Dial & Lume

Best Automatic Dive Watches Under $200

Five automatic divers with a published 200m or 300m rating for under $200 - what a sapphire crystal and a Seiko NH35 genuinely buy at this price, and the one word none of them prints on the dial.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Under $200 is the most misrepresented corner of the watch market and also the most genuinely improved. Ten years ago the answer to “automatic dive watch, less than two hundred dollars” was one Invicta. Today a handful of micro-brands will sell you a Seiko NH35 movement, a sapphire crystal, a ceramic or aluminium bezel and a stated 200m rating for about $160 — a specification that cost three times as much from a major brand.

One entry rule applied here: the maker or the listing has to publish a water-resistance figure of 100m or more, in writing, for that exact reference. That excluded several dive-styled watches we cover elsewhere — the Invicta 17044 and the Coin-Edge both look the part and neither publishes a rating we can quote — and it is the whole reason the list is five watches rather than fifteen.

One more thing, said plainly up front: none of these five publishes the regulated ISO 6425 “diver’s” marking. They are water-resistant to a stated depth, which is a different and lesser claim. What that means in practice is the first section below. Every spec quoted comes from the maker’s own page where one exists and from the retail listing where it does not, dated in each spec table. We have not dived, swum or handled any of them. Prices come from a live daily check.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ADDIESDIVE NH35 Diver 200m

ADDIESDIVE NH35 Diver 200m

The specification sheet a $600 watch had ten years ago: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating and a steel bracelet. ADDIESDIVE has become the default answer for people who want dive-watch specs and do not care about a name on the dial.

Best overall
$162.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Steeldive SD1953 300m Diver

Steeldive SD1953 300m Diver

The enthusiast's NH35 diver. Steeldive builds the closest thing to a proper tool-watch case at this price — a stated 300m rating, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal and lume that people buy the watch for.

Best specification
$195.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Best lume
$165.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Cheapest real automatic diver
$86.69 · View on Amazon

$93.998% off

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Invicta Pro Diver 47mm (27611)

Invicta Pro Diver 47mm (27611)

The largest published case diameter on this page and the cheapest watch on it, which is not a coincidence - 47mm is a size the established makers have abandoned and the value brands have not. If your wrist genuinely needs 47mm this is the accessible mechanical option; if it does not, this is exactly the watch that taught a generation that big watches overhang.

Best for a large wrist
$110.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

ADDIESDIVE NH35 Diver 200m

The specification sheet a $600 watch had ten years ago: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating and a steel bracelet. ADDIESDIVE has become the default answer for people who want dive-watch specs and do not care about a name on the dial.

Strengths

  • Seiko NH35 automatic with hacking and hand-winding
  • Sapphire crystal and a stated 200m rating
  • Consistently in stock, unlike most micro-brand divers

Trade-offs

  • A stated 200m rating is not an ISO 6425 DIVER'S certification
  • Bracelet and clasp are the obvious place the money was saved
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. A stated depth rating and an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' marking are different claims. Only the second involves testing every individual watch.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best specification

Steeldive SD1953 300m Diver

The enthusiast's NH35 diver. Steeldive builds the closest thing to a proper tool-watch case at this price — a stated 300m rating, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal and lume that people buy the watch for.

Strengths

  • Stated 300m rating with a screw-down crown
  • Anti-reflective sapphire and unusually strong lume
  • The homage the enthusiast forums actually recommend

Trade-offs

  • Thick and heavy — this is a full-size dive watch
  • Availability comes and goes between sellers
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance300 m
CrystalSapphire (anti-reflective)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Steeldive's reputation rests on case construction rather than on the movement, which is the same NH35 half this list uses.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best lume

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Strengths

  • Listing names BGW9 specifically instead of saying 'luminous'
  • Seiko NH35 with sapphire and a stated 200m rating
  • Costs a fraction of the Seiko divers making comparable lume claims

Trade-offs

  • A named pigment code is not a measured brightness figure, and none is published
  • No brand behind it, no service network and no resale value
  • Case diameter is not stated on the listing, so we have not recorded one
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. BGW9 glows blue-green (emission at 485 nm) and reads white in daylight; C3, the other code you will see quoted, glows green and reads pale yellow-green. Neither code tells you the GRADE - Standard, A or X1 - which is what actually decides how slowly the glow decays.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest real automatic diver

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver for roughly $100
  • Reportedly a Japanese Seiko/TMI (NH35-class) movement
  • Coin-edge bezel and a look far above the price

Trade-offs

  • Overt Submariner homage won't suit everyone
  • Invicta doesn't name the movement, and the bracelet feels its price
MovementAutomatic — Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's reputation is mixed, but the 8926 Pro Diver is the exception enthusiasts actually endorse. Invicta names the movement only as 'IM-A-005'; it's widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class caliber, and the value is real.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for a large wrist

Invicta Pro Diver 47mm (27611)

The largest published case diameter on this page and the cheapest watch on it, which is not a coincidence - 47mm is a size the established makers have abandoned and the value brands have not. If your wrist genuinely needs 47mm this is the accessible mechanical option; if it does not, this is exactly the watch that taught a generation that big watches overhang.

Strengths

  • 47mm case with a 300m rating and a 22mm band, per Invicta's own specification
  • The cheapest automatic here by a wide margin
  • Screw-down crown and a unidirectional bezel on the Pro Diver case

Trade-offs

  • Invicta publishes no case thickness, no lug-to-lug and no power reserve
  • Mineral crystal, and Invicta names the caliber only as "IM-A-005"
  • 47mm overhangs most wrists - this is the one pick here you must measure for
MovementAutomatic - Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size47 mm
Water resistance300 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's own specification page states 47mm, mineral crystal, 300m and a 22mm band, and names the movement only as 'IM-A-005' - the same label it uses on the 40mm 8926OB, which is widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class caliber. Invicta does not publish a lug-to-lug figure for this reference, which on a 47mm case is the specification you most need.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 8, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

“200m water resistant” is not “Diver’s 200m”

These two phrases look identical on a listing and mean different things. The words Diver’s 200m are regulated by ISO 6425, which requires a minimum 100m rating, a unidirectional or lockable elapsed-time bezel, legibility in total darkness at 25cm, resistance to salt water, thermal shock and magnetism, and testing of every individual watch rather than of a sample from the line. A plain “200m water resistant” figure is a pressure specification, usually sample-tested, and nothing more.

That is not a scandal and it is not a reason to avoid these watches. It is the honest description of what $160 buys: a watch sealed to a real depth, with a movement you can service, that will handle swimming, snorkelling and a shower without complaint. If you are going to strap a tank on your back, buy a watch that prints the certified marking — Seiko’s Prospex line states 200m / 660ft diver’s with a screw-down crown, and it costs roughly two and a half times what the watches here do. Our full dive-watch roundup covers that side of the market, and water resistance explained unpacks every marking.

What the money actually buys between $80 and $195

The movement

Three of the five run the Seiko NH35, the caliber that made this entire price bracket possible: an automatic with hand-winding and hacking, sold to anyone who wants to buy one, in the same architecture family as the 4R35 Seiko fits to its own watches. It is the reason a $160 watch can be repaired rather than binned. Our NH35 roundup covers the caliber and the watches built around it, and NH35 vs 4R36 settles the question of how it relates to the movement inside a Seiko 5.

The two Invictas do not name a caliber at all. Invicta’s own specification page for the 47mm 27611 labels the movement only as “IM-A-005” and publishes no case thickness, no power reserve and no accuracy figure. That is the trade at $80 to $110: a watch that works, from a brand that will not tell you what is inside it.

The crystal

Sapphire on the three micro-brands, mineral on both Invictas. Sapphire sits at 9 on the Mohs hardness scale, ordinary mineral glass at about 5.5, and the grit in everyday dust is largely quartz at roughly 7 — which is precisely why a mineral crystal hazes over a couple of years of wear and a sapphire one does not. On a watch you intend to swim in and knock about, this is the specification that decides how it looks in 2029. The crystal comparison covers when mineral is genuinely the better answer.

The lume

The BGW9 reference here names its luminous material, which is unusual at this price and worth paying attention to. BGW9 is a Super-LumiNova color code from RC Tritec: a non-radioactive strontium-aluminate pigment that glows blue-green and appears white in daylight, with emission at 485nm. Naming the pigment is a small proof that a maker knows what it bought. Our lume roundup ranks the wider field on exactly that basis, and what is lume on a watch explains why it fades by morning.

The bezel

Bezel quality is where these watches differ most visibly, and it is also where listings say least. An aluminium insert scratches and fades; a ceramic one does not, and it is the most obvious upgrade in this bracket — but only some references at this price state which they use, so read the listing rather than the photograph. ADDIESDIVE also sells a ceramic-bezel NH35 diver, which is priced at the $200 line rather than under it today and sits on our NH35 roundup instead.

What you give up under $200

Published dimensions. Most micro-brand listings state a diameter and stop. Lug-to-lug distance, thickness and weight — the numbers that decide whether a watch fits — are frequently missing, and we will not estimate them from a photograph. If fit is your main worry, buy from a maker that publishes a full sheet: our 40mm roundup and the size guide both work from published figures only.

A service network. Seiko and Orient will repair their own watches for decades. A micro-brand assembling bought-in calibers is selling you a specification, and the practical repair route in five years is movement replacement rather than overhaul. That is a legitimate way to buy a watch — an NH35 costs a fraction of an overhaul — but it is a different purchase, and our service cost guide puts numbers on both routes.

Resale, and the benefit of the doubt. An Orient Mako II or a Seiko 5 Sports holds value and is understood by everybody; a micro-brand diver is worth what the next buyer feels like paying. If that matters, the step up is small: the Kamasu and the Mako II both run an in-house Orient caliber with a published sheet, and both sit within about a hundred dollars of the top of this page.

Frequently asked questions

Can you actually dive with a $200 automatic dive watch?

Recreational snorkelling and swimming, yes - a stated 200m rating is a real seal. Scuba is a different question: none of the watches here publishes the ISO 6425 'diver's' marking, which requires a unidirectional bezel, dark legibility and pressure testing of every individual watch rather than a sample.

What is the best automatic dive watch under $200?

On published specification, the NH35 micro-brand divers: a named Seiko movement, a sapphire crystal and a stated 200m rating for roughly $160. If you want the highest figure on the page, Steeldive's SD1953 states 300m with an anti-reflective sapphire crystal.

Is the Seiko NH35 a good movement?

It is the workhorse of the affordable watch industry: automatic with hand-winding and hacking, widely available as a spare part, and mechanically close to the 4R35 Seiko fits to its own watches. It is not a precision caliber - expect a rate in the same broad window Seiko publishes for the 4R family.

Is an Invicta Pro Diver a real dive watch?

It is a real automatic watch with a real 200m pressure rating and a rotating bezel, and it is the cheapest way into a self-winding diver. What it is not is a documented one: Invicta names the movement only as 'IM-A-005' and publishes no thickness, power reserve or accuracy figure.

Sapphire or mineral crystal on a dive watch under $200?

Sapphire, if the budget reaches it. Sapphire is 9 on the Mohs scale against about 5.5 for mineral, and the quartz grit in ordinary dust sits at roughly 7 - hard enough to scratch mineral glass and not sapphire. Mineral's advantage is that it tolerates a sharp impact better.

Should I spend a bit more than $200 on a dive watch?

If you want an in-house movement, a published specification sheet and a service network, the answer is yes and the step is small. An Orient Mako II or Kamasu adds all three for roughly $100 to $170 more than the top of this page, and both state 200m with a screw-down crown.

Sources

  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watchesThe standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • ISO 22810:2010 — Water-resistant watchesDefines the requirements, test methods and permitted markings for ordinary water-resistant watches (daily use / swimming, not scuba diving) (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — WikipediaWhat the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — WikipediaThe hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Super-LumiNova — WikipediaSuper-LumiNova is a strontium-aluminate photoluminescent pigment (europium- and dysprosium-doped) made by RC Tritec AG in Switzerland with Nemoto & Co. It is non-radioactive, is recharged by light indefinitely without chemical degradation, and its higher grades (A and X1) decay far more slowly than Standard grade. It is offered in colors identified by code: C3 glows green and appears pale yellow-green in daylight (emission at 515 nm); BGW9 glows blue-green and appears white in daylight (emission at 485 nm) (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Invicta - Pro Diver model 27611 product specificationInvicta's own specification page for the 27611: 47mm stainless steel case, blue dial, mineral crystal, stainless steel bezel, 22mm band, 300m water resistance, and a caliber named only as 'IM-A-005'. Invicta publishes no case thickness, no power reserve and no accuracy figure for this reference (accessed September 8, 2026)
  • Seiko - Prospex SRPG57 product specificationSeiko's own listing for the SRPG57: caliber 4R36, approx. 41h reserve, 42.4mm diameter, 13.4mm thick, 49.4mm lug-to-lug, Hardlex with magnified glass, '200m / 660ft diver's' water resistance, a screw-down crown, a unidirectional rotating bezel, a screw case back, and LumiBrite on hands, index(es) AND bezel (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Automatic watch — WikipediaReference on self-winding watches: most automatics can also be wound by hand at the crown, and a slipping bridle on the mainspring barrel makes overwinding by a rotor or a winder mechanically impossible (accessed August 11, 2026)

Keep reading