Dial & Lume

Seiko Turtle vs Orient Kamasu

The two default sub-$500 dive automatics, head to head. One has the certification, the other has the lower price — and which matters depends entirely on whether you actually dive.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

These are the two watches that dominate every “first proper dive watch” conversation, and they come from companies inside the same corporate group — Orient is owned by Seiko Epson. They cost broadly similar money, both state 200m water resistance, and both use their maker’s own in-house automatic movement with hacking and hand-winding.

On paper the Kamasu wins on price. It typically costs less for the same 200m claim, the same in-house-movement argument and a sapphire crystal. The crystal used to be the bigger half of that case: the mainstream Turtle uses Seiko’s Hardlex mineral glass, which resists shattering well and picks up hairlines readily. That is no longer a safe assumption. Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal with a magnifier for the SRPF77 we price at the top of this page, and for every other Turtle reference we found live on Amazon on 30 September 2026. Check the crystal line for the exact reference you are buying; on the one we checked, the two watches are level on glass and the Kamasu’s win is the price.

So why does anyone buy the Turtle? Because of one thing the Kamasu cannot offer at any price: an ISO 6425 “DIVER’S” marking, which means every individual watch has been tested rather than a production sample. That is the whole comparison, and which side of it you should be on depends on a single question about how you will actually use the watch.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Best specification
$285.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPF77

Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPF77

The step-up diver when you want an ISO-grade Seiko tool watch. This cushion-case Turtle pairs the 4R36 movement with Seiko's published 200m diver's case, a screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the hands, indexes and bezel — a proper desk-diver you could actually dive with, for well under a grand. The Save the Ocean execution adds the one thing the Turtle was always criticised for lacking: Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal for it, not Hardlex.

Best if you actually dive
$625.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Orient Mako II Diver

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Best cheaper alternative
$240.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Best budget alternative
$336.57 · View on Amazon

$369.999% off

Price as of October 20, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best specification

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal at a price where mineral is the norm
  • True 200m rating with a screw-down crown and solid bracelet
  • In-house F6922 movement that both hacks and hand-winds

Trade-offs

  • The in-house movement isn't chronometer-accurate
  • Roughly 42mm with a broad case — wears large on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.88 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Kamasu's real upgrade over the Mako II is the sapphire crystal — both share the same F6922 movement, so both already hack and hand-wind. (The Orient diver that does neither is the original Mako I, on the older 46943 caliber.)

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best if you actually dive

Seiko Prospex Turtle SRPF77

The step-up diver when you want an ISO-grade Seiko tool watch. This cushion-case Turtle pairs the 4R36 movement with Seiko's published 200m diver's case, a screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the hands, indexes and bezel — a proper desk-diver you could actually dive with, for well under a grand. The Save the Ocean execution adds the one thing the Turtle was always criticised for lacking: Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal for it, not Hardlex.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's-rated cushion case with a screw-down crown and unidirectional bezel
  • Sapphire crystal with a magnifier and an anti-reflective inner coating, on Seiko's own spec sheet
  • In-house 4R36 with day-date, hacking, hand-winding and LumiBrite on hands, indexes and bezel

Trade-offs

  • Seiko publishes 45.0mm across and 47.7mm lug-to-lug — it dominates a smaller wrist
  • Comes on a silicone band rather than the steel bracelet some Turtle references ship with
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy+45 / -35 sec/day
Power reserve41 hours
Case size45 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire with magnifier
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The SRPF77 is the Save the Ocean 'Manta Ray' Turtle: a patterned blue dial on silicone, with the cushion case, the 4R36 and the 200m diver's rating that are constant across the line. Seiko rotates the reference numbers and the dial colors — the SRP775 that used to sit here is no longer listed — and this one differs from the mainstream Turtle on exactly one specification line: Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal with a magnifier for it rather than Hardlex. Every Turtle reference we could find live on Amazon on 30 September 2026 was that same sapphire execution. It is a true dive-rated Prospex, not a diver-styled everyday watch.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best cheaper alternative

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver at a genuinely low price
  • In-house Orient F6922 movement, hacking and hand-winding
  • A modern classic with a huge owner base

Trade-offs

  • Mineral crystal, not sapphire — the Kamasu fixes exactly this
  • Roughly 41mm with a broad case — big on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.5 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral (Hardlex-class)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Mako II versus Kamasu decision comes down to one thing: the crystal. Both use the same F6922 (both hack and hand-wind), so you're really deciding whether sapphire is worth the small step up from mineral.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best budget alternative

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Strengths

  • In-house Seiko 4R36 movement with hacking and hand-winding
  • Day-date, 100m water resistance and a see-through caseback onto the movement
  • The most cross-shopped, best-supported budget automatic there is

Trade-offs

  • The 4R36 is reliable, not accurate to chronometer standards
  • Hardlex crystal scratches more easily than sapphire
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy+45 / -35 sec/day
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.5 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalHardlex mineral
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line is the modern heir to the original Seiko 5: an honest, serviceable automatic with real heritage, which is exactly why it anchors so many of our lists. Seiko sells the SRPD65 head on more than one band; the listing linked here is the K4 variant, and the case, caliber and crystal figures above are Seiko's own for the reference rather than for a particular band.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The question that decides it

Are you going to scuba dive with this watch?

If yes — genuinely yes, with tanks, not snorkeling — buy the Turtle. ISO 6425 is the standard that exists precisely for this use case, and the individual-unit testing it requires is not a marketing distinction. Pay the price difference for it.

If no — and for the overwhelming majority of buyers the answer is no — buy the Kamasu. For swimming, snorkeling, showering and everything else a watch encounters, a stated 200m rating with a screw-down crown is entirely sufficient, and you are not paying for a certification you will never use.

Everything below is detail on that decision.

Crystal: check the reference, not the reputation

Sapphire versus Hardlex is the most consequential difference in daily ownership when it exists. Sapphire is second only to diamond in hardness among common materials and effectively does not scratch under ordinary use. Seiko’s Hardlex is a hardened mineral glass: excellent at resisting shattering, considerably worse at resisting scratches. On a dive watch — a category defined by being worn while doing things — that compounds into a constellation of fine marks two or three years in.

Which is why the Turtle’s long-standing weakness here needs re-checking rather than repeating. Seiko publishes sapphire crystal with magnifier for the SRPF77 priced above, and for the SRPE05 and SRPK01 — the only other Turtle references we found live on Amazon on 30 September 2026. Against those, the Kamasu no longer wins the crystal; it ties and undercuts on price. Against a Hardlex Turtle bought elsewhere, the old argument stands in full. The spec table on each product page names the reference we read and the date we read it, which is the only way to tell the two cases apart.

Certification: the Turtle’s clear win

ISO 6425 requires a minimum 100m rating, a unidirectional or lockable elapsed-time bezel, legibility in darkness at 25cm, resistance to magnetism and shock, and testing of every individual watch rather than a sample from the line.

The Kamasu states 200m. That is a genuine engineering claim from a real manufacturer with its own factories, and it is not the same thing as a certification. The gap is not about how deep each watch can physically go — it is about whether the specific unit on your wrist was tested. Our water resistance guide sets out what each standard actually covers.

Movements: a close-run thing

Seiko’s 4R36 is documented publicly: automatic with hand-winding and hacking, 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, roughly 41 hours of reserve, and a stated accuracy of about -35 to +45 seconds a day worn on the wrist. That published transparency is worth something, and Seiko is unusual in providing it.

Orient’s current diver caliber is also in-house and also hacks and hand-winds — features earlier Orient divers famously lacked, which is precisely why the Kamasu replaced the Mako in most recommendations. Orient publishes the Kamasu’s dimensions in full (41.88mm across, 47mm lug-to-lug, 12.8mm thick) but states no accuracy figure for the F6922, where Seiko does for the 4R36 — which is why that one row in our Kamasu spec table reads “Not published” rather than carrying a number we could not verify. Our best Orient watches roundup collects what Orient does and does not publish across the range.

In practice both are ordinary, reliable, serviceable workhorses. Neither is a reason to choose one watch over the other.

Case shape: taste, and it is a big taste

The Turtle’s cushion case is the most distinctive thing about it. It descends from Seiko’s 1970s divers, it is instantly recognizable, and — usefully — it wears smaller than its diameter suggests, because the rounded case pulls the lugs inward and shortens the lug-to-lug span that actually decides fit.

The Kamasu uses a conventional round case. It is cleaner, more restrained and less interesting. If you want a watch with character, that point goes to the Turtle decisively. If you want something that disappears under a cuff, the Kamasu is easier to live with.

Both are thick. Neither suits a genuinely small wrist — our small-wrist guide covers what does.

Bracelets: both are the weak point

Neither watch has a bracelet that matches the rest of it. The Kamasu’s is the more criticized of the two — hollow end links and a stamped clasp — but Seiko’s bracelets in this range have never been a strong point either.

The practical answer is the same for both: this is the cheapest part of the watch to improve. An aftermarket bracelet or a good rubber strap transforms either watch for a modest sum, and a great many owners of both do exactly that.

Price and value

The Kamasu has historically undercut the Turtle, sometimes substantially. Prices move, which is why every figure on this page comes from a live daily check rather than a number typed into the text — look at the cards above rather than trusting any claim about which is cheaper today.

If the gap is small, the argument shifts toward the Turtle, because certification and case character start to look worth a modest premium. If the gap is wide, the Kamasu becomes very hard to argue against for anyone not diving.

The alternatives, briefly

Two other watches deserve mention because they change the calculation for some buyers. The Orient Mako II is the same broad proposition as the Kamasu for less money, with a mineral crystal rather than sapphire — the value play if the budget is tight. The Seiko 5 SRPD65 shares the Turtle’s movement family in a lighter, cheaper, non-certified case, and is the right answer if you want the Seiko diver look without the dive credentials.

And if pure specification is what you are chasing, the NH35 micro-brand divers beat both of these on paper — sapphire, ceramic bezels, higher stated ratings — while giving up the in-house movement, the service network and the original design. Our full dive watch guide covers that whole field.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Orient Kamasu better than the Seiko Turtle?

On price, yes — it usually costs less for the same 200m claim, the same in-house movement argument and a sapphire crystal. The crystal used to be the bigger half of that case, but Seiko publishes sapphire for the SRPF77 and every other Turtle reference live on Amazon on 30 September 2026, so against those it is a tie. What the Kamasu lacks is the ISO 6425 DIVER'S certification and the cushion-case character. For anyone not actually scuba diving, the Kamasu is the better buy.

Does the Seiko Turtle have a sapphire crystal?

It depends on the reference. Mainstream Turtles use Seiko's Hardlex mineral glass, which resists shattering well but scratches far more readily than sapphire. The SRPF77 priced on this page is not one of them: Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal with a magnifier for it, as it does for the SRPE05 and SRPK01. Those were the only Turtle references live on Amazon on 30 September 2026, so check the crystal line for the exact reference in front of you.

Is the Orient Kamasu ISO 6425 certified?

No. It states 200m water resistance, which is a genuine engineering claim from a real manufacturer, but it does not carry the DIVER'S marking. ISO 6425 requires every individual watch to be tested along with bezel, legibility, shock and magnetism requirements.

Which is better for swimming, the Turtle or the Kamasu?

Either — both are entirely sufficient. A stated 200m rating with a screw-down crown covers swimming, snorkeling and surface water sports comfortably. The certification difference only becomes meaningful for actual scuba diving.

Which wears better on a smaller wrist?

The Turtle, counter-intuitively. Its cushion case pulls the lugs inward and downward, shortening the lug-to-lug span that actually decides fit. Both watches are thick, though, and neither is a good choice for a genuinely small wrist.

Do the Turtle and Kamasu both hand-wind and hack?

Yes, both. Seiko's 4R36 and Orient's current diver caliber each stop the seconds hand when you pull the crown and let you wind at the crown rather than shaking a stopped watch. Earlier Orient divers lacked both features, which is why the Kamasu superseded them.

Sources

Keep reading