Dial & Lume

Who Actually Makes Automatic Watch Movements

A handful of companies supply almost the entire industry. Knowing which caliber is inside a watch tells you more about it than the name on the dial does.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

There are thousands of watch brands and there are not thousands of movement makers. Building an automatic caliber is a serious industrial undertaking, so almost every watch under about $2,000 contains a movement from one of a handful of companies — including a great many watches whose brands imply otherwise.

That is useful information rather than a scandal. Once you know which caliber is inside a watch, you know its specification, its likely accuracy, and whether anyone can repair it. Those are the three questions the brand name usually cannot answer.

Seiko — the 4R and NH families

The most widely used automatic architecture in affordable watches, and the only one that appears under two different names.

Seiko fits the 4R35 and 4R36 to its own watches and publishes their specification openly: automatic with hand winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, roughly 41 hours of power reserve, and an accuracy specification of about −35 to +45 seconds a day worn on the wrist. The 4R36 adds a day wheel; the 4R35 is date only.

The same design is sold to other brands through Seiko Instruments as the NH35 and NH36. That is why a $150 micro-brand diver and a Seiko 5 can share an engine — and why the difference between them is everything except the engine. Our NH35 versus 4R36 comparison goes through what actually separates them, which is mostly regulation and support.

Miyota — Citizen’s movement division

Citizen built a movement factory in the town of Miyota in Nagano in 1959, and launched the MIYOTA brand in 1980. By its own account its movements are used in millions of watches, and it is the second name you will meet constantly on affordable automatic listings.

The Miyota 9015 is the one enthusiasts care about, and Miyota publishes it in full: 24 jewels, 28,800 vibrations per hour, approximately 42 hours of running time, 3.90mm high, accuracy of −10 to +30 seconds a day, with a stop-second device and both automatic and hand winding.

Two things follow from those numbers. The higher beat rate gives a visibly smoother seconds sweep than the 21,600 vph Seiko calibers, and the 3.90mm height lets a brand build a genuinely thin watch. Our NH35 versus 9015 comparison covers the whole trade — the Seiko is tougher and cheaper to replace, the Miyota is finer.

ETA and Sellita — the Swiss supply

ETA

ETA SA of Grenchen is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Swatch Group and, historically, the company that supplied movement blanks to essentially the entire Swiss watch industry. Its vertical control over movement components made it enormously powerful.

In 2002 Swatch Group announced ETA would stop supplying non-Group competitors. Swiss regulators found that for movement blanks priced up to about $250 there were no real alternatives, and that the decision breached Swiss cartel law. ETA was ordered to keep supplying, and in 2012 authorities approved a phased reduction instead — 30% by 2015, 50% by 2017, 70% by 2019.

Sellita

That regulatory story is why Sellita matters. Based in La Chaux-de-Fonds and specializing in the assembly of Swiss Made automatic mechanical movements, Sellita moved from assembling for others to supplying its own SW-series calibers, which now appear across the independent Swiss industry.

Neither company’s movements appear in the price band this site covers, which is worth saying plainly: below about $700 you are almost always looking at a Japanese or Chinese caliber. The Swiss names are here because the question “who makes movements” is not answerable without them.

Sea-Gull, Hangzhou and the Chinese calibers

China builds movements at enormous volume, and the good ones are genuinely good. The best known is Sea-Gull’s ST1901, a hand-wound column-wheel chronograph with a long history that is the reason an affordable mechanical chronograph exists at all — every one on our chronograph roundup uses it, and none of them is automatic, which is the single most important thing to know about that category.

The ST16 automatic family is the other one you will meet, in budget watches from a long list of brands. It works. What is thinner than with Japanese calibers is documentation: published accuracy figures and service data are harder to find, so our spec tables print “Not published” more often on watches using them.

What “in-house” really means

In-house means the brand designed and built the caliber rather than buying it. Seiko, Citizen, Orient and Sea-Gull all genuinely do this, which is unusual at affordable prices and is a large part of why those brands are recommended so consistently.

What in-house does not mean is better. A specialist movement maker building millions of one caliber has advantages a small in-house operation does not, and a well-executed bought-in movement can outperform a bespoke one. In-house is a claim about origin. Treat it as information about supply chains and parts availability rather than as a quality grade.

The genuine practical advantage is support: a maker that builds its own calibers stocks its own parts and runs its own service network. That is why the same watch is easier to keep running for thirty years. Our service cost guide covers what that is worth in cash.

Three watches, three movement makers

The clearest way to see the difference is in real products. Three below, each built around a caliber from a different maker, with the published specification in each spec table. Prices come from a live daily check; we have not handled any of them.

#1Seiko 4R36

Seiko 5 Sports SRPG31

The field-flavored 5 Sports: a clean, bezel-free dial on a steel case, driven by Seiko's own automatic with hand-winding. It is the model to buy when the SRPD's dive bezel is more watch than you want.

Strengths

  • Seiko's own 4R36 with hacking and hand-winding
  • 39.4mm case, the smallest diameter of the Seiko references we compare
  • Clean, legible dial without a dive bezel

Trade-offs

  • Curved Hardlex, not sapphire
  • 48.1mm lug-to-lug on a 39.4mm case, so it wears longer than the diameter suggests
  • 10 bar, not a diver's rating - fine for swimming, not dive equipment
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size39.4 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalCurved Hardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line covers field, dive and street styling on one movement platform. Choosing between them is a styling decision, not a mechanical one. Seiko publishes this reference in full: 4R36, 39.4mm across, 13.2mm thick, 48.1mm lug-to-lug, 10 bar, curved Hardlex, approximately 41 hours of reserve.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Miyota 9015

TOPHILL Miyota 9015 Dress Automatic 40mm

The cheapest way to get a named Miyota 9015 into a decent case. The 9015 beats a Seiko NH35 on beat rate and slimness, and here it sits under a sapphire crystal in a 40mm dress case at NH35 money.

Strengths

  • Named Miyota 9015 — a higher-beat, slimmer movement than an NH35
  • Sapphire crystal and a stated 5 ATM rating
  • 40mm dress case rather than another diver

Trade-offs

  • The 9015's rotor is famously audible when it spins
  • Micro-brand with no service network of its own
MovementMiyota 9015 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 9015 runs at 28,800 vibrations per hour against the NH35's 21,600, which gives a smoother sweep, and it is a thinner movement — the reason it appears in slimmer watches.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Sea-Gull ST1901

TOPHILL 1963 ST1901 Chronograph 40mm

The same ST1901 movement as the Sea-Gull, in a 40mm case with a sapphire crystal, for meaningfully less money. If the movement is what you are buying, this is the cheapest respectable way to get it.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal at a price where mineral glass is normal
  • 40mm is an easier size than some 1963 reissues
  • Same column-wheel caliber as the far pricier versions

Trade-offs

  • Hand-wound only, like every ST1901 watch
  • Micro-brand with no service network behind it
MovementSea-Gull ST1901 hand-wound chronograph
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Yes

Why this one. Several brands fit the same bought-in ST1901. What differs between them is the case, the crystal and the finishing — not the timekeeping.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to identify the movement in a watch you already own

  1. Check the listing or the manual. Seiko, Citizen, Orient and most serious brands name the caliber outright.
  2. Look through the caseback. If the watch has an exhibition back, the caliber number is often printed on the rotor or on a bridge. NH35 movements are usually marked.
  3. Match the behavior. A seconds hand ticking six times a second is 21,600 vph, which points at the Seiko family. Eight times a second is 28,800 vph, which points at the Miyota 9015 or a Swiss caliber.
  4. If nothing names it, that is the answer. A brand that will not state its caliber is withholding the one specification that decides whether the watch can be serviced. Our micro-brand roundup treats a named caliber as a hard entry requirement for exactly this reason.

Frequently asked questions

Who makes most automatic watch movements?

A small group of companies supplies most of the industry. Seiko builds the 4R and NH families in Japan, Miyota — Citizen's movement division — builds the 8000 and 9000 series, ETA of Grenchen supplies the Swatch Group and historically the wider Swiss industry, Sellita of La Chaux-de-Fonds assembles Swiss automatic movements sold to everyone, and Sea-Gull and Hangzhou supply the Chinese market.

Is Miyota owned by Citizen?

Yes. Miyota is Citizen's movement operation — Citizen built a movement factory in the town of Miyota in Nagano in 1959, and the MIYOTA brand launched in 1980. Its movements are used in millions of watches, including many sold by brands that have nothing else to do with Citizen.

What is the difference between ETA and Sellita?

ETA is a wholly owned Swatch Group subsidiary in Grenchen and the historic supplier of ebauches to the Swiss industry. Sellita, based in La Chaux-de-Fonds, assembles Swiss Made automatic movements and grew significantly after Swiss competition authorities approved a phased reduction in ETA's supply to third parties — 30% by 2015, 50% by 2017 and 70% by 2019.

Does 'in-house movement' actually mean anything?

It means the watch brand designed and built the caliber rather than buying it. Seiko, Citizen, Orient and Sea-Gull all genuinely do this. What it does not automatically mean is better: a well-made bought-in movement from a specialist can outperform an in-house caliber, and in-house is a claim about origin rather than quality.

How do I find out which movement is in my watch?

Check the listing or manual first — reputable makers name the caliber. If it has an exhibition caseback, the caliber number is often printed on the rotor or a bridge. If nothing names it anywhere, that is itself informative: a brand that will not state its caliber is withholding the specification that decides whether the watch can be repaired.

Are Chinese watch movements any good?

The good ones are genuinely good and the market is wide. Sea-Gull's ST1901 hand-wound chronograph is a well-regarded caliber with a long history, and the ST16 automatic family is used across the budget market. The variability is greater than with Japanese calibers, and documentation is thinner, which is the real difference.

Sources

  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specificationSeiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Seiko Service USA — 4R35B / 4R36A technical data sheet (PDF)Seiko's official service data sheet for the 4R35B/4R36A calibers (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • MIYOTA — Caliber 9015 Premium Automatic specificationMiyota's own spec for the 9015: -10 to +30 sec/day, 24 jewels, 28,800 vibrations per hour, approximately 42 hours of running time, 3.90mm high, with a stop-second device and automatic plus hand winding (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • MIYOTA — About (Citizen Watch movement division)Miyota's own account of itself: Citizen Watch built a movement factory in the town of Miyota, Nagano, in 1959; the MIYOTA brand launched in 1980, and its movements are used in millions of watches (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Sellita — Movements (La Chaux-de-Fonds)Sellita's own site: a Swiss company in La Chaux-de-Fonds specializing in the assembly of Swiss Made automatic mechanical movements, and the maker of the SW200 family used across the Swiss industry (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • ETA SA — WikipediaETA SA of Grenchen is a wholly owned Swatch Group subsidiary and the historic supplier of ebauches to the Swiss industry. The Swiss Competition Commission required it to keep supplying third parties, then approved a phased reduction of 30% by 2015, 50% by 2017 and 70% by 2019 (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading