Dial & Lume

Best Bulova Automatic Watches

Bulova has been a Citizen Watch Group company since 2008, which means its automatics run Citizen-family movements under an American brand name - and that Bulova publishes less about them than Citizen does. Five automatics judged on what Bulova actually puts in writing for the exact style number.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

Buy the Marine Star Series B 98B466. It is the only Bulova automatic in this range whose specification sheet holds up against a Japanese diver at the same money: Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR200, a 41mm case, a 42-hour reserve, a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back — and it is the one watch on this page whose maker describes the dial color in words instead of leaving it to a photograph. If you want the open dial Bulova is better known for, the Sutton 96A330 is 40mm with sapphire and a published 21 jewels and 42 hours. On a bracelet for the least money, the Surveyor 96A275. As a first automatic at the bottom of the range, the Classic Aerojet 98A187. And for a smaller wrist, the Sutton Open Heart 96L339. The warning that applies to the whole brand: Bulova names no caliberon four of these five product pages, so there is no published accuracy figure for any of them, and three of the five are rated only “Splash Resistant” or 30 meters. Buy a Bulova for the case, the crystal and the name on the dial — not for a spec sheet.

The question people actually type is “are Bulova automatic watches good”, and the honest answer starts with who makes them. Bulova was founded in New York in 1875 and was bought by Citizen Watchfrom Loews Corporation in January 2008. So a Bulova automatic today is a Citizen-group product with an American brand heritage attached — and Citizen also owns Miyota, the movement house whose calibers turn up in half the watches on this site.

That matters because it tells you what you are buying. The mechanics are from the same family as a Citizen or a budget homage diver, and the premium is for Bulova’s case design, its finishing and its US warranty and service network. What it does not buy you is documentation. Bulova publishes noticeably less about its automatics than Citizen or Seiko publish about theirs, and that gap is the single most useful thing to understand before you spend $300 to $450 on one.

Here is the concrete version. Across the five picks below, Bulova names a caliber on none of their product pages. It publishes an accuracy figure on none of them. It publishes a case thickness or a lug-to-lug distance on none of them. It publishes a power reserve on three of the five. It publishes a real water-resistance figure on two. For comparison, Seiko publishes the caliber, the reserve, the diameter, the thickness andthe lug-to-lug for almost every reference it sells at this money — which is the whole argument of our Bulova vs Seiko comparison.

So the entry rule for this page is the same one we use for every brand roundup: the watch must be a self-winding automatic, with a live purchasable listing, and a specification Bulova published for that exact style number. Every figure in the table below was read from Bulova’s own US product page on the date printed under it — not from the retail listing, and never from memory. Where Bulova publishes nothing, the table says “Not published”. On this page that happens a lot, and that is the finding.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceCase sizeCrystalWater resistance
1
Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

The one Bulova automatic whose specification sheet stands up next to a Japanese diver at the same money, and the only watch in this registry whose MAKER states the dial color in words rather than leaving it to a photograph. Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR200, a 41mm case, a 42-hour reserve, a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back - and then declines to name the caliber behind it.

Best overall
$412.50 · View on Amazon

$550.0025% off

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

41 mmAnti-reflective sapphire200 m
2
Bulova Sutton Automatic Skeleton 96A330 (40mm)

Bulova Sutton Automatic Skeleton 96A330 (40mm)

The open-dial Sutton at 40mm instead of 43mm, and the only one of the two Bulova publishes a sapphire crystal for. You can read the movement through the dial, Bulova states 21 jewels and 42 hours of reserve, and the case is a size that suits a wrist rather than a watch counter. What you give up is water resistance: Bulova's details panel says 'Splash Resistant' and prints no meter figure at all.

Best open dial
$388.99 · View on Amazon

$625.0038% off

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

40 mmAnti-reflective domed sapphireNot published
3
Bulova Surveyor Automatic 96A275 (42mm)

Bulova Surveyor Automatic 96A275 (42mm)

The cheapest way into a Bulova automatic on a steel bracelet, and a lesson in knowing what you are not getting. Bulova publishes a 42mm steel case, a blue three-hand dial with an aperture over the balance wheel, a mineral crystal, a screw-back case and a 22mm lug width - and then stops. No caliber, no jewel count, no reserve, no meter figure for the water resistance.

Best on a bracelet
$309.75 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

42 mmMineralNot published
4
Bulova Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 (41mm)

Bulova Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 (41mm)

The least expensive automatic Bulova currently sells, and a straightforward dress watch: 41mm steel, a double-curved mineral box crystal, an exhibition case back, 40 hours of published reserve and a croco-embossed leather strap. Bulova states 30 meters in the description and 'Splash Resistant' in the details panel, which is the honest reading of 30m anyway.

Best on a budget
$290.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

41 mmDouble-curved mineral box30 m
5
Bulova Sutton Automatic Open Heart Ladies (96L339)

Bulova Sutton Automatic Open Heart Ladies (96L339)

Bulova's women's Sutton pairs a floral open-heart dial with a proper automatic movement and a heritage American brand behind it. The dressiest mechanical on this list, and priced like it.

Best for a smaller wrist
$412.50 · View on Amazon

$550.0025% off

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not publishedNot publishedNot published

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on August 11 and October 26, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

The one Bulova automatic whose specification sheet stands up next to a Japanese diver at the same money, and the only watch in this registry whose MAKER states the dial color in words rather than leaving it to a photograph. Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR200, a 41mm case, a 42-hour reserve, a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back - and then declines to name the caliber behind it.

Strengths

  • Anti-reflective sapphire crystal at a price where Seiko still ships Hardlex
  • WR200 with a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back, all on Bulova's own page
  • Bulova describes the dial precisely: a sunray that reads bright blue at the center and black toward the edge

Trade-offs

  • Bulova names no caliber for this reference, so there is no published accuracy figure
  • No case thickness or lug-to-lug published - the 41mm width is the only sizing number you get
  • Not an ISO 6425 certified diver; WR200 is a water-resistance rating, not a dive certification
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size41 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalAnti-reflective sapphire
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Bulova's page for this reference reads 'Sunray dial shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge', a 'Unidirectional bezel with bi-color aluminum insert' and a 20mm lug width on a premium H-link bracelet. It is the most complete spec sheet Bulova publishes for any automatic in this registry, and it still has no caliber on it.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best open dial

Bulova Sutton Automatic Skeleton 96A330 (40mm)

The open-dial Sutton at 40mm instead of 43mm, and the only one of the two Bulova publishes a sapphire crystal for. You can read the movement through the dial, Bulova states 21 jewels and 42 hours of reserve, and the case is a size that suits a wrist rather than a watch counter. What you give up is water resistance: Bulova's details panel says 'Splash Resistant' and prints no meter figure at all.

Strengths

  • Anti-reflective domed sapphire crystal - the 43mm 96A208 Sutton gets domed mineral
  • 40mm case width, which is the most wearable size in Bulova's automatic range
  • Bulova publishes 21 jewels and 42 hours of power reserve for this reference

Trade-offs

  • 'Splash Resistant' with no meter figure published - treat it as a dress watch only
  • Bulova names no caliber, so there is no accuracy figure to hold it to
  • Blue applied indices on an open dial - this is not a blue-dial watch, which the photographs can imply
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size40 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalAnti-reflective domed sapphire
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Bulova's page states a '21-jewel skeletonized automatic movement' with '42-hours of power reserve' and names no caliber. Those three figures - 21 jewels, 42 hours, skeletonized - match the published sheet for the Miyota 8N24 that Bulova DOES name on its 97A162 page, but Bulova does not name it here, so neither do we.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best on a bracelet

Bulova Surveyor Automatic 96A275 (42mm)

The cheapest way into a Bulova automatic on a steel bracelet, and a lesson in knowing what you are not getting. Bulova publishes a 42mm steel case, a blue three-hand dial with an aperture over the balance wheel, a mineral crystal, a screw-back case and a 22mm lug width - and then stops. No caliber, no jewel count, no reserve, no meter figure for the water resistance.

Strengths

  • Steel case and bracelet with a screw-back case at the bottom of Bulova's automatic range
  • Open aperture over the balance wheel and escapement, which is the whole appeal of the line
  • 22mm lug width on a 42mm case - easy to find replacement bracelets and straps

Trade-offs

  • 'Splash Resistant' with no meter figure - the least water-resistant Bulova in this registry
  • Mineral crystal, where the 40mm Sutton and the Marine Star both get sapphire
  • No caliber, no jewel count and no power reserve published for this reference
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size42 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Worth knowing before you cross-shop: Bulova publishes a different amount of information from one Surveyor to the next, and the 96A275 is at the thin end. Its details panel lists case width, crystal, lug width and 'WR [Splash Resistant]' and nothing about the movement beyond the word 'Automatic'.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best on a budget

Bulova Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 (41mm)

The least expensive automatic Bulova currently sells, and a straightforward dress watch: 41mm steel, a double-curved mineral box crystal, an exhibition case back, 40 hours of published reserve and a croco-embossed leather strap. Bulova states 30 meters in the description and 'Splash Resistant' in the details panel, which is the honest reading of 30m anyway.

Strengths

  • 40 hours of power reserve published for the reference, which Bulova does not do on every line
  • Double-curved mineral box crystal and an exhibition case back at the bottom of the range
  • 41mm on a 20mm leather strap - a dress watch you can re-strap for about $20

Trade-offs

  • 30 meters is hand-washing and rain, not swimming
  • Mineral crystal on a box profile, which is the shape most exposed to a knock
  • Bulova's own page calls the dial gray in the description and black in the page title, and names no caliber
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41 mm
Water resistance30 m
CrystalDouble-curved mineral box
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The dial color on this reference is genuinely ambiguous in Bulova's own words: the product description says 'open aperture gray dial' while the page title says 'Black Dial'. That is a documentation problem rather than a quality one, and it is the reason this watch is not on any of our color-led lists.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for a smaller wrist

Bulova Sutton Automatic Open Heart Ladies (96L339)

Bulova's women's Sutton pairs a floral open-heart dial with a proper automatic movement and a heritage American brand behind it. The dressiest mechanical on this list, and priced like it.

Strengths

  • Automatic movement with an open-heart floral dial
  • Bulova's brand history, warranty and service network
  • Reads as jewelry without being a fashion quartz

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive women's pick here
  • Decorative dial won't suit anyone wanting plain legibility
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Bulova has been building watches since 1875 and still publishes reserve and jewel counts on much of its automatic range — unusual among brands at this price.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The four things that decide a Bulova automatic

1. Crystal, because Bulova is inconsistent about it

This is the first spec to check and the one that varies most inside the range. The Marine Star 98B466 and the 40mm Sutton 96A330 both publish sapphire— anti-reflective on the Marine Star, an anti-reflective dome on the Sutton. The Surveyor 96A275 publishes mineral. The Aerojet 98A187 publishes a double-curved mineral box crystal, which is the shape most exposed to a knock on a desk edge. And the 43mm Sutton 96A208 — the one most people land on first, and the one we card on our skeleton automatics roundup — publishes a domed mineral crystal, not sapphire.

The hardness argument is short. Sapphire is corundum, which sits at 9 on the Mohs scale; quartz sits at 7, and most environmental grit is quartz. So mineral glass accumulates fine scratches from ordinary life and sapphire mostly does not. Sapphire’s own weakness is brittleness — it chips where mineral would scuff. Our sapphire vs mineral comparison has that trade in full, and the sapphire-crystal roundup is the whole registry sorted on it. Within Bulova, the shortcut is: 98B466 or 96A330 if you want sapphire, and accept mineral on everything cheaper.

2. Water resistance, which is weaker than the styling suggests

Three of the five picks here carry no usable water-resistance figure at all. Bulova’s details panel for the Surveyor 96A275 and the Sutton 96A330 reads “WR [Splash Resistant]”with no meter number printed, which is why those rows say “Not published” above rather than carrying a number we assumed. The Aerojet states 30 meters in its description — hand-washing and rain, not swimming. Only the Marine Star publishes a figure you can actually plan around: WR200, which Bulova itself describes as suitable for swimming, showering and snorkeling.

Two notes on that. First, WR200 is a water-resistance rating, not an ISO 6425dive certification — no Bulova in this registry carries one, and nor does most of what we cover. Second, a 30m rating on a dress watch is normal and not a defect; it becomes a problem only when the watch looks sporty enough that you forget. Our water-resistance guide is the five minutes that saves a movement, and whether you can swim with an automatic answers the narrower version of the question.

3. The movement you are not told about

Here is the oddity at the center of the brand. Bulova names a caliber on somereferences and not others, with no visible logic to it. Its page for the gold-tone Sutton 97A162 states, verbatim, that the exhibition case back “offers a glimpse of the Miyota 8N24 21-jewel automatic skeletonized movement”. That is a real, lookup-able caliber: Miyota publishes -20 to +40 sec/day, 21 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, about 42 hours of running time, hand winding and a stop-second device for the 8N24.

Now look at the two Suttons on this page. The 96A330 publishes “21-jewel skeletonized automatic movement” and “42-hours of power reserve”; the 96A208 publishes a “self-winding 21-jewel movement”. Those figures are consistent with the 8N24 sheet — but Bulova does not name the caliber on either page, so we do not record one, and we do not move Miyota’s accuracy figure onto a reference Bulova left unnamed. That is the same rule that leaves Seiko’s per-reference accuracy fields empty when Seiko publishes a number for the caliber and not the watch. If you want a named, documented caliber for certain, the NH35 roundup and the NH35 vs Miyota 9015 comparison are where that lives.

4. Size, which Bulova only half publishes

Bulova prints a case width for every reference and almost never a thickness or a lug-to-lug. That is a real limitation when the range runs from 40mm to 43mm and the cases are visually chunky. The 40mm Sutton 96A330 is the safest buy for an average wrist; the 42mm Surveyor and the 43mm 96A208 wear like what they are. Measure first with our watch size guide, and if you already know you are at the smaller end, the small-wrist roundup and the 38mm list are better starting points than this brand.

What each price bracket buys you inside Bulova

Around $290, the bottom of the range

The Aerojet 98A187. You get a 41mm steel case, an exhibition case back, a published 40-hour reserve, a box crystal in mineral and a leather strap. It is a competent, pleasant dress automatic and the cheapest route to the brand. At the same money you could have a Orient Bambino with a published Orient caliber, a stated reserve and a full dimension set, or a Seiko 5 Sports with a published accuracy figure and 100m. That is the trade: Bulova’s design and name against the Japanese makers’ paperwork.

Around $310 to $390, the middle

The Surveyor 96A275 on a bracelet, or the 40mm Sutton 96A330 on leather. These two are the clearest illustration of Bulova’s internal inconsistency: the cheaper one is a bracelet watch with mineral glass and nothing published about the movement, the dearer one is a strap watch with sapphire, 21 jewels and 42 hours published. If you only ever wear bracelets, take the Surveyor and accept the glass. Otherwise the Sutton is the better watch and the better spec sheet.

Around $410 and up, the only one we would call a bargain

The Marine Star 98B466. Sapphire, WR200, a unidirectional bezel, a 42-hour reserve and a crystal case back, at a price where Seiko’s nearest diver still ships Hardlex mineral. It is the one place in the range where Bulova is not merely competitive on specification but ahead on the spec that matters most over ten years. Where it still loses is information: no caliber, no thickness, no accuracy figure. That whole argument, with the figures side by side, is our Bulova vs Seiko page.

What we deliberately left out, and why

Two exclusions are worth naming, because both are watches people will expect to see here.

The Oceanographer “Devil Diver” GMT, 98B407, is Bulova’s most interesting automatic and the one the enthusiast forums actually talk about. It is not on this page because Bulova’s own US product page for the reference returns a 404, its UK and Irish stores list it sold out, and its regional sites disagree about the watch’s name and even its strap color. There is a live Amazon listing at a much higher price than anything above. We will not build a pick on a reference whose maker will not currently show us a specification sheet.

The gold-tone Sutton 97A162 is excluded for a different and more interesting reason: it is the one Bulova reference with a namedcaliber, which should make it a natural pick — but Amazon sells it as a “Sutton Chronograph” and the word “chronograph” appears nowhere on Bulova’s own page for it. The 8N24 Bulova names there is a three-hand open-dial caliber, not a chronograph caliber. We are not going to card a watch under a complication its maker does not claim. If a self-winding chronograph is what you want, read our mechanical chronograph roundup first — the short version is that almost everything affordable in that category is hand-wound, not automatic.

We also excluded every Lunar Pilot and every Precisionist: they are quartz, and this is an automatic site. If you are not yet sure which you want, automatic vs smartwatch and automatic vs quartz are the two comparisons that settle it.

Is a Bulova automatic worth buying?

Yes, with one condition: buy it because you like the watch, not because you read the specification sheet and concluded it was the best value. On pure published specification, the Japanese brands win at every price point on this page except one — and that exception, the Marine Star’s sapphire crystal at around $410, is a genuine win worth having.

What Bulova gives you that a Pagani Design or an ADDIESDIVE cannot is a company with a US presence, a warranty you can claim, and 150 years of name on the dial. What it gives you that Seiko and Orient do not is a design language that is neither Japanese-sporty nor vintage-homage. Those are real reasons to buy. They are just not spec-sheet reasons, and a page that pretended otherwise would be lying to you. For the full market view rather than one brand, start at the best automatic watch brands roundup.

Frequently asked questions

Are Bulova automatic watches good?

They are competently built watches from a Citizen Watch Group company, with a US warranty and service network behind them - Citizen bought Bulova in January 2008. The reservation is documentation rather than quality: Bulova names no caliber on four of the five product pages behind this roundup, publishes no accuracy figure for any of them, and publishes no case thickness or lug-to-lug for any of them. At the same money, Seiko, Orient and Citizen all publish more. Buy a Bulova for the case design, the crystal on the better references and the name - not because the spec sheet beats a Japanese rival.

Which Bulova automatic has a sapphire crystal?

Two of the references in this roundup. Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal for the Marine Star Series B 98B466 and an anti-reflective domed sapphire crystal for the 40mm Sutton 96A330. The Surveyor 96A275 publishes mineral, the Classic Aerojet 98A187 publishes a double-curved mineral box crystal, and the better-known 43mm Sutton 96A208 publishes a domed mineral crystal rather than sapphire. If the crystal is your deciding factor, those are the two to shortlist.

What movement is in a Bulova automatic watch?

Bulova usually does not say. Citizen has owned Bulova since 2008 and also owns Miyota, so these are Citizen-family movements, but Bulova names a caliber on only a minority of its product pages. The clearest example is the Sutton 97A162, whose page states the exhibition case back shows 'the Miyota 8N24 21-jewel automatic skeletonized movement' - Miyota publishes -20 to +40 sec/day, 21 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour and about 42 hours for that caliber. On the references in this roundup, Bulova publishes jewel counts and reserves on some and nothing beyond the word 'Automatic' on others.

How accurate is a Bulova automatic watch?

Bulova publishes no accuracy figure for any reference in this roundup, so there is no honest number to quote. Where a caliber is named - the Miyota 8N24 on the 97A162 - the movement maker's own published rate is -20 to +40 seconds a day, which is typical for an entry-level automatic and considerably wider than a certified chronometer. An automatic running inside about 20 seconds a day is behaving normally; our guides on automatic watch accuracy and on a watch running fast cover what to do when yours is not.

Can you swim with a Bulova automatic?

Only with the Marine Star 98B466 of the picks here. Bulova publishes WR200 for that reference and describes it as suitable for swimming, showering and snorkeling. The Surveyor 96A275 and the Sutton 96A330 are listed only as 'Splash Resistant' with no meter figure at all, and the Aerojet 98A187 states 30 meters, which in practice means rain and hand-washing. None of them is an ISO 6425 certified diver.

Bulova or Seiko for a first automatic?

Seiko, on documentation. For a first automatic you want to be able to look up what you bought: Seiko publishes the caliber, the power reserve, the diameter, the thickness and usually the lug-to-lug for nearly every reference, and publishes an accuracy band for its 4R calibers. Bulova publishes a fraction of that. The one place the answer flips is crystal - the Marine Star 98B466 has sapphire where Seiko's nearest diver has Hardlex mineral. Our Bulova vs Seiko comparison puts six watches side by side on exactly these figures.

Where are Bulova automatic watches made?

Bulova does not state an assembly country on the US product pages behind this roundup, so we do not claim one. What is documented is the ownership: Bulova was founded in New York in 1875, was owned by Loews Corporation from 1979, and was bought by Citizen Watch in January 2008, which is why these are Citizen-group watches rather than independently engineered ones.

Is the Bulova Sutton a chronograph?

Not the 97A162 that Amazon sells under that name. The word 'chronograph' does not appear on Bulova's own product page for the reference, and the caliber Bulova does name there - the Miyota 8N24 - is a three-hand open-dial automatic, not a chronograph movement. That mismatch between listing title and maker page is the reason we left it out of this roundup. If you want a genuinely self-winding chronograph, read our mechanical chronograph page before you buy anything.

Sources

  • Bulova - Marine Star Series B 98B466 product specification — Bulova's own page for the 98B466: 'Automatic' with no caliber named, a 42-hour power reserve, a 41mm silver-tone stainless steel case, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal described as impact and shatter resistant, 'WR200' (20 bar / 666 ft, suitable for swimming, showering and snorkeling), a 'Sunray dial shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge', a unidirectional bezel with a bi-color aluminum insert and timing scale, a crystal case back showing the movement, a premium H-link bracelet and a 20mm lug width. Bulova publishes no case thickness, lug-to-lug or accuracy figure for this reference (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Sutton Automatic 96A330 product specification — Bulova's own page for the 40mm Sutton 96A330: 'The dial reveals the captivating mechanics of the 21-jewel skeletonized automatic movement, which offers 42-hours of power reserve' - 21 jewels and 42 hours, with NO caliber named. Also an anti-reflective domed sapphire crystal, a 40mm silver-tone stainless steel case, 'WR [Splash Resistant]' with no meter figure stated, an open dial with blue applied indices and matching luminescent-filled hands, a blue alligator-embossed leather strap and a 20mm lug width (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Surveyor Automatic 96A275 product specification — Bulova's own page for the Surveyor 96A275: 'Automatic' with no caliber, no jewel count and no power reserve stated; a 42mm silver-tone stainless steel case, a mineral crystal ('Impact and shatter resistant'), 'WR [Splash Resistant]' with no meter figure, a blue three-hand dial with silver-tone accents and an open aperture for viewing the balance wheel and escapement, a screw-back case, a stainless steel bracelet and a 22mm lug width (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 product specification — Bulova's own page for the Aerojet 98A187, filed under its 'Classic Automatic Collection': an automatic self-winding movement with no caliber named, a 40-hour power reserve, a 41mm silver-tone stainless steel case, a 'Double Curved Mineral Box Crystal', an exhibition case back, a croco-embossed black leather strap with a three-piece buckle and a 20mm lug width. Water resistance is given as 30 meters in the description and 'WR [Splash Resistant]' in the details panel. The dial is called an 'open aperture gray dial' in the description while the page title says Black Dial (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Sutton Automatic 96A208 product specification — Bulova's own page for the 43mm Sutton 96A208: a 'self-winding 21-jewel movement' with no caliber named, a 43mm silver-tone stainless steel case, a 'Domed Mineral Crystal', 'water resistance to 30 meters' in the description against 'WR [Splash Resistant]' in the details panel, a skeletonized black three-hand dial, a full exhibition screw-back case, a steel bracelet with a push-button deployant clasp and a 22mm lug width. No power reserve is stated for this reference (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Sutton 97A162 product specification — The one Bulova page in this registry that names a caliber: 'Exhibition case back offers a glimpse of the Miyota 8N24 21-jewel automatic skeletonized movement.' Also a 43mm gold-tone stainless steel case, a flat mineral crystal, WR100 (swimming, showering and snorkeling), an open-aperture gold-tone dial, a gold-tone bracelet with a push-button deployant buckle and a 22mm lug width. The word 'chronograph' does not appear anywhere on Bulova's page for this reference, although the Amazon listing title uses it (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • MIYOTA - Caliber 8N24 specification — Miyota's own spec for the 8N24, the open-dial caliber Bulova names on its 97A162 page: -20 to +40 sec/day, 21 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, approximately 42 hours of running time, 5.55mm high, with hand winding and a stop-second (hacking) device (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • MIYOTA — About (Citizen Watch movement division) — Miyota's own account of itself: Citizen Watch built a movement factory in the town of Miyota, Nagano, in 1959; the MIYOTA brand launched in 1980, and its movements are used in millions of watches (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Bulova - Wikipedia — Reference on Bulova's ownership: the company was founded in New York in 1875 and was bought by Citizen Watch from Loews Corporation for $250 million on January 10, 2008. Loews had owned Bulova since 1979. Citizen lists Bulova Corporation among its principal group companies (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)

Keep reading