Dial & Lume

Best Invicta Automatic Watches

Invicta sells hundreds of watches and only a handful of them wind themselves. Here are the five automatics worth considering, what each listing actually publishes, and the two things no Invicta in the range will give you.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

Buy the Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB. It is the reference every cheap automatic gets measured against: a 40mm steel case with an exhibition caseback, a screw-down crown, a stated 200m and a Japanese self-winding movement, for less than most people spend on a strap. If you want the same watch without the Submariner silhouette, the Pro Diver Coin-Edge changes the bezel and nothing else. If you want the two-tone look, the 8927 is the version whose listing publishes the most — it names an NH35A with 24 jewels. If you want 42mm instead of 40mm and a blue dial, that is the 29179. And if your wrist genuinely needs a slab, the Grand Diver 4186 is a published 48mm case with a 300m rating. Two honest limits apply to the whole range: every Invicta automatic here uses a mineral crystal rather than sapphire, and not one of them is an ISO 6425 certified diver, whatever the dial and the listing imply.

Invicta is the most argued-about name in cheap watches, and most of the argument is beside the point. The brand sells an enormous catalog — chronographs, 52mm quartz monsters, gold-tone everything — and the vast majority of it is battery-powered. The automatics are a small corner of the range, they are nearly all one case family, and they are genuinely good value inside that corner. Separating the two is the whole job of this page.

So the entry rule here is narrow and mechanical: the watch has to be a self-winding automatic, it has to have a live, in-stock listing, and the specification in the table below has to come from a document Invicta published — its own listing specification for the exact reference, read on the date printed under the table. We have not handled any of these watches. Where Invicta publishes no figure for a field, the table says “Not published” instead of carrying a number we invented, and on this brand that happens a lot: no reference here publishes a power reserve, an accuracy figure or a lug-to-lug measurement.

One thing that surprises people who only know Invicta by reputation: the caliber inside most of these is not Invicta’s. Several listings name it outright as a Seiko NH35A with 24 jewels— the same Japanese workhorse that powers the Steeldive and Pagani Design homages and the sterile-dial micro-brands. You can read the full case for that movement on our NH35 page. That is why a $90 Invicta keeps running for years: the part that does the work was not designed down to a $90 price.

The flip side is the part Invicta does control, and this is where the criticism is fair. The crystal is mineral on every automatic in the range. The bracelet is the cheapest component on the watch. The dial branding is loud. And the gap between what the dial text implies and what the watch is certified to do is wider on Invicta than on any Japanese brand we cover.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceCase sizeWater resistanceCrystal
1
Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Best overall
$91.22 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

40 mm200 mMineral
2
Invicta Pro Diver Coin-Edge Automatic

Invicta Pro Diver Coin-Edge Automatic

The coin-edge bezel version, which reads a little dressier than the standard Pro Diver and rather less like a copy of something Swiss. Mechanically it is the same proposition: a cheap, honest automatic that keeps running.

Best without the homage look
$91.25 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not publishedNot publishedNot published
3
Invicta Pro Diver 8927 (two-tone)

Invicta Pro Diver 8927 (two-tone)

The same 40mm Pro Diver case as the steel 8926, finished in steel and 23k gold plating - and the one Invicta in this family whose listing publishes the most. It names an NH35A with 24 jewels, states 40mm x 14mm, an exhibition caseback, a screw-down crown and 200m, and adds a magnifier over the date. If you want the two-tone look rather than the all-steel one, this is the version to buy and it costs about the same.

Best two-tone
$93.21 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

40 mm200 mMineral with magnifier
4
Invicta Pro Diver 29179 (42mm, blue)

Invicta Pro Diver 29179 (42mm, blue)

The blue-dial Pro Diver at 42mm rather than 40mm, which is the size most people actually picture when they picture a dive watch. The published figures are thinner than the 8926's - Invicta states 42mm, a screw-down crown, mineral crystal and 200m, and does not name the caliber at all on this listing. Buy it for the dial and the two extra millimeters, not for the specification sheet.

Best at 42mm
$94.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

42 mm200 mMineral
5
Invicta Pro Diver Grand Diver 4186

Invicta Pro Diver Grand Diver 4186

The biggest and the deepest-rated automatic Invicta sells at this money: the listing publishes a 48mm case and 300m rather than the Pro Diver's 40mm and 200m. That is a genuine step up in both directions, and both are reasons to measure your wrist first - 48mm overhangs almost everybody, and 300m buys reassurance rather than capability you will use.

Best for a big wrist
$126.57 · View on Amazon

$142.2111% off

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

48 mm300 mMineral

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on July 21, August 11 and October 19, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 20, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver for roughly $100
  • Reportedly a Japanese Seiko/TMI (NH35-class) movement
  • Coin-edge bezel and a look far above the price

Trade-offs

  • Overt Submariner homage won't suit everyone
  • Invicta doesn't name the movement, and the bracelet feels its price
MovementAutomatic — Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's reputation is mixed, but the 8926 Pro Diver is the exception enthusiasts actually endorse. Invicta names the movement only as 'IM-A-005'; it's widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class caliber, and the value is real.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best without the homage look

Invicta Pro Diver Coin-Edge Automatic

The coin-edge bezel version, which reads a little dressier than the standard Pro Diver and rather less like a copy of something Swiss. Mechanically it is the same proposition: a cheap, honest automatic that keeps running.

Strengths

  • Coin-edge bezel gives it its own look rather than a borrowed one
  • Automatic movement inside the same well-proven Pro Diver case
  • Widely stocked, so it is rarely out of supply

Trade-offs

  • Still an Invicta dial, with the branding that implies
  • Specs beyond the movement type are not published on the listing
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The coin-edge bezel is a genuine styling difference, not a marketing name — it is the version to pick if the homage looks put you off.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best two-tone

Invicta Pro Diver 8927 (two-tone)

The same 40mm Pro Diver case as the steel 8926, finished in steel and 23k gold plating - and the one Invicta in this family whose listing publishes the most. It names an NH35A with 24 jewels, states 40mm x 14mm, an exhibition caseback, a screw-down crown and 200m, and adds a magnifier over the date. If you want the two-tone look rather than the all-steel one, this is the version to buy and it costs about the same.

Strengths

  • The listing names the caliber - NH35A, 24 jewels - rather than Invicta's in-house "IM-A-005" label
  • Published 40mm x 14mm case, exhibition caseback, screw-down crown and 200m
  • Mineral crystal with a date magnifier, on a matching two-tone bracelet

Trade-offs

  • 23k gold plating over steel wears through at the bracelet edges over years
  • Mineral crystal, and no published power reserve, accuracy or lug-to-lug figure
  • Two-tone reads dressier than the steel version and dates faster
MovementSeiko NH35A automatic (24 jewels), per the listing
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral with magnifier
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's listing weight for this reference is 152 grams, the same figure it publishes for the steel 8926 - the two are the same watch in a different finish. The gold is stated as plating, not solid gold, on Invicta's own listing.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best at 42mm

Invicta Pro Diver 29179 (42mm, blue)

The blue-dial Pro Diver at 42mm rather than 40mm, which is the size most people actually picture when they picture a dive watch. The published figures are thinner than the 8926's - Invicta states 42mm, a screw-down crown, mineral crystal and 200m, and does not name the caliber at all on this listing. Buy it for the dial and the two extra millimeters, not for the specification sheet.

Strengths

  • 42mm case with a screw-down crown and a stated 200m rating
  • Blue dial and bracelet at about the same money as the black 40mm
  • Same Pro Diver case family, so straps and links are easy to find

Trade-offs

  • This listing does NOT name the movement - unlike the 8927 and the 47mm 35725
  • No published thickness, lug-to-lug, power reserve or accuracy figure
  • Mineral crystal again; nothing in Invicta's automatic range uses sapphire
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size42 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Worth knowing before you cross-shop: Invicta publishes a different amount of information from one Pro Diver reference to the next. The 8927 and the 47mm 35725 name an NH35A; this one names nothing beyond that it is automatic.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for a big wrist

Invicta Pro Diver Grand Diver 4186

The biggest and the deepest-rated automatic Invicta sells at this money: the listing publishes a 48mm case and 300m rather than the Pro Diver's 40mm and 200m. That is a genuine step up in both directions, and both are reasons to measure your wrist first - 48mm overhangs almost everybody, and 300m buys reassurance rather than capability you will use.

Strengths

  • Published 48mm case and a 300m water-resistance rating - the deepest here
  • Automatic movement with a date, in Invicta's long-running Grand Diver case
  • Costs less than most 42mm automatics from the Japanese brands

Trade-offs

  • 48mm is bigger than the 47mm Pro Diver and will overhang most wrists
  • Invicta does not name the caliber on this listing, and publishes no thickness or lug-to-lug
  • Mineral crystal, and an orange dial that is not a quiet choice
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size48 mm
Water resistance300 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The Grand Diver is a separate case from the 8926 Pro Diver despite sharing the Pro Diver collection name - it is larger, rated deeper and sold at a higher price. Invicta's listing restates the 300m rating as suitable for scuba diving to 30 meters for up to two hours; that is a restatement of the rating, not an ISO 6425 diver's certification.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we ranked them

Four criteria, applied in this order. They are deliberately boring, because with this brand the interesting-sounding criteria are the ones that mislead.

1. Does the listing name the caliber?

This is the single most useful test, and it splits the range cleanly. The 8927, the 10641 and the 47mm 35725state “NH35A Japanese Automatic movement, 24 jewel” on the listing. The 29179 and the Grand Diver 4186 say only that the movement is automatic. Invicta’s own catalog label for the Pro Diver caliber has historically been “IM-A-005”, a designation you cannot look up anywhere, and our full 8926OB review was written against that label. Worth recording precisely: when we re-read the 8926 listing on October 19, 2026 for this page, that listing did name an NH35A with 24 jewels. Both statements are Invicta’s. A named caliber is not a better watch, but it is a watch you can research, service and price honestly.

2. Does it publish a case size you can trust?

Every pick here publishes a diameter, which already puts Invicta ahead of some of the sterile-dial sellers. None of them publishes a lug-to-lug figure, and on a 47mm or 48mm case that is the measurement that decides whether the watch is wearable at all. Our watch size guide has the measuring method; take it seriously before you buy anything on this page over 42mm.

3. Is the water-resistance claim a rating or a certification?

A rating. All of them. Invicta states 200m on the Pro Divers and 300m on the Grand Diver and the 10641, and restates those numbers in language about scuba diving and professional marine activity. That is the pressure rating, not the ISO 6425 diver’s standard, which adds requirements for the bezel, the legibility, the shock and magnetic resistance and the strap attachment. The watches on this page are built like divers; they are not certified as divers. What a water-resistance figure actually permits is the longer version, and it is worth five minutes.

4. Price against the next rung up

Every pick is ranked on what it costs today relative to the alternative from a maker with a service network, which is usually Seiko or Orient at roughly twice the money. Prices on this page come from Amazon’s API with a timestamp under the table, never from our memory, because the whole point of the Invicta argument is the price.

The two things no Invicta automatic will give you

Sapphire

Not one automatic in Invicta’s range uses it. Every pick above is mineral, and the 8927 is mineral with a magnifier over the date. That matters more than it sounds: on the Mohs hardness scale corundum (sapphire) sits at 9 and quartz at 7, and ordinary environmental grit is largely quartz — which is exactly why mineral glass accumulates fine scratches from nothing in particular and sapphire does not. Budget homage brands like Steeldive and ADDIESDIVE fit sapphire at these prices; Invicta does not. If a scratch-free crystal is your deciding factor, read the sapphire versus mineral comparison and then go to the sapphire-crystal roundup instead. You will pay about the same money.

A quiet dial

Invicta prints its name in a size the rest of the industry gave up on, usually alongside the collection name and the water-resistance figure. If that bothers you now, it will bother you more in a year. The Coin-Edge is the least derivative-looking pick here, but it is still unmistakably an Invicta. The homage roundup covers the brands that take the opposite approach, including the sterile dials with no logo at all.

Which Invicta, by what you actually want

If you have never owned an automatic

The 8926OB, and spend the saving on learning whether you like mechanical watches at all. It winds itself from wrist movement, it has a see-through caseback so you can watch the rotor do it, and if you decide the hobby is not for you the loss is trivial. Our best automatics under $100 page is the wider shortlist at that budget, and how automatic watches work explains what you are looking at through that caseback.

If you are cross-shopping against a Seiko 5

Then the honest answer is that the Seiko is the better watch and the Invicta is the better deal, and which of those matters is a question about you. Seiko publishes a caliber, an accuracy range, a power reserve and a service network; Invicta publishes a case size. We wrote the whole argument out in Seiko 5 vs Invicta Pro Diver. The same comparison against Citizen’s mechanical diver is in Invicta Pro Diver vs Citizen Promaster, and against Orient’s sapphire-crystal Kamasu in Orient Kamasu vs Invicta Pro Diver.

If you are cross-shopping against Pagani Design

This is the comparison most people in the budget-homage corner of the market are actually making, and it comes down to sapphire against a service telephone number. We built a dedicated head-to-head for it: Pagani Design vs Invicta.

If your wrist is over 7.5 inches

The Grand Diver 4186 at a published 48mm, or the 47mm 35725. Invicta is one of the very few makers still building mechanical watches at that size, because the established brands abandoned it. The large-wrist roundup puts both in context against the 42mm-and-up options from makers who publish more.

If you want a green or a colored dial

Invicta is unusually good at this, and the 47mm 10641 is the cheapest green automatic we have found anywhere. It is in our green-dial roundup alongside the Seiko, Orient and sapphire-fronted budget alternatives at the same money.

What to expect from one in practice

Set expectations at the caliber, not at the brand. The NH35-class movement in these watches is specified to run within a window of tens of seconds a day rather than the few seconds a quartz watch manages — mechanical accuracy is a different scale of measurement, not a worse version of the same one, and how accurate an automatic watch should be sets out the numbers the makers actually publish. The 24-jewel count on the listings is not a quality score either; jewels are synthetic sapphire bearings at the pivots, and what the jewel count means explains why the number stopped being a selling point decades ago.

The components most likely to annoy you are the bracelet and the clasp. Both are stamped, both rattle, and both are the usual first upgrade — a $25 strap transforms how an 8926OB feels, and the Pro Diver case takes a standard 20mm. The caseback is an exhibition type on three of the five picks, which is unusual at this money and genuinely enjoyable.

Lastly, keep it wound or let it stop; neither hurts it. If you end up with more than a couple of automatics, that is when a watch winder starts to earn its place — and whether one is worth it is an honest look at when the answer is no.

Frequently asked questions

Are Invicta automatic watches good?

Inside their own price band, yes. The automatics use a Japanese Seiko NH35-class movement that several Invicta listings name outright, in cases with published diameters, exhibition casebacks, screw-down crowns and 200m to 300m ratings - specifications that would cost two to three times as much from Seiko or Orient. The fair criticisms are the mineral crystal on every reference, the stamped bracelet, the dial branding, and marketing language that implies diving capability the watches are not certified for.

What is the best Invicta automatic watch?

The Pro Diver 8926OB, for most buyers: a 40mm steel case with an exhibition caseback, a screw-down crown, a stated 200m rating and a Japanese automatic movement at the lowest price of any of them. If you want the two-tone finish, the 8927 publishes the most of any reference in the family. If you need a very large case, the Grand Diver 4186 publishes 48mm and a 300m rating.

Which movement does Invicta use in its automatic watches?

A Seiko NH35A with 24 jewels on several references - the 8927, the 10641 and the 47mm 35725 all name it on their own listings. Others, including the 29179 and the Grand Diver 4186, say only that the movement is automatic. Invicta's own catalog designation for the Pro Diver caliber has historically been 'IM-A-005', which cannot be looked up independently. Where a listing does not name the caliber, our spec table says 'Not published' rather than assuming it is the same part.

Can you dive with an Invicta Pro Diver?

It is rated for it, not certified for it. Invicta states 200m on the Pro Divers and 300m on the Grand Diver, with a screw-down crown and a unidirectional bezel - the hardware a diver needs. What no Invicta in our registry carries is ISO 6425 certification, the standard that adds requirements for legibility, shock and magnetic resistance, the bezel and the strap attachment. Treat the rating as swimming and surface-water capability.

Do any Invicta automatics have a sapphire crystal?

None of the automatics in this roundup. Every reference here uses a mineral crystal, and the 8927 uses mineral with a date magnifier. If sapphire is the deciding factor at this budget, the homage brands - Steeldive, ADDIESDIVE, Pagani Design - fit it at similar money, and our sapphire-crystal roundup lists the options.

Why is Invicta's reputation so poor if the automatics are decent?

Three reasons, and only one of them is about the watches. The catalog is enormous and mostly quartz, so the average Invicta anyone encounters is not one of these. The marketing has historically leaned on heavily struck-through list prices, which makes the real price hard to read. And the dial branding and the homage styling put off exactly the enthusiasts who write about watches. The automatic Pro Divers are the part of the range those same enthusiasts tend to concede is honest value.

Is an Invicta automatic worth servicing?

Rarely on economics alone. A full service on a mechanical watch typically costs more than these watches do, so most owners run them until something fails and then replace rather than repair. That is a real cost of buying at this end of the market, and it is the strongest argument for spending roughly double on a Seiko or an Orient if you intend to keep the watch for decades. Our guide to what an automatic service costs has the figures.

Sources

  • Invicta - Pro Diver 47mm model 35725 retail listing specification — The listing specification for the 35725, which replaced the delisted 27611 on this site on 2026-10-12: a gold-tone stainless steel case 47mm across and 15.5mm thick, exhibition caseback, desert-sand dial with luminous hands, an 'NH35A Japanese Automatic movement, 24 jewel', a 215mm x 22mm stainless steel band, mineral crystal, screw-down crown, unidirectional bezel and 200m water resistance. No lug-to-lug, power reserve or accuracy figure is published. Invicta's own specification pages for the Pro Diver line name the movement only 'IM-A-005'; this listing is the document that names the caliber (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Jewel bearing - Wikipedia — Reference on watch jewel bearings: they are made from corundum, usually synthetic sapphire or synthetic ruby, and reduce pivot friction - the static coefficient of friction for sapphire-on-steel is 0.10-0.15 against 0.35 for brass-on-steel. A 'typical fully jeweled time-only watch has 17 jewels: two cap jewels, two pivot jewels and an impulse jewel for the balance wheel, two pivot jewels and two pallet jewels for the pallet fork, and two pivot jewels each for the escape, fourth, third, and center wheels.' Jewel bearings were invented in 1704 by Nicolas Fatio de Duillier, Peter Debaufre and Jacob Debaufre; synthetic production was invented by Auguste Verneuil in 1902. Manufacturers 'traditionally listed the number of jewels prominently on the watch face or back, as an advertising point' (accessed October 11, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)

Keep reading