Dial & Lume

Best Citizen Automatic Watches

Five mechanical Citizens you can actually buy, ranked on the sheets Citizen publishes itself - and the one check to make first, because most watches sold under Citizen's name are not automatics at all.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Citizen is the Japanese brand people forget makes mechanical watches. Search for a Citizen automatic and most of what comes back is Eco-Drive, Citizen’s light-powered movement, which it has been building since 1976 and which is not an automatic in any sense. The mechanical range is small, it gets a fraction of the attention Seiko’s does, and that inattention is the whole reason it is worth a look.

Here is what untangles it. Inside Citizen’s automatic range the movement is close to a constant. The 8200, 8210 and 8204 all run at 21,600 beats per hour, and Citizen lists about 42 hours of reserve for each. You are not choosing a movement. You are choosing a water-resistance rating, a case width and a bracelet, and Citizen prints all three. It also fits sapphire to every reference on this page it still documents — at the same money, every pick in our Seiko roundup uses mineral glass.

How we picked, in the order we applied it:

  1. Mechanical only. A named Citizen automatic caliber on Citizen’s page or the listing. Eco-Drive and quartz references are out, however they are styled.
  2. Buyable today. A live Amazon listing with a price and stock on the date in each spec table. Citizen’s better-specified Promaster mechanical diver failed this test, and is covered below rather than listed with a dead button.
  3. The exact reference in the listing title. One live Promaster listing named no reference number, so its specs could not be matched to a Citizen sheet. We left it out.
  4. Citizen’s numbers, or none. Every specification comes from Citizen’s own page for that reference or its own caliber manual. Where Citizen publishes nothing, the table says “Not published”. One pick per watch, not one per dial color.

Five picks below, from a little over $200 to around $500. We have not handled any of these watches; this is spec-reading and buyer-fit reasoning, set out on our methodology page. Prices come from a live daily check, not from anything typed into this page.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)

Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)

The integrated-bracelet sports watch look, at a fraction of the watches that started the trend. A sunburst dial, a slim case and a comfortable bracelet make the Tsuyosa the affordable way to scratch that particular itch — with Citizen's own automatic movement inside.

Best overall
$356.25 · View on Amazon

$495.0028% off

Price as of November 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Best dive watch
$549.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen's mechanical diver, and the most overlooked serious tool watch under $300. Citizen is best known for solar quartz, which is exactly why its automatic divers stay cheap while the Seiko equivalents climb.

Best on a budget
$255.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

The same Tsuyosa, three millimeters narrower. Citizen publishes the identical caliber 8210, sapphire crystal, 50m rating, 42-hour reserve and hack feature for the 37mm NJ0200 as for the 40mm NJ0150 - the only line that changes on its spec sheet is the case width. If integrated-bracelet watches tend to look large on you, this is the Tsuyosa to buy.

Best for a smaller wrist
$356.25 · View on Amazon

$396.0010% off

Price as of November 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)

The integrated-bracelet sports watch look, at a fraction of the watches that started the trend. A sunburst dial, a slim case and a comfortable bracelet make the Tsuyosa the affordable way to scratch that particular itch — with Citizen's own automatic movement inside.

Strengths

  • On-trend integrated bracelet and sunburst dial
  • Citizen in-house automatic movement
  • Wears slim and comfortable for an everyday watch

Trade-offs

  • 50m water resistance — splash-proof, not a swimmer
  • Movement is reliable rather than high-accuracy
MovementCitizen 8210 (Miyota-based, automatic)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size40 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Tsuyosa rode the integrated-bracelet wave and became a genuine hit by delivering the silhouette honestly and cheaply. One caveat worth knowing: the earliest units did not hack, while current production does — Citizen doesn't publish a daily accuracy figure either way.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best dive watch

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's marking on the dial - four times the Tsuyosa's 50m
  • Day-date and luminous hands and markers, on a steel bracelet rather than a strap
  • 41mm is the most wearable case width in Citizen's mechanical dive range

Trade-offs

  • Citizen does not name the caliber on this listing, and publishes no crystal, thickness or power-reserve figure for it
  • A rotating dive bezel on every outfit, which is a lot of watch for a desk week
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size41 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The Sport Automatic NH7530-52M that used to sit here is still sold on Citizen's own site but has no live Amazon listing, so it was replaced rather than parked. This is the Citizen automatic that honours the same brief - it swims and it takes any strap - and it does it on a 200m diver's marking rather than the NH7530's 100m. It is a different reference from the budget Promaster Dive on this site: that one is the NY0129-07L on a polyurethane strap, this one is the bracelet version with the amber dial.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best on a budget

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic (Day-Date)

Citizen's mechanical diver, and the most overlooked serious tool watch under $300. Citizen is best known for solar quartz, which is exactly why its automatic divers stay cheap while the Seiko equivalents climb.

Strengths

  • Automatic movement from one of the big three Japanese makers
  • Day-date and proper dive-watch proportions
  • Under-the-radar pricing versus the Seiko equivalents

Trade-offs

  • Citizen does not publish caliber specs on this listing
  • Polyurethane strap will be the first thing you replace
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size41 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Citizen's Promaster line is its tool-watch range. The automatic versions are a small part of it, which is why they get so much less attention than the Eco-Drive models.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best for a smaller wrist

Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

The same Tsuyosa, three millimeters narrower. Citizen publishes the identical caliber 8210, sapphire crystal, 50m rating, 42-hour reserve and hack feature for the 37mm NJ0200 as for the 40mm NJ0150 - the only line that changes on its spec sheet is the case width. If integrated-bracelet watches tend to look large on you, this is the Tsuyosa to buy.

Strengths

  • Same 8210 caliber, sapphire crystal and 42-hour reserve Citizen lists for the 40mm Tsuyosa
  • 37mm case width - the smallest Citizen automatic we could find live on Amazon
  • Hack feature listed on Citizen's own page for this reference

Trade-offs

  • 50m rating - fine for rain and a shower, not for regular swimming
  • Integrated bracelet, so no strap changes, and Citizen publishes no thickness or lug-to-lug to size it from
  • Fewer dial colors live than the 40mm: three other 37mm listings showed as unavailable on our September 22, 2026 check
MovementCitizen 8210 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size37 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Citizen's own spec pages for the 37mm NJ0200-50M and the 40mm NJ0150-56E differ in exactly one line: case width. Caliber, crystal, water resistance, power reserve and the hack feature are identical, so choose between them on your wrist rather than on the movement.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Check this first: automatic or Eco-Drive?

This is the mistake the Citizen catalog is built to invite, so it comes before anything else. Citizen describes Eco-Drive as a watch that converts light, natural or artificial, into energy stored in a power cell, and says a fully powered one runs for up to six months in complete darkness. It is Citizen’s answer to the battery in a quartz watch. It does not run on a mainspring, and it has nothing to do with the mechanical watches on this page.

The automatics are the other half of the catalog. Citizen’s own wording on every automatic page we read is the same: a mechanical movement, powered by the release of a wound spring, with an oscillating weight that winds that spring as your arm moves. On a listing, the quick test is the title. “Automatic” plus a caliber number in the 8200s or 9000s means mechanical; “Eco-Drive” means it is not. When a title says neither, our guide to telling whether a watch is automatic has the fuller set of checks.

Which should you buy? That is a question about what you want the watch to do. An Eco-Drive is the better tool if you want to pick it up after a month in a drawer and find it running on time. An automatic is the better choice if the mechanism is the point — if you want a watch that runs on a spring you can wind rather than on a cell. Our automatic vs quartz guide sets out that trade in full, and our winders for Citizen page covers the accessory side of the same split — a Citizen automatic can use a winder, an Eco-Drive cannot. Everything below assumes you have already chosen mechanical.

Citizen’s automatic calibers, in one paragraph each

8210 is the date-only movement in the Tsuyosa. Citizen’s own manual for the 8200 and 8210 gives 21,600 oscillations per hour and recommends winding the crown five to ten times to start the watch, and Citizen’s current Tsuyosa pages list a 42-hour power reserve and a hack feature. What Citizen does not publish for it, anywhere we could find, is a daily accuracy figure.

8200 is the 8210’s sibling with a day display added — the shared manual lists the day of week as “8200 only”. Citizen used it in the Sport Automatic NH7530, which it still sells on its own site but which no longer has a live Amazon listing, so nothing on this page runs one today.

8204 is the dive-watch caliber, used in the NY0 Promaster series. It is the one Citizen documents properly: its own 8203/8204 manual gives an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds, about 42 hours fully wound, a manual-winding function and a second-hand stop. Citizen is careful to say that figure is static accuracy at normal temperature, and that a mechanical watch drifts from it with how fully the mainspring is wound, the position it sits in, and temperature, magnetism and shock. For comparison, Seiko publishes +45 to -35 seconds a day for its 4R36 under its own stated conditions, so the two are windows of the same class rather than a win for either.

9051 is the step up, and the one we could not put on this page. Citizen publishes -10 to +20 seconds a day, a 42-hour reserve and a magnetic-resistance rating it calls “Antimagnetic 16000” for the NB6021 Promaster, in a 41mm Super Titanium case rated to 200m. The Amazon listings we found for that line all returned “Currently unavailable” on our check.

That gap is the whole subject of Seiko Prospex vs Citizen Promaster: Citizen’s best-documented mechanical divers are not the ones Amazon sells, while Seiko publishes a full sheet for every Prospex reference it lists. If you are weighing a Promaster against the obvious Japanese alternative, that is the page to read next.

All of this comes out of the same organization as Miyota. Citizen built a movement factory in the town of Miyota, in Nagano, in 1959 and launched the MIYOTA brand in 1980, and Miyota says its movements are now used in millions of watches — several of them on this site. Our guide to who makes automatic movements covers where Citizen sits in that picture.

The same organization also owns Bulova, which Citizen bought in January 2008 — so a Bulova automatic is a Citizen-family movement under an American brand name, usually with the caliber left unnamed. If you are weighing the two, our Bulova roundup is the reference-by-reference version, and one of its picks is the only watch in this registry whose maker publishes the dial color — see the blue-dial roundup, where the 37mm Tsuyosa also appears.

The three specifications that actually sort this page

1. Water resistance, which Citizen labels in plain words

Citizen does something useful here that most makers do not: it prints what each rating is for next to the number. On its own pages the two Tsuyosas read WR50 — Still Water Swimming, while the discontinued Fugu read 200M — Scuba Diving. That is most of the ranking on one line. The two Promaster Dive automatics sit between them, and they are the reason the Tsuyosa, famous as it is, is not our pick if one watch has to go everywhere: the bracelet Promaster carries AUTOMATIC DIVER’S 200m printed on the dial itself.

The one thing no Citizen automatic on sale today carries is Citizen’s own statement that it is ISO compliant with a screw-down crown. Citizen printed that sentence for the Fugu, and the Fugu has gone. The diver’s standard, ISO 6425, requires a minimum 100m rating, a unidirectional or lockable timing bezel, legibility in the dark and testing of every individual watch rather than a sample, so that sentence is the difference between a dive watch and a watch that looks like one — which is why the bracelet Promaster’s DIVER’S 200m dial marking, a regulated claim in its own right, is the strongest evidence left on this page. Our water resistance guide has the full table of what each marking permits.

2. The crystal, which is Citizen’s real advantage

Citizen lists sapphire on the Tsuyosa in both sizes, and listed it on the Fugu. At the same prices Seiko fits Hardlex, its hardened mineral glass, to the 5 Sports and the Prospex divers — our best Seiko automatic watches roundup shows it on every pick. Sapphire sits at 9 on the Mohs hardness scale against about 5.5 for glass, and the grit in ordinary dust is largely quartz at 7: hard enough to mark mineral, not hard enough to mark sapphire. Over years of desk edges and door frames, that is a visible difference.

It is not free of trade-offs. Mineral glass tolerates a sharp knock better, which is part of why Seiko still fits it to tool watches, and our crystal comparison covers both directions. The one exception on this page is the budget Promaster, for which Citizen no longer publishes anything, so its crystal row reads “Not published”.

3. Case width, and the bracelet you are buying into

Citizen publishes a case width for every reference it documents here — 37mm, 40mm, 42mm and 44mm, plus the 41mm the budget Promaster’s Amazon listing states — and publishes no case thickness or lug-to-lug for any of them. Width alone is a poor guide to fit, because lug-to-lug decides whether a watch overhangs your wrist; our watch size guide explains how to measure your own ceiling, and our 40mm roundup sits in the middle of this range.

The bracelet matters as much as the width. The Tsuyosa’s is integrated: it continues the case line with no conventional lugs, which is the look people buy it for, and it means you can never fit a leather strap or a NATO. The Promaster Dive automatics have conventional lugs, so the whole strap aftermarket is open to them. If you like changing straps, that decides it before anything else does.

The budget pick, and what we could not confirm

The NY0129-07L Promaster is the cheapest Citizen automatic we could find live on Amazon, and it is a genuine Citizen dive-style automatic on a polyurethane strap. It is also the least documented watch on this page. Citizen no longer carries the reference on its US site, so the only specification we can stand behind is the 41mm the Amazon listing states. It belongs to the NY0 family whose manual covers calibers 8203 and 8204 — but that manual covers two calibers, so it cannot tell us which one is inside this watch, and its spec table below says “Not published” on the rows Citizen will not confirm.

Buy it if the price is the priority and you are comfortable with that. If you want a Citizen diver with a regulated marking you can hold it to, the bracelet Promaster is the one — and if the budget is firm, our dive watches under $200 shows what the rest of the market offers with its numbers published.

What is not on this page, and why

The NB6021 Promaster and its 9051 caliber, for the stock reason above. It is the Citizen automatic we would most like to recommend on paper, and it belongs on this list the day a live listing exists. Series 8, the line above it, did not appear in our Amazon search at all.

The Disney Tsuyosa (the Mickey Mouse NJ0156-50L and its Minnie sibling) is live, and Citizen’s page for it lists the standard 40mm Tsuyosa specification — 8210, sapphire, 50m, 42 hours, hack feature — under a licensed dial. Buy it for the dial; it is the same watch as our top pick. The same is true of the Tsuyosa’s many dial colors: Citizen’s pages for different NJ0150 references differ only in the dial, so choose on color and price.

If your question is really Citizen against the other Japanese makers rather than Citizen against itself, the Seiko vs Orient vs Citizen comparison is the page you want, the Seiko 5 Sports vs Citizen Tsuyosa head-to-head takes it down to the two watches most often cross-shopped, and best Orient watches is the equivalent of this page for the brand that competes with Citizen hardest on sapphire.

If you are weighing a Promaster against the cheapest mechanical diver on the market, Invicta Pro Diver vs Citizen Promaster sets Citizen’s published caliber, rate and reserve against a movement whose maker names it only “IM-A-005”.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Citizen automatic watch?

For most buyers, the 40mm Tsuyosa: caliber 8210, sapphire, a 42-hour reserve and a hack feature on Citizen's own page, in the integrated-bracelet design Citizen is known for. If the watch has to go swimming or wear other straps, the Promaster Dive Automatic on the bracelet adds a 200m diver's marking and conventional lugs, and it is our dive pick now that the Fugu has gone.

Are Citizen automatic watches good?

Yes. Citizen builds its own automatic calibers, lists about 42 hours of reserve on each one here, and fits sapphire to both Tsuyosa references it documents. The gap is accuracy: Citizen publishes a daily-rate window only for the 8204 (-20 to +40 seconds) and the 9051 (-10 to +20), and none for the 8200 or 8210 - and it names no caliber at all on either of the Promaster Dive Automatic listings, which is why their rows read 'Not published'.

Citizen automatic or Eco-Drive: which should I buy?

They are different kinds of watch. Eco-Drive is Citizen's light-powered movement: Citizen says a fully powered one runs up to six months in darkness, with no battery to replace. An automatic runs on a mainspring wound by your arm and stops after about two days off the wrist. Buy Eco-Drive for grab-and-go accuracy; buy automatic if you want the mechanism.

Do Citizen automatic watches hack and hand-wind?

The ones on this page do, on Citizen's own documents. Citizen lists a hack feature on both its Tsuyosa pages, its 8200/8210 manual tells you to wind the crown to start the watch, and its 8203/8204 manual lists a manual-winding function and a second-hand stop for the 8204.

How accurate is a Citizen automatic watch?

Citizen publishes -20 to +40 seconds a day for the 8204 in its dive watches and -10 to +20 for the 9051, both as static accuracy at normal temperature. It publishes no figure for the 8200 or 8210. Real-world rate depends on how fully the watch is wound, how it sits overnight, and temperature - Citizen says so in the manual.

What is the best Citizen automatic dive watch?

Of the ones you can buy, the 41mm bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic: the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m, which is a regulated claim, and it takes conventional straps. The best-specified Citizen automatic diver was the NY0154-51L 'Fugu' - ISO compliant with a screw-down crown, 200m, sapphire, caliber 8204 on Citizen's own page - but as of October 2026 it has no live Amazon listing. The titanium NB6021 is better specified again on paper and has not been purchasable on any of our checks.

What happened to the Citizen Promaster Fugu?

It is off Amazon. Citizen still publishes the NY0154-51L specification on its own site, so nothing we have written about that watch has changed, but every Amazon listing for it now returns 'currently unavailable' and we do not keep buy links to watches you cannot buy. Our current Citizen dive pick is the 41mm bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic, which carries the regulated DIVER'S 200m dial marking; the trade is that Citizen names no caliber on that listing, so its accuracy and reserve rows read 'Not published'.

Which Citizen automatic is best for a small wrist?

The 37mm Tsuyosa, NJ0200-50M. Citizen publishes the same caliber, crystal, water resistance and reserve for it as for the 40mm model - only the case width changes. Citizen publishes no lug-to-lug for either, so measure your wrist before you buy; our small-wrist roundup covers the wider field under 38mm.

Sources

  • Citizen - Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A product specification — Citizen's own listing for the Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A: caliber 8210 automatic, a 40mm case width, a sapphire crystal, WR50 ('Still Water Swimming'), and '42 Hour Power Reserve' and 'Hack Feature' in its movement-functions list. Citizen publishes no accuracy figure, case thickness or lug-to-lug distance for this reference (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Tsuyosa 37mm NJ0200-50M product specification — Citizen's own listing for the 37mm Tsuyosa from the NJ020 series: caliber 8210 automatic, a 37mm case width, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR50, a 42-hour power reserve and a hack feature - the same caliber, crystal, rating and reserve Citizen lists for the 40mm NJ0150 (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Amazon - Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm (stainless steel bracelet) listing — The retail listing for the bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic: 'Citizen Men's Promaster Dive Automatic 3-Hand Stainless Steel Watch, Day Date, Luminous, 41mm', with 'AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m' printed on the dial in the listing image. Citizen does not name the caliber on the listing and publishes no crystal, thickness, lug width or power-reserve figure for the reference, so those rows read 'Not published'. This listing replaced the Sport Automatic NH7530-52M on 30 September 2026: Citizen still sells that reference on its own site, but its Amazon listing returned 'Currently unavailable.' with no offer behind it (accessed 2026-09-30)
  • Citizen - Promaster Dive Automatic NY0154-51L product specification — Citizen's own listing for the reimagined 1989 Promaster Fugu: caliber 8204 automatic with day-date, a 3-piece 44mm case, 20mm lugs, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, luminous hands and markers, a serrated rotating bezel, and 'ISO compliant with a screw-down crown and water resistant to 200 meters' (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Promaster Dive Automatic NB6021-17E product specification — Citizen's own listing for the higher-grade Promaster mechanical diver: caliber 9051 automatic, a 41mm Super Titanium case, sapphire, 200m ('Scuba Diving'), a 42-hour power reserve, 'Antimagnetic 16000' and a stated -10 to +20 seconds a day (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Tsuyosa Mickey Mouse NJ0156-50L product specification — Citizen's own listing for the Disney Tsuyosa: caliber 8210 automatic, a 40mm case width, sapphire, WR50, a 42-hour power reserve and a hack feature - the standard 40mm Tsuyosa specification under a licensed dial (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Caliber 8203/8204 instruction manual (NY0 series, PDF) — Citizen's own manual for the NY0 series: the 8204 has an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds (the 8203 -10 to +20), about 42 hours when fully wound, 21,600 beats per hour, a manual winding function and a second-hand stop function (8204 only). Citizen notes the stated accuracy is static accuracy at normal temperature and varies with mainspring wind, position and environment (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Calibers 8200 / 8210 instruction manual (PDF) — Citizen's own manual for calibers 8200 and 8210: 21,600 oscillations per hour, automatic winding, a quick-set date, and a day of week on the 8200 only. Citizen recommends winding the crown manually 5 to 10 times to start the watch. The manual states no daily accuracy figure (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Eco-Drive technology — Citizen's own account of Eco-Drive: introduced in 1976, it converts any light into energy stored in a power cell, so a fully powered watch runs for up to six months in darkness (up to seven years on select Power Save models) with no battery replacement - Citizen's answer to the battery-powered quartz watch, not a mechanical movement (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • MIYOTA — About (Citizen Watch movement division) — Miyota's own account of itself: Citizen Watch built a movement factory in the town of Miyota, Nagano, in 1959; the MIYOTA brand launched in 1980, and its movements are used in millions of watches (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading