Dial & Lume

What Does 21 Jewels Mean on a Watch?

It is a count of bearings, not a grade. And the watches that print the number on the dial are, with striking consistency, the watches whose makers will not tell you the one thing that matters more.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

“21 jewels” means the movement contains twenty-one jewel bearings. They are not decorative and they are not precious stones in any meaningful sense: they are small pieces of corundum — usually synthetic sapphire or synthetic ruby — set at the pivots where a steel shaft would otherwise turn directly in a brass plate.

Their job is friction. The static coefficient of friction for sapphire-on-steel is 0.10 to 0.15; for brass-on-steel it is 0.35. Put a jewel where the fastest-turning pivots run and you get a movement that wastes less of the mainspring’s energy on rubbing and wears its own bearings out far more slowly. They have been used in watches since 1704, when Nicolas Fatio de Duillier and Peter and Jacob Debaufre invented the application, and they became cheap in 1902 when Auguste Verneuil worked out how to grow corundum synthetically.

So the number is a count of bearing positions. That is the whole of it. It is not a grade, not a quality tier, and not an accuracy specification — and the rest of this page is about why it gets read as all three.

Why 17 is the number that actually means something

There is a canonical count, and it is not 21. A typical fully jeweled time-only watch has 17 jewels, distributed like this:

  • Two cap jewels, two pivot jewels and an impulse jewel for the balance wheel
  • Two pivot jewels and two pallet jewels for the pallet fork
  • Two pivot jewels each for the escape, fourth, third and centre wheels

That is every high-friction pivot in a basic mechanical watch covered. “Fully jeweled” is a real threshold with a real meaning, and 17 is where it sits. Which tells you what the numbers above 17 are: jewels serving additional mechanisms. An automatic has a winding train the hand-wound watch does not — a rotor, reduction wheels, a reversing arrangement — and those pivots get jewels too. A chronograph adds more. A calendar adds more.

Which is why the common comparison collapses. “Is 21 better than 17?” is usually asking whether an automatic is better than a hand-wound watch, or whether a watch with a complication is better than one without. Those are real questions. The jewel count is just the shadow they cast.

What a jewel count cannot tell you

Three things, each of which people routinely read into it.

Accuracy

Timekeeping comes from the escapement, the balance, how well the movement was regulated and the state of its lubricants. Jewels help a movement hold its rate across years by limiting wear; they do not set that rate. The accuracy figure is the accuracy figure, and the makers who publish one publish it plainly: Seiko states +45 to −35 seconds a day for the 4R35 and 4R36, Miyota states −10 to +30 for the 9015. For context, a COSC-certified chronometer has to average −4 to +6 seconds a day across fifteen days in five positions and three temperatures. No jewel count gets you there. Our accuracy guide covers what is normal.

Finishing or grade

A movement can have 24 jewels and stamped steel bridges with no decoration at all. Jewel count and finishing are independent variables, and the one you can see through a display caseback is the finishing.

Whether the jewels are doing anything useful

This is the historical abuse of the number, and it is why nobody serious quotes it any more. Because the count was printed on dials as a selling point — manufacturers traditionally listed it prominently on the face or caseback as an advertising point — there was an obvious incentive to raise it. Jewels added at pivots that carry almost no load contribute almost nothing and still count. A high number is therefore not self-validating.

What to look for instead

One thing, and it is simple: a named caliber. Not “21-jewel automatic”, not “Japanese automatic movement”, not “mechanical self-winding” — a name, like Seiko 4R36 or Miyota 9015 or Orient F6922.

A name is worth more than any specification, because a name is what the rest of the specification hangs off. Once you have it you can look up the published rate, the beat, the reserve, whether it hacks, whether it hand-winds — and, incidentally, the jewel count, which Seiko puts at 24 for the 4R36 and Miyota at 24 for the 9015. A name also means a watchmaker can get parts for it in fifteen years. Our guide to who makes automatic watch movements is the map.

Here is the pattern that makes the point better than any argument. Across our own registry, the watches that lead with a jewel count are the watches with no caliber name: Timex describes the Marlin Automatic’s movement only as a “21-jewel automatic”, and Bulova describes the Sutton skeleton’s the same way. Meanwhile every watch running an NH35 or a 9015 names it. The number is what fills the space where the name should be.

Three watches, in order of what their makers will tell you

Same price bracket, three different levels of disclosure. Judge for yourself which of the three you would rather own in a decade.

#1Named caliber, full published spec

TOPHILL Miyota 9015 Dress Automatic 40mm

The cheapest way to get a named Miyota 9015 into a decent case. The 9015 beats a Seiko NH35 on beat rate and slimness, and here it sits under a sapphire crystal in a 40mm dress case at NH35 money.

Strengths

  • Named Miyota 9015 — a higher-beat, slimmer movement than an NH35
  • Sapphire crystal and a stated 5 ATM rating
  • 40mm dress case rather than another diver

Trade-offs

  • The 9015's rotor is famously audible when it spins
  • Micro-brand with no service network of its own
MovementMiyota 9015 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 9015 runs at 28,800 vibrations per hour against the NH35's 21,600, which gives a smoother sweep, and it is a thinner movement — the reason it appears in slimmer watches.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Named caliber on a small budget

CADISEN NH35A Automatic 40mm

The value case for micro-brands in one watch: a named Seiko NH35A movement — the same workhorse the enthusiast world builds on — in a 40mm steel case for around a third of what a branded watch with that caliber costs.

Strengths

  • Seiko NH35A movement — named, documented and widely serviceable
  • 40mm steel case and bracelet
  • The one budget watch here whose caliber you can actually look up

Trade-offs

  • No brand equity, no resale value
  • Case finishing is fair, not fine
MovementSeiko NH35A automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The NH35 is the unbranded cousin of Seiko's 4R35. A watchmaker anywhere can service or swap one, which is the single biggest argument for a micro-brand that uses it.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Advertises 21 jewels - and names nothing

Timex Marlin Automatic 40mm

A genuinely characterful American-heritage automatic. The Marlin revives Timex's mid-century dress styling over an unnamed 21-jewel automatic (widely reported to be a Miyota) — a distinctive look you won't see on every wrist, at an entry-level price.

Strengths

  • Mid-century Marlin styling that stands apart from the Japanese-diver crowd
  • Domed acrylic crystal that suits the vintage look
  • 40mm case suits most wrists, and it hand-winds

Trade-offs

  • Unnamed, non-hacking movement — dependable, not refined
  • Modest water resistance and a soft acrylic crystal — a dress watch, not a tool
Movement21-jewel automatic (Timex does not name the caliber)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalAcrylic (domed)
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Yes

Why this one. Timex names the movement only as a '21-jewel automatic'; it's widely reported to be a Miyota. Either way it's a bought-in caliber — the honest trade for the price and the heritage looks.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

To be clear about the third: the Marlin is a watch we recommend, and we recommend it on this site for its design and its 50m rating. It is simply the clearest example of what a jewel count is doing on a modern spec sheet — standing in for information the maker has chosen not to publish. Buy it because you like it, not because of the twenty-one.

Frequently asked questions

What does 21 jewels mean on a watch?

It means the movement contains 21 jewel bearings - small pieces of synthetic sapphire or ruby set at the pivots where metal would otherwise rub on metal. They exist to cut friction: the static coefficient of friction for sapphire-on-steel is 0.10 to 0.15 against 0.35 for brass-on-steel. The number counts bearing positions. It is not a rating, a grade or a measure of accuracy.

Is 21 jewels better than 17 jewels?

Not necessarily, and the comparison is usually meaningless. A fully jeweled time-only watch needs 17 jewels to cover the balance wheel, pallet fork and the escape, fourth, third and centre wheels. Above 17 the extra jewels are serving extra mechanisms - the automatic winding train, a calendar, a chronograph. A 21-jewel automatic and a 17-jewel hand-wound watch are not the same watch with four more bearings.

How many jewels should a good automatic watch have?

Most quality modern automatics land between 21 and 24, and the figure is a consequence of the design rather than a target. Seiko publishes 24 jewels for the 4R35 and 4R36; Miyota publishes 24 for the 9015. If you see a named caliber with a published jewel count, that is a good sign - not because of the number, but because a maker that publishes the count usually publishes the rate and the reserve too.

Do more jewels make a watch more accurate?

No. Accuracy comes from the escapement, the balance, the regulation and the condition of the lubricants. Jewels reduce friction and wear at the pivots, which helps a movement hold its rate over years - a durability contribution, not an accuracy specification. The published rate is the accuracy figure: Seiko states +45 to -35 seconds a day for the 4R36, Miyota states -10 to +30 for the 9015.

What does 17 jewels mean?

17 is the classic 'fully jeweled' count for a time-only watch: two cap jewels, two pivot jewels and an impulse jewel for the balance wheel, two pivot jewels and two pallet jewels for the pallet fork, and two pivot jewels each for the escape, fourth, third and centre wheels. Every high-friction pivot in a basic movement is covered. A watch marked 17 jewels is not under-specified for what it is.

Why do watches advertise their jewel count?

Because they always have - manufacturers traditionally printed the number prominently on the dial or caseback as an advertising point, and the habit outlived the era when it distinguished anything. Today it survives mostly where there is nothing better to print. In our own picks, the two watches that lead with '21 jewels' are the two whose makers never name the caliber.

Sources

  • Jewel bearing - Wikipedia — Reference on watch jewel bearings: they are made from corundum, usually synthetic sapphire or synthetic ruby, and reduce pivot friction - the static coefficient of friction for sapphire-on-steel is 0.10-0.15 against 0.35 for brass-on-steel. A 'typical fully jeweled time-only watch has 17 jewels: two cap jewels, two pivot jewels and an impulse jewel for the balance wheel, two pivot jewels and two pallet jewels for the pallet fork, and two pivot jewels each for the escape, fourth, third, and center wheels.' Jewel bearings were invented in 1704 by Nicolas Fatio de Duillier, Peter Debaufre and Jacob Debaufre; synthetic production was invented by Auguste Verneuil in 1902. Manufacturers 'traditionally listed the number of jewels prominently on the watch face or back, as an advertising point' (accessed October 11, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • MIYOTA — Caliber 9015 Premium Automatic specification — Miyota's own spec for the 9015: -10 to +30 sec/day, 24 jewels, 28,800 vibrations per hour, approximately 42 hours of running time, 3.90mm high, with a stop-second device and automatic plus hand winding (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Mechanical watch — Wikipedia — Reference walk-through of the power flow in a mechanical/automatic watch: rotor → mainspring → gear train → escapement → balance wheel (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Seiko Service USA — 4R35B / 4R36A technical data sheet (PDF) — Seiko's official service data sheet for the 4R35B/4R36A calibers (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • COSC — Contrôle Officiel Suisse des Chronomètres: certified chronometer — The Swiss chronometer standard: a certified mechanical chronometer must average -4/+6 seconds per day, tested per ISO 3159 over ~15 days in 5 positions and 3 temperatures (accessed July 21, 2026)

Keep reading