Dial & Lume

Orient Kamasu vs Orient Mako II

Same in-house caliber, same 200m, same 47mm lug-to-lug. Put Orient's own two sheets side by side and exactly one specification separates these watches - and it is not the one the price gap suggests.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

These are the two watches every Orient shortlist comes down to, and almost every answer online treats the Kamasu as the “newer, better” watch and the Mako II as the budget version. Read Orient’s own specification sheets and that framing falls apart.

Both run the in-house F6922, which hacks, hand-winds and is quoted at approximately 40 hours. Both are rated 200m with a screw-down crown. Both use a 120-click unidirectional bezel. Both measure 47mm lug-to-lug with 22mm lugs. On diameter they are 0.38mm apart and on thickness 0.2mm apart — differences you cannot see, feel or measure without a caliper.

What actually separates them is the crystal: sapphire on the Kamasu, mineral on the Mako II. That is the decision, and it is a five-year question rather than a first-week one. Below: what each sheet says, who should buy which, where the Kanno fits, and the Ray II footnote that catches people out. Every dimension comes from Orient’s own published pages, read on the date in each spec table. We have not handled either watch, and prices come from a live daily check.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Best overall
$328.84 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Orient Mako II Diver

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Best value
$289.98 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Orient Kanno Diver (RA-AA0913L19B)

Orient Kanno Diver (RA-AA0913L19B)

Orient's under-appreciated diver: the same in-house F6922 as the Kamasu in a noticeably bigger case — Orient publishes 44mm across and 50.5mm lug-to-lug — usually for less money. If the Kamasu is out of budget, this is the pick rather than dropping to a homage brand.

Best for a large wrist
$246.65 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Best alternative from Seiko
$338.84 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Cheapest sapphire diver
$165.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal at a price where mineral is the norm
  • True 200m rating with a screw-down crown and solid bracelet
  • In-house F6922 movement that both hacks and hand-winds

Trade-offs

  • The in-house movement isn't chronometer-accurate
  • Roughly 42mm with a broad case — wears large on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.88 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Kamasu's real upgrade over the Mako II is the sapphire crystal — both share the same F6922 movement, so both already hack and hand-wind. (The Orient diver that does neither is the original Mako I, on the older 46943 caliber.)

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best value

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver at a genuinely low price
  • In-house Orient F6922 movement, hacking and hand-winding
  • A modern classic with a huge owner base

Trade-offs

  • Mineral crystal, not sapphire — the Kamasu fixes exactly this
  • Roughly 41mm with a broad case — big on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.5 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral (Hardlex-class)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Mako II versus Kamasu decision comes down to one thing: the crystal. Both use the same F6922 (both hack and hand-wind), so you're really deciding whether sapphire is worth the small step up from mineral.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best for a large wrist

Orient Kanno Diver (RA-AA0913L19B)

Orient's under-appreciated diver: the same in-house F6922 as the Kamasu in a noticeably bigger case — Orient publishes 44mm across and 50.5mm lug-to-lug — usually for less money. If the Kamasu is out of budget, this is the pick rather than dropping to a homage brand.

Strengths

  • In-house Orient automatic with hand-winding
  • Usually undercuts the Kamasu while sharing its mechanical DNA
  • Proper dive styling with a substantial case

Trade-offs

  • Orient publishes 44mm across and 50.5mm lug-to-lug — genuinely big
  • Mineral crystal, where the Kamasu gets sapphire for a little more
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size44 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Orient is owned by Seiko Epson and builds its own movements — which is why an Orient diver at this price is a genuinely different proposition from a marketplace homage.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best alternative from Seiko

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Strengths

  • In-house Seiko 4R36 movement with hacking and hand-winding
  • Day-date, 100m water resistance and a see-through caseback onto the movement
  • The most cross-shopped, best-supported budget automatic there is

Trade-offs

  • The 4R36 is reliable, not accurate to chronometer standards
  • Hardlex crystal scratches more easily than sapphire
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy+45 / -35 sec/day
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.5 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalHardlex mineral
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line is the modern heir to the original Seiko 5: an honest, serviceable automatic with real heritage, which is exactly why it anchors so many of our lists.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Cheapest sapphire diver

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Strengths

  • Listing names BGW9 specifically instead of saying 'luminous'
  • Seiko NH35 with sapphire and a stated 200m rating
  • Costs a fraction of the Seiko divers making comparable lume claims

Trade-offs

  • A named pigment code is not a measured brightness figure, and none is published
  • No brand behind it, no service network and no resale value
  • Case diameter is not stated on the listing, so we have not recorded one
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. BGW9 glows blue-green (emission at 485 nm) and reads white in daylight; C3, the other code you will see quoted, glows green and reads pale yellow-green. Neither code tells you the GRADE - Standard, A or X1 - which is what actually decides how slowly the glow decays.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The two sheets, side by side

These figures are Orient’s, not ours, and they are the whole argument:

  • Caliber — F6922 on both, with hacking and hand-winding, approximately 40 hours of reserve on both.
  • Crystalsapphire on the Kamasu, mineral on the Mako II. The only substantive difference.
  • Diameter — 41.88mm (Kamasu) against 41.5mm (Mako II).
  • Thickness — 12.8mm against 13mm.
  • Lug-to-lug — 47mm on both. Lug width — 22mm on both.
  • Water resistance — 200m on both, with a screw-down crown on both.
  • Bezel — 120-click unidirectional on both.

Note what is not on that list: nothing about finishing, nothing about accuracy, nothing about the bracelet. Orient does not publish a daily rate for either reference, so neither spec table below carries one — a null is a finding, not a gap in our research.

Why the crystal is the entire decision

Sapphire sits at 9 on the Mohs hardness scale. Ordinary mineral glass sits at about 5.5. The grit in everyday dust is largely quartz, at roughly 7 — hard enough to mark mineral glass and not hard enough to touch sapphire. That is the mechanism behind every “my watch looks tired after two years” complaint, and it is why the Kamasu is the one that still looks new in 2031.

The counter-argument is real and rarely made: mineral glass tolerates a sharp impact better than sapphire, which is harder but more brittle. A watch that spends its life near brick and steel is arguably better served by the Mako II. Our crystal comparison works through both directions, and the sapphire roundup covers the wider field of automatics that fit it.

Who should buy which

Buy the Kamasu if this is going to be your daily watch for years, if you are the sort of person who notices a hairline scratch across a dial, or if you want the specification that resells most easily. It is the better watch on paper and the difference is permanent.

Buy the Mako II if you rotate several watches, if this is your first automatic and you are still working out whether you like divers at all, or if the saving takes you from “thinking about it” to “wearing it.” You are giving up scratch resistance on a watch that is otherwise identical, and you are getting a genuine in-house Japanese automatic for the price of a fashion-brand quartz.

Buy neither if you actually want a bigger watch, which is where the Kanno comes in: Orient publishes 44mm across, 50.5mm lug-to-lug and 12.9mm thick. That is 3.5mm more lug span than either watch here, which is the dimension that decides overhang. The big-wrist roundup has the wider field at that size, and the size guide covers measuring your own ceiling first.

The Ray II footnote

One thing that trips up anybody comparing Orient divers: the Ray II. Orient publishes exactly the same figures for it as for the Mako II — caliber F6922, approximately 40 hours, mineral crystal, 41.5mm, 47mm lug-to-lug, 13mm thick, 22mm lugs, 200m, screw-down crown, 120-click unidirectional bezel. The two watches differ in the dial and the hands, not in a single dimension. If you are agonising between a Mako II and a Ray II, you are choosing a face, and you should pick the one you like looking at.

Where these sit in the wider market

Against Seiko, the comparison is unflattering for Seiko on paper and kinder in practice. A 5 Sports SRPD65 is stated at 10 bar rather than a 200m diver’s rating, has no screw-down crown listed on Seiko’s sheet, and uses Hardlex rather than sapphire — but it costs less, it holds resale value, and Seiko will service it anywhere in the world. Our Seiko vs Orient vs Citizen comparison takes that apart, and best Orient watches ranks Orient’s whole range including both watches here.

Against the micro-brands, both Orients cost more than an NH35 diver with a sapphire crystal and a 200m rating — and both are buying you something the micro-brands cannot: a caliber Orient designed and builds itself, a published spec sheet, and a service path. Our sub-$200 dive roundup is the honest version of the cheaper option.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Orient Kamasu and the Mako II?

The crystal. On Orient's own sheets both run the in-house F6922 with about 40 hours of reserve, both are 200m with a screw-down crown and a 120-click unidirectional bezel, and both are 47mm lug-to-lug on 22mm lugs. The Kamasu has sapphire; the Mako II has mineral glass.

Is the Orient Kamasu worth the extra money over the Mako II?

If it will be your daily watch for years, yes - sapphire is 9 on the Mohs scale against about 5.5 for mineral, and everyday grit sits at roughly 7, so only one of the two still looks new after a few years. If you rotate several watches, the Mako II saves real money for a difference you may never see.

Is the Orient Mako II a real dive watch?

Orient publishes a 200m rating, a screw-down crown and a 120-click unidirectional bezel for it, which is dive-watch hardware in every practical sense. For scuba use look for the regulated ISO 6425 'diver's' marking, which is a separate, tested certification.

Is the Orient Ray II the same watch as the Mako II?

Dimensionally, yes. Orient publishes identical figures for both: F6922, about 40 hours, mineral crystal, 41.5mm, 47mm lug-to-lug, 13mm thick, 22mm lugs, 200m and a screw-down crown. The dial and hands differ; nothing else does.

Does the Orient Kamasu fit a small wrist?

It is 41.88mm across with a 47mm lug span, which suits wrists from roughly 6.75 inches up. Lug-to-lug is the number that matters: if the flat of your wrist is narrower than 47mm the watch will overhang, whatever the diameter says.

Kamasu or Seiko 5 Sports?

The Kamasu wins on specification - sapphire, a 200m rating and a screw-down crown against Hardlex and 10 bar. The Seiko wins on price, on resale and on the size of the service network. Both run an in-house Japanese caliber with published figures.

Sources

  • Orient Watch USA — Kamasu RA-AA0003R39B specificationOrient's published sheet for the Kamasu: caliber F6922 automatic, hand-winding, hacking; approximately 40 hours reserve; sapphire crystal; 41.88mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 12.8mm thick, 22mm lugs; 200m; screw-down crown; 120-click unidirectional bezel; three-year warranty (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — Mako II FAA02009D9 specificationOrient's published sheet for the Mako II: caliber F6922, approximately 40 hours reserve, MINERAL crystal, 41.5mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 13mm thick, 22mm lugs, 200m, screw-down crown, 120-click unidirectional bezel (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — AA02 diver (Ray II) FAA02008D9 specificationOrient publishes the SAME figures for the Ray II as for the Mako II: caliber F6922, approximately 40 hours, mineral crystal, 41.5mm without crown, 47mm lug-to-lug, 13mm thick, 22mm lugs, 200m, screw-down crown, 120-click unidirectional bezel — the two differ in dial and hands, not dimensions (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — Kanno RA-AA0913L19B specificationOrient's published sheet for the Kanno: caliber F6922, approximately 40 hours reserve, mineral crystal, 44mm diameter, 50.5mm lug-to-lug, 12.9mm thick, 22mm lugs, 200m, screw-down crown, 120-click unidirectional bezel (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Orient — About Orient (brand history)Orient's own history page: the company began in 1950 as Tama Keiki Co., Ltd., was renamed Orient Watch Co., Ltd. in 1951, and 'In 2017, Orient Watch Co., Ltd. merged with Seiko Epson Corporation' — Seiko Epson now 'operates the Orient Star and Orient brands, handling everything from planning to manufacturing' (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Seiko - 5 Sports SRPD65 product specificationSeiko's own listing for the SRPD65: caliber 4R36, automatic with manual winding, approx. 41h reserve, 42.5mm diameter, 13.4mm thick, 46.0mm lug-to-lug, Hardlex, LumiBrite on hands and index(es), a unidirectional rotating bezel and a see-through screw case back. Water resistance is stated as '10 bar' - NOT a diver's rating - and no screw-down crown is listed (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — WikipediaThe hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watchesThe standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)

Keep reading