Dial & Lume

Pagani Design vs Invicta

Two brands selling homage automatics for about the same money, and they spend it in opposite places. Pagani Design puts it in the crystal; Invicta puts it in the case, the depth rating and a warranty you can phone. Six picks compared on what each maker publishes.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

Buy Pagani Designif you intend to keep the watch looking new — every automatic in its range publishes a sapphire crystal, and no Invicta automatic does, at the same money. The Pagani Design NH35A Pilot is the sharpest example: sapphire, a named Seiko NH35A that hacks and hand-winds, and a stated 200m in a 38mm case. Buy Invictaif you want the thing Pagani cannot sell you — a three-year manufacturer warranty with a US telephone number behind it — or if you want a case size Pagani does not build, which in practice means anything over 42mm. The Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB is the cheapest honest automatic diver either brand sells, and the Grand Diver 4186 is a published 48mm with a 300m rating that Pagani has no answer to. Neither brand publishes an accuracy figure or a power reserve for any reference here, neither is ISO 6425 certified, and both are building visual interpretations of other companies’ designs. Decide on crystal versus warranty and you have decided the whole question.

These two brands end up on the same shortlist constantly, and the reason is arithmetic: both sell self-winding mechanical watches, in recognizable homage cases, in the band between about $90 and about $175. Nothing else at that price offers the same thing. The interesting part is that they are not competing on the same axis, and the spec sheets make that unusually clear.

Pagani Design’s whole pitch is the parts bin.Sapphire crystal on every automatic reference we track, Seiko’s NH35A named outright on several of them, and stated water resistance of 100m to 200m. The company publishes case diameters and buys the same components the enthusiast forums recommend. What it does not have is a service network, a warranty worth claiming against, or any pretence of being an established watchmaker.

Invicta’s pitch is the case and the paperwork. Published diameters from 40mm to 48mm, exhibition casebacks, screw-down crowns, stated 200m and 300m ratings, a three-year limited manufacturer warranty and a US customer-service line printed on the listing. What it does not have is sapphire on a single automatic reference, nor a quiet dial.

Everything below comes from what the two makers published for the exact references, read on the date printed under the table. We have not handled any of these watches. Where a maker publishes no figure the table says “Not published” — and on both brands that applies to accuracy, power reserve and lug-to-lug across the board, which is worth noticing before you treat either spec sheet as complete.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceCrystalCase sizeWater resistance
1
Pagani Design NH35A Pilot 38mm

Pagani Design NH35A Pilot 38mm

A named Seiko NH35A movement, a sapphire crystal and a stated 200m rating, in a 38mm case with a full ring of Arabic numerals, for around the price of a strap-and-service on a Swiss watch. On specification alone nothing here comes close.

Best overall
$149.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Sapphire38 mm200 m
2
Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Best cheap diver
$91.22 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Mineral40 mm200 m
3
Pagani Design GMT Automatic 40mm

Pagani Design GMT Automatic 40mm

The 40mm version of the same idea, and the better buy for anyone with a wrist under about 7 inches. Same sapphire, same stated 100m, two millimeters less case — which is the difference between a watch that fits and one that overhangs.

Best GMT
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Sapphire40 mm100 m
4
Invicta Pro Diver 8927 (two-tone)

Invicta Pro Diver 8927 (two-tone)

The same 40mm Pro Diver case as the steel 8926, finished in steel and 23k gold plating - and the one Invicta in this family whose listing publishes the most. It names an NH35A with 24 jewels, states 40mm x 14mm, an exhibition caseback, a screw-down crown and 200m, and adds a magnifier over the date. If you want the two-tone look rather than the all-steel one, this is the version to buy and it costs about the same.

Best documented Invicta
$93.21 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Mineral with magnifier40 mm200 m
5
Pagani Design DD36 36mm

Pagani Design DD36 36mm

A 36mm dress-sports automatic with an anti-reflective sapphire crystal and a stated 10 bar rating — a combination that is difficult to find at any price in a small case, let alone this one.

Best small case
$134.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Sapphire (anti-reflective)36 mm100 m
6
Invicta Pro Diver Grand Diver 4186

Invicta Pro Diver Grand Diver 4186

The biggest and the deepest-rated automatic Invicta sells at this money: the listing publishes a 48mm case and 300m rather than the Pro Diver's 40mm and 200m. That is a genuine step up in both directions, and both are reasons to measure your wrist first - 48mm overhangs almost everybody, and 300m buys reassurance rather than capability you will use.

Best for a big wrist
$126.57 · View on Amazon

$142.2111% off

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Mineral48 mm300 m

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on July 21, August 11, September 30 and October 19, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 20, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Pagani Design NH35A Pilot 38mm

A named Seiko NH35A movement, a sapphire crystal and a stated 200m rating, in a 38mm case with a full ring of Arabic numerals, for around the price of a strap-and-service on a Swiss watch. On specification alone nothing here comes close.

Strengths

  • Seiko NH35A — a movement you can actually look up and get serviced
  • Sapphire crystal and a stated 200m rating, both unusual at this money
  • 38mm on a steel bracelet, which is small for the category and suits a slimmer wrist

Trade-offs

  • Loose Type A styling borrowed wholesale from the flieger canon — nothing here is original
  • Sold on Amazon under a 'PAGRNE DESIGN' storefront name with no model number in the listing, so it is hard to look up, and resale value is effectively zero
MovementSeiko NH35A automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size38 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The NH35 is the same movement family Seiko fits to its own 5 Sports line. Buying a watch around it is the cheapest way to get a serviceable, documented caliber. The 40mm PD1759 that used to sit here is no longer listed on Amazon; this is the Pagani Design pilot that is, and it is 38mm rather than 40mm — the listing publishes the diameter, the NH35A, the sapphire crystal and the 200m rating, and nothing else, so every other row reads 'Not published'.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best cheap diver

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver for roughly $100
  • Reportedly a Japanese Seiko/TMI (NH35-class) movement
  • Coin-edge bezel and a look far above the price

Trade-offs

  • Overt Submariner homage won't suit everyone
  • Invicta doesn't name the movement, and the bracelet feels its price
MovementAutomatic — Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's reputation is mixed, but the 8926 Pro Diver is the exception enthusiasts actually endorse. Invicta names the movement only as 'IM-A-005'; it's widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class caliber, and the value is real.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best GMT

Pagani Design GMT Automatic 40mm

The 40mm version of the same idea, and the better buy for anyone with a wrist under about 7 inches. Same sapphire, same stated 100m, two millimeters less case — which is the difference between a watch that fits and one that overhangs.

Strengths

  • 40mm case suits a far wider range of wrists than 42mm
  • Sapphire crystal and a stated 100m rating
  • Date function alongside the GMT hand

Trade-offs

  • Same derivative styling as the 42mm
  • Movement is not named on the listing
MovementAutomatic mechanical
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Case diameter is the single most common sizing mistake in online watch buying. Two millimeters reads as far more than it sounds on paper.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best documented Invicta

Invicta Pro Diver 8927 (two-tone)

The same 40mm Pro Diver case as the steel 8926, finished in steel and 23k gold plating - and the one Invicta in this family whose listing publishes the most. It names an NH35A with 24 jewels, states 40mm x 14mm, an exhibition caseback, a screw-down crown and 200m, and adds a magnifier over the date. If you want the two-tone look rather than the all-steel one, this is the version to buy and it costs about the same.

Strengths

  • The listing names the caliber - NH35A, 24 jewels - rather than Invicta's in-house "IM-A-005" label
  • Published 40mm x 14mm case, exhibition caseback, screw-down crown and 200m
  • Mineral crystal with a date magnifier, on a matching two-tone bracelet

Trade-offs

  • 23k gold plating over steel wears through at the bracelet edges over years
  • Mineral crystal, and no published power reserve, accuracy or lug-to-lug figure
  • Two-tone reads dressier than the steel version and dates faster
MovementSeiko NH35A automatic (24 jewels), per the listing
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral with magnifier
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's listing weight for this reference is 152 grams, the same figure it publishes for the steel 8926 - the two are the same watch in a different finish. The gold is stated as plating, not solid gold, on Invicta's own listing.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best small case

Pagani Design DD36 36mm

A 36mm dress-sports automatic with an anti-reflective sapphire crystal and a stated 10 bar rating — a combination that is difficult to find at any price in a small case, let alone this one.

Strengths

  • 36mm with AR sapphire and a stated 10 bar rating
  • Jubilee-style bracelet suits a smaller wrist well
  • One of very few small automatics with published specs

Trade-offs

  • Directly imitates a famous Swiss design at 36mm
  • ST16 movement is less widely serviced than an NH35
MovementST16 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size36 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalSapphire (anti-reflective)
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Small watches with sapphire crystals are rare because the segment is treated as fashion. This one treats it as a specification exercise.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best for a big wrist

Invicta Pro Diver Grand Diver 4186

The biggest and the deepest-rated automatic Invicta sells at this money: the listing publishes a 48mm case and 300m rather than the Pro Diver's 40mm and 200m. That is a genuine step up in both directions, and both are reasons to measure your wrist first - 48mm overhangs almost everybody, and 300m buys reassurance rather than capability you will use.

Strengths

  • Published 48mm case and a 300m water-resistance rating - the deepest here
  • Automatic movement with a date, in Invicta's long-running Grand Diver case
  • Costs less than most 42mm automatics from the Japanese brands

Trade-offs

  • 48mm is bigger than the 47mm Pro Diver and will overhang most wrists
  • Invicta does not name the caliber on this listing, and publishes no thickness or lug-to-lug
  • Mineral crystal, and an orange dial that is not a quiet choice
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size48 mm
Water resistance300 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The Grand Diver is a separate case from the 8926 Pro Diver despite sharing the Pro Diver collection name - it is larger, rated deeper and sold at a higher price. Invicta's listing restates the 300m rating as suitable for scuba diving to 30 meters for up to two hours; that is a restatement of the rating, not an ISO 6425 diver's certification.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Crystal: the one spec that is not close

Every Pagani Design automatic in our registry publishes a sapphire crystal, and the DD36 publishes sapphire with an anti-reflective treatment. Every Invicta automatic publishes mineral. That is not a marketing difference, it is a materials one: on the Mohs hardness scale corundum — sapphire — sits at 9 and quartz at 7, and the grit in ordinary dust and sand is largely quartz. It is why a mineral crystal collects fine hairline scratches from nothing you can remember doing, and a sapphire one does not.

If you wear one watch every day for years, this is the difference you will actually see, long after the specification argument has stopped mattering. The full sapphire versus mineral comparison has the hardness figures and the honest caveat — sapphire is harder but more brittle, and a sharp impact can crack it where mineral would chip.

Movement: the same caliber, named differently

Both brands build around Seiko’s NH35-family automatic, and both are inconsistent about saying so. Pagani names a Seiko NH35Aon the pilot and on the PD-1651, and describes the GMT references only as “automatic mechanical”. The DD36 uses a Chinese ST16 instead, which is a different movement family entirely. On the Invicta side, the 8927, the 10641 and the 47mm 35725 name an “NH35A Japanese Automatic movement, 24 jewel”; the 29179 and the Grand Diver name nothing beyond “automatic”. Invicta’s own long-standing catalog label for the Pro Diver caliber is “IM-A-005”, which cannot be looked up anywhere.

Practical consequence: on the references where a caliber is named, the watch is serviceable by any competent independent watchmaker and the parts are commodities. On the references where it is not, you are buying a sealed box. If that matters to you, our NH35 page explains what the movement is specified to do, and NH35 vs Miyota 9015 covers the other caliber this whole market runs on.

Water resistance: Invicta states more, and neither is certified

Invicta states 200m on the Pro Divers and 300m on the Grand Diver and the 10641. Pagani states 200m on the pilot and 100m on the GMTs, the DD36 and the PD-1651. On paper Invicta wins the dive-watch argument, and the Pro Diver case does back it up with a screw-down crown and a unidirectional bezel.

What neither brand has is ISO 6425 diver’s certification, the standard that adds requirements for legibility in the dark, shock and magnetic resistance, the bezel and the strap attachment on top of the pressure rating. Both brands use dive language freely. Read what a water-resistance rating actually permits before you take either one into the sea, and whether you can swim with an automatic for the practical version. If you want a certified diver at a real price, that is a Seiko Prospex conversation, not this one.

Size: the two ranges barely overlap

This decides more buying decisions than the crystal does. Pagani Design builds small to medium — our registry has 36mm, 38mm, 40mm and 42mm references. Invicta builds medium to enormous — 40mm, 42mm, 47mm and a published 48mm. If your wrist is under about 6.5 inches, the 36mm DD36 is the only watch in this comparison that will sit properly on it. If your wrist is over 7.5 inches, Pagani has nothing for you and the Grand Diver is the obvious answer.

Both brands publish diameters and neither publishes a lug-to-lug figure, which is the measurement that actually decides overhang. On a 48mm case that omission is serious. Measure first — the method is in our watch size guide.

Warranty and service: the one place Invicta is clearly ahead

Invicta’s listings state a three-year limited manufacturer warranty and print a US customer-service telephone number for links, bracelet adjustment and warranty questions. For a watch at this price that is unusual, and it is the single strongest argument for the brand. Pagani Design sells through marketplace listings with no equivalent structure; if something goes wrong after the return window, you are relying on the retailer.

Keep it in proportion, though. A full mechanical service costs more than either of these watches, so neither is realistically a repair proposition — what an automatic service costs sets out the numbers. What a warranty buys at this end of the market is cover for a dead-on-arrival movement, not a decade of maintenance.

Branding: opposite problems

Invicta prints its name large, next to the collection name and the depth rating. Pagani Design prints a logo most people will not recognize, on a case that is often a close interpretation of something from Switzerland. Which of those bothers you is temperament, but it is worth deciding before you buy rather than after: this is the most common reason a cheap homage ends up in a drawer.

If neither appeals, the third option is a sterile dial with no logo at all — the ADDIESDIVE and Steeldive route, covered in our homage roundup and head to head in Steeldive vs ADDIESDIVE.

Who should buy which

Buy Pagani Design if

You want the best specification your money can buy and you accept that there is nobody to call. Sapphire, a named Japanese caliber on the pilot, 200m, and a case in a size that normal wrists want. The full Pagani Design brand review goes model by model, including the arguments against.

Buy Invicta if

You want the cheapest possible entry into a mechanical watch, or you want a large case, or the warranty genuinely matters to you. The Invicta automatic roundup covers the five references worth considering, and the 8926OB review is the deep dive on the one most people end up with.

Buy neither if

You are going to care about resale, service history or the badge in five years. Both brands are consumables. Roughly double either price and you are in Seiko 5 Sports and Orient territory, where the caliber is published with a rate, the service network is real, and the design is the maker’s own — which is the comparison we run in Pagani Design vs Seiko and Seiko 5 vs Invicta Pro Diver.

Frequently asked questions

Is Pagani Design better than Invicta?

On published specification, yes: every Pagani Design automatic states a sapphire crystal and no Invicta automatic does, at similar prices. On ownership, Invicta is ahead: a three-year limited manufacturer warranty with a US service line, versus marketplace-only support from Pagani. If you want the watch to stay unscratched, buy Pagani. If you want recourse when something fails, or you need a case larger than 42mm, buy Invicta.

Do Pagani Design and Invicta use the same movement?

Often, and neither is consistent about saying so. Pagani names a Seiko NH35A on its pilot and PD-1651 references; Invicta names an 'NH35A Japanese Automatic movement, 24 jewel' on the 8927, the 10641 and the 47mm 35725. Other references from both brands say only 'automatic'. Pagani's DD36 is the exception on the Pagani side - it uses a Chinese ST16 instead.

Which is more accurate, Pagani Design or Invicta?

Neither maker publishes an accuracy figure for any reference in this comparison, so there is no honest answer. Where both use the same NH35-family caliber, expect the same behavior from the same part - mechanical accuracy is measured in tens of seconds a day rather than seconds a month. Our guide to automatic watch accuracy has the figures the makers of that movement do publish.

Can you dive with a Pagani Design or an Invicta?

Both are rated for water and neither is certified for diving. Invicta states 200m on the Pro Divers and 300m on the Grand Diver; Pagani states 200m on the pilot and 100m elsewhere. Neither brand carries ISO 6425 diver's certification, which covers legibility, shock and magnetic resistance, the bezel and the strap attachment on top of the pressure rating. Swimming and surface water sports, yes. Scuba on a certified instrument, no.

Which brand has better build quality?

They fail in different places. Invicta's weak points are the stamped bracelet and clasp and the mineral crystal, in a case that is otherwise solid, publishes its dimensions and has a screw-down crown. Pagani's weak points are finishing consistency and quality control at the individual-unit level, in a watch with a better crystal. Neither claim here comes from handling units - we have not handled any of them, and anyone citing a failure rate for either brand is guessing.

Are Pagani Design watches fake Rolexes?

No. A homage copies a design language but carries its own name on the dial and makes no claim to be another brand - which is legal, and different from a counterfeit that forges another maker's name and logo. Pagani Design's interpretations are close enough to make some people uncomfortable, and Invicta's Pro Diver is a long-running Submariner-silhouette homage as well. If the resemblance bothers you, the sterile-dial brands are the alternative.

What should I buy instead of both?

A Seiko 5 Sports or an Orient diver at roughly double the money. You get a caliber the maker names with a published rate and power reserve, a real service network, the maker's own design rather than an interpretation, and - on the Orient divers - sapphire as well. That is the step up most people who start with a homage end up making anyway.

Sources

  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Invicta - Pro Diver 47mm model 35725 retail listing specification — The listing specification for the 35725, which replaced the delisted 27611 on this site on 2026-10-12: a gold-tone stainless steel case 47mm across and 15.5mm thick, exhibition caseback, desert-sand dial with luminous hands, an 'NH35A Japanese Automatic movement, 24 jewel', a 215mm x 22mm stainless steel band, mineral crystal, screw-down crown, unidirectional bezel and 200m water resistance. No lug-to-lug, power reserve or accuracy figure is published. Invicta's own specification pages for the Pro Diver line name the movement only 'IM-A-005'; this listing is the document that names the caliber (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Jewel bearing - Wikipedia — Reference on watch jewel bearings: they are made from corundum, usually synthetic sapphire or synthetic ruby, and reduce pivot friction - the static coefficient of friction for sapphire-on-steel is 0.10-0.15 against 0.35 for brass-on-steel. A 'typical fully jeweled time-only watch has 17 jewels: two cap jewels, two pivot jewels and an impulse jewel for the balance wheel, two pivot jewels and two pallet jewels for the pallet fork, and two pivot jewels each for the escape, fourth, third, and center wheels.' Jewel bearings were invented in 1704 by Nicolas Fatio de Duillier, Peter Debaufre and Jacob Debaufre; synthetic production was invented by Auguste Verneuil in 1902. Manufacturers 'traditionally listed the number of jewels prominently on the watch face or back, as an advertising point' (accessed October 11, 2026)

Keep reading