatic here that Citizen itself calls ISO compliant. Its own page lists caliber 8204, a screw-down crown, a sapphire crystal, luminous hands and markers and 200m 'Scuba Diving' water resistance, in a 44mm reissue of the 1989 Promaster Fugu with the serrated bezel the nickname comes from. It is large and this reference is two-tone, but no other Citizen automatic on Amazon carries a dive specification this complete.

Best overall
$540.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Citizen 8204 (automatic + hand-winding, day-date)44 mm200 mSapphire
2
Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Best on a budget
$91.25 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Automatic — Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"40 mm200 mMineral
3
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Best Citizen on a bracelet
$361.27 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Automatic41 mm200 mNot published
4
Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Best alternative to both
$329.09 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Orient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)41.88 mm200 mSapphire
5
Invicta Pro Diver 47mm (27611)

Invicta Pro Diver 47mm (27611)

The largest published case diameter on this page and the cheapest watch on it, which is not a coincidence - 47mm is a size the established makers have abandoned and the value brands have not. If your wrist genuinely needs 47mm this is the accessible mechanical option; if it does not, this is exactly the watch that taught a generation that big watches overhang.

Best for a large wrist
$110.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Automatic - Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"47 mm300 mMineral
6
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen's mechanical diver, and the most overlooked serious tool watch under $300. Citizen is best known for solar quartz, which is exactly why its automatic divers stay cheap while the Seiko equivalents climb.

Cheapest Citizen automatic diver
$218.40 · View on Amazon

$242.2510% off

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Automatic41 mmNot publishedNot published

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on July 21, September 8, September 15, September 18, September 22 and September 30, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic "Fugu" 44mm (NY0154-51L)

Citizen's real dive watch, and the only Citizen automatic here that Citizen itself calls ISO compliant. Its own page lists caliber 8204, a screw-down crown, a sapphire crystal, luminous hands and markers and 200m 'Scuba Diving' water resistance, in a 44mm reissue of the 1989 Promaster Fugu with the serrated bezel the nickname comes from. It is large and this reference is two-tone, but no other Citizen automatic on Amazon carries a dive specification this complete.

Strengths

  • Citizen states ISO compliance, a screw-down crown and 200m for this reference
  • Sapphire crystal over a dial with luminous hands and markers
  • Caliber 8204 hacks and hand-winds, and is the only Citizen caliber here with a published daily-rate window

Trade-offs

  • 44mm case width - the largest watch on the page
  • This reference is two-tone, with gold-tone case and bracelet elements - a taste call
  • The most expensive Citizen automatic on the page
MovementCitizen 8204 (automatic + hand-winding, day-date)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size44 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Citizen's 8203/8204 manual, written for the NY0 series this watch belongs to, gives the 8204 an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds and about 42 hours fully wound. That rate is a caliber figure, not a reference one, which is why the spec table leaves accuracy as not published.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best on a budget

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver for roughly $100
  • Reportedly a Japanese Seiko/TMI (NH35-class) movement
  • Coin-edge bezel and a look far above the price

Trade-offs

  • Overt Submariner homage won't suit everyone
  • Invicta doesn't name the movement, and the bracelet feels its price
MovementAutomatic — Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's reputation is mixed, but the 8926 Pro Diver is the exception enthusiasts actually endorse. Invicta names the movement only as 'IM-A-005'; it's widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class caliber, and the value is real.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best Citizen on a bracelet

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's marking on the dial - four times the Tsuyosa's 50m
  • Day-date and luminous hands and markers, on a steel bracelet rather than a strap
  • 41mm is the most wearable case width in Citizen's mechanical dive range

Trade-offs

  • Citizen does not name the caliber on this listing, and publishes no crystal, thickness or power-reserve figure for it
  • A rotating dive bezel on every outfit, which is a lot of watch for a desk week
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size41 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The Sport Automatic NH7530-52M that used to sit here is still sold on Citizen's own site but has no live Amazon listing, so it was replaced rather than parked. This is the Citizen automatic that honours the same brief - it swims and it takes any strap - and it does it on a 200m diver's marking rather than the NH7530's 100m. It is a different reference from the budget Promaster Dive on this site: that one is the NY0129-07L on a polyurethane strap, this one is the bracelet version with the amber dial.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best alternative to both

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal at a price where mineral is the norm
  • True 200m rating with a screw-down crown and solid bracelet
  • In-house F6922 movement that both hacks and hand-winds

Trade-offs

  • The in-house movement isn't chronometer-accurate
  • Roughly 42mm with a broad case — wears large on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.88 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Kamasu's real upgrade over the Mako II is the sapphire crystal — both share the same F6922 movement, so both already hack and hand-wind. (The Orient diver that does neither is the original Mako I, on the older 46943 caliber.)

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for a large wrist

Invicta Pro Diver 47mm (27611)

The largest published case diameter on this page and the cheapest watch on it, which is not a coincidence - 47mm is a size the established makers have abandoned and the value brands have not. If your wrist genuinely needs 47mm this is the accessible mechanical option; if it does not, this is exactly the watch that taught a generation that big watches overhang.

Strengths

  • 47mm case with a 300m rating and a 22mm band, per Invicta's own specification
  • The cheapest automatic here by a wide margin
  • Screw-down crown and a unidirectional bezel on the Pro Diver case

Trade-offs

  • Invicta publishes no case thickness, no lug-to-lug and no power reserve
  • Mineral crystal, and Invicta names the caliber only as "IM-A-005"
  • 47mm overhangs most wrists - this is the one pick here you must measure for
MovementAutomatic - Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size47 mm
Water resistance300 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's own specification page states 47mm, mineral crystal, 300m and a 22mm band, and names the movement only as 'IM-A-005' - the same label it uses on the 40mm 8926OB, which is widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class caliber. Invicta does not publish a lug-to-lug figure for this reference, which on a 47mm case is the specification you most need.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 8, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Cheapest Citizen automatic diver

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen's mechanical diver, and the most overlooked serious tool watch under $300. Citizen is best known for solar quartz, which is exactly why its automatic divers stay cheap while the Seiko equivalents climb.

Strengths

  • Automatic movement from one of the big three Japanese makers
  • Day-date and proper dive-watch proportions
  • Under-the-radar pricing versus the Seiko equivalents

Trade-offs

  • Citizen does not publish caliber specs on this listing
  • Polyurethane strap will be the first thing you replace
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size41 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Citizen's Promaster line is its tool-watch range. The automatic versions are a small part of it, which is why they get so much less attention than the Eco-Drive models.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The disclosure gap, line by line

  • Caliber.Citizen: 8204, named, with a published manual you can download. Invicta: “IM-A-005”, which identifies nothing.
  • Accuracy. Citizen: -20 to +40 seconds a day for the 8204, with the honest caveat that this is static accuracy at normal temperature and varies with wind, position and environment. Invicta: nothing published.
  • Power reserve. Citizen: about 42 hours when fully wound. Invicta: nothing published.
  • Crystal. Citizen Fugu: anti-reflective sapphire. Invicta 8926OB and 27611: mineral.
  • Water resistance.Both 200m on paper. Citizen describes the Fugu case as ISO compliant with a screw-down crown; the bracelet Promaster listing shows “AUTOMATIC DIVER’S 200m” printed on the dial. Invicta publishes 200m for the 8926OB and 300m for the 47mm 27611 with no standard named.
  • Hacking and hand-winding. Citizen publishes both for the 8204 (the second-hand stop is an 8204 feature specifically). Invicta publishes neither, so we claim neither.

Why the ISO wording matters more than the depth figure: the regulated diver’smarking under ISO 6425 is a tested certification — minimum 100m, a unidirectional elapsed-time bezel, legibility in the dark, and testing of everypiece rather than a sample. A bare “200m” on a dial is a pressure claim, not a certification. That distinction is the single most useful thing to understand in this category, and our water resistance guide unpacks it properly.

What the Invicta actually gets right

It would be easy to read the above as a dismissal, and it is not. At roughly $90 the 8926OB gives you a 40mm steel case, a 200m rating, a screw-down crown, a coin-edge rotating bezel, a steel bracelet and a mechanical movement that, by the evidence of twenty years of these watches in circulation, generally runs. There is nothing else at that money with that spec list, and that is precisely why the watch has the reputation it does.

It is also the right answer in two specific situations. First, as a first automaticwhere the goal is to find out whether you like mechanical watches at all before committing real money — our entry-level roundup treats it that way. Second, as a knockabout: a watch you can wear to do something genuinely abrasive without the flinch reflex, because replacing it costs less than servicing anything else here.

And one specification where the cheap watch straightforwardly wins: the 47mm Pro Diver 27611 publishes 300m, which is more than either Citizen here. It is also 47mm, which is a wrist question rather than a spec question — see the large-wrist roundup before you order one.

Which Citizen Promaster, though

“Promaster” is a range, not a watch, and the disclosure varies wildly inside it — which is the trap on this side of the comparison.

  • Fugu NY0154-51L— the documented one. Caliber named, sapphire, ISO-compliant wording, 44mm. If you want the Citizen argument in its strongest form, this is it.
  • The 41mm bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic— a diver’s-marked dial and a steel bracelet at a lower price, but Citizen does not name the caliber on that listing and publishes no crystal, thickness or reserve for it. Several rows in its spec table read “Not published” as a result.
  • The polyurethane-strap day-date Promaster— the cheapest route into a Citizen mechanical diver, and the least documented. Citizen publishes nothing about the caliber on that listing either.

So the honest version of the Citizen recommendation is narrower than “buy a Promaster”: buy the reference whose figures Citizen prints. Our best Citizen automatic watches roundup was built on exactly that rule.

The option neither brand wants you to consider

At around $330 the Orient Kamasu gives you what each of these watches is missing. Orient publishes the in-house F6922 by name, about 40 hours, hacking and hand-winding, a sapphire crystal, 200m with a screw-down crown, a 120-click unidirectional bezel and the full case geometry. It is better documented than the Invicta and cheaper than the Fugu, which makes it the default recommendation on our dive-automatic roundup and the reason it sits at number four above rather than being left off.

Who should buy which

  • Under $120, or a watch to abuse— Invicta 8926OB. Accept the undocumented movement as the price of entry.
  • A documented mechanical diver from a major brand— Citizen Promaster Fugu. Named caliber, published rate, sapphire, ISO wording.
  • Best specification per dollar— Orient Kamasu. It beats both on what the maker is willing to publish.
  • A 7.75-inch wrist or larger— the 47mm Invicta 27611, which publishes 300m, with the usual caveat about what 47mm does to a cuff.

Whichever way you go, the watches here run roughly 40 hours and stop if they sit unworn for two days. That is normal, and it is a storage question rather than a fault — how many hours a day you need to wear an automatic covers what that actually requires of you.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Citizen Promaster better than the Invicta Pro Diver?

As a documented watch, clearly. Citizen names caliber 8204, publishes -20 to +40 seconds a day, about 42 hours of reserve, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal and an ISO-compliant 200m case for the Fugu reference. Invicta calls its movement 'IM-A-005' and publishes no reserve and no accuracy at all. At roughly a fifth of the price, the Invicta is still a lot of dive-watch hardware for the money.

What movement is in the Invicta Pro Diver?

Invicta labels it only 'IM-A-005', including on its own specification page for the 47mm 27611, and publishes no power reserve, accuracy or case thickness alongside it. Because no maker figure exists, those rows in our spec tables read 'Not published' rather than carrying a number we guessed.

Is the Citizen Promaster a real dive watch?

For the Fugu NY0154-51L, Citizen's own page describes the case as 'ISO compliant with a screw-down crown and water resistant to 200 meters', and the 41mm bracelet reference shows 'AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m' on the dial. That marking is the regulated ISO 6425 claim, which is tested per piece - a different thing from a bare '200m' printed on a dial.

Which is more accurate?

Only one of them publishes a figure. Citizen states -20 to +40 seconds a day for the 8204 and notes that this is static accuracy at normal temperature and varies with mainspring wind, position and environment. Invicta publishes nothing, so any accuracy claim you read about the Pro Diver is somebody's sample of one.

Does the Invicta Pro Diver hack or hand-wind?

Invicta does not publish either feature for these references, so we do not claim them. Citizen publishes manual winding for the 8203 and 8204, and a second-hand stop function on the 8204 specifically - which means the Fugu can be set to the second.

Is there a better automatic diver between these two prices?

The Orient Kamasu, at roughly $330. Orient publishes the in-house F6922 by name, about 40 hours, hacking and hand-winding, a sapphire crystal, 200m with a screw-down crown and a 120-click unidirectional bezel - better disclosure than the Invicta and less money than the Fugu.

Sources

  • Citizen - Promaster Dive Automatic NY0154-51L product specification — Citizen's own listing for the reimagined 1989 Promaster Fugu: caliber 8204 automatic with day-date, a 3-piece 44mm case, 20mm lugs, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, luminous hands and markers, a serrated rotating bezel, and 'ISO compliant with a screw-down crown and water resistant to 200 meters' (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Caliber 8203/8204 instruction manual (NY0 series, PDF) — Citizen's own manual for the NY0 series: the 8204 has an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds (the 8203 -10 to +20), about 42 hours when fully wound, 21,600 beats per hour, a manual winding function and a second-hand stop function (8204 only). Citizen notes the stated accuracy is static accuracy at normal temperature and varies with mainspring wind, position and environment (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Amazon - Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm (stainless steel bracelet) listing — The retail listing for the bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic: 'Citizen Men's Promaster Dive Automatic 3-Hand Stainless Steel Watch, Day Date, Luminous, 41mm', with 'AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m' printed on the dial in the listing image. Citizen does not name the caliber on the listing and publishes no crystal, thickness, lug width or power-reserve figure for the reference, so those rows read 'Not published'. This listing replaced the Sport Automatic NH7530-52M on 30 September 2026: Citizen still sells that reference on its own site, but its Amazon listing returned 'Currently unavailable.' with no offer behind it (accessed 2026-09-30)
  • Invicta - Pro Diver model 27611 product specification — Invicta's own specification page for the 27611: 47mm stainless steel case, blue dial, mineral crystal, stainless steel bezel, 22mm band, 300m water resistance, and a caliber named only as 'IM-A-005'. Invicta publishes no case thickness, no power reserve and no accuracy figure for this reference (accessed September 8, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — Kamasu RA-AA0003R39B specification — Orient's published sheet for the Kamasu: caliber F6922 automatic, hand-winding, hacking; approximately 40 hours reserve; sapphire crystal; 41.88mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 12.8mm thick, 22mm lugs; 200m; screw-down crown; 120-click unidirectional bezel; three-year warranty (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading