Dial & Lume

Best Blue Dial Automatic Watches

Blue is the most-bought dial color after black, and the makers are strangely quiet about it - Seiko publishes no dial color at all on its own product pages. Six automatics where somebody actually states the blue in writing, from 37mm to 45mm, and how to avoid buying a navy you wanted to be royal.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

Buy the Bulova Marine Star 98B466. It is the only watch on this page whose makerdescribes the blue in words — Bulova states a “sunray dial” that “shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge” — and it pairs that with an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, a WR200 rating and a 41mm case. For a smaller wrist, the Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm is the same idea at 37mm with sapphire and Citizen’s published 8210 caliber. On the smallest budget, the ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 gives you a navy blue dial, sapphire, a named Seiko NH35 and a stated 200m for a fraction of either. For a dress watch, Seiko’s Presage SRPL73 at 39.5mm; for a full-size diver, the Prospex SRPE99 at 45mm; and for the most dial happening per dollar, the OLEVS moon-phase skeleton. The warning that applies to all six: blue runs from pale ice to near-black navy, and five of these six makers publish no shade at all — the color word comes from the retail listing, which is a weaker source than a spec sheet.

Blue is the second dial color almost everybody buys. Black first, blue next, and then the argument starts. It is also the color with the widest range hiding under one word: pale ice blue, royal, cobalt, petrol, navy that reads black indoors, and the sunray finishes that are three of those at once depending on where you stand.

You would expect the makers to help. They mostly do not. Seiko publishes some of the best specification sheets in this price range — caliber, reserve, diameter, thickness, lug-to-lug, crystal, water resistance — and publishes no dial color whatsoever. We checked its own US pages for both Seiko references below while building this page: the SRPL73 Presage sheet names the collection, the subtitle, the caliber and three dimensions, and says nothing about the dial. The same is true of the Prospex sheets. So for a Seiko, the only published color is the one on the retail listing, written by whoever wrote the listing.

Exactly one watch on this page breaks that pattern, and it is not a Japanese brand. Bulova states the dial finish and the shade behind it in its own words for the Marine Star 98B466, and states them precisely enough that you know what you are getting before it arrives. That is unusual enough to be the reason it is our top pick, over and above its sapphire crystal.

So the entry rule for this page is deliberately explicit: the maker or the retail listing has to state a blue dial for the exact reference. A blue bezel does not count. A blue strap does not count. Blue indiceson an open dial do not count — which is why Bulova’s own 96A330 Sutton, a sapphire-crystal watch we like, is not on this list despite the blue in every photograph of it. And a watch that merely looks blue in a product image does not count at all.

Everything in the table comes from the maker’s own published sheet where one exists (Bulova for the Marine Star, Seiko and Citizen for the dimensions and calibers) and from the retail listing where it does not, each read on the date printed under the table. We have not handled any of these watches. Where a maker publishes no figure the table says “Not published” rather than carrying one we invented — and on this page that happens on the two cheapest picks, which is itself worth knowing.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceCase sizeCrystalWater resistance
1
Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

The one Bulova automatic whose specification sheet stands up next to a Japanese diver at the same money, and the only watch in this registry whose MAKER states the dial color in words rather than leaving it to a photograph. Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR200, a 41mm case, a 42-hour reserve, a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back - and then declines to name the caliber behind it.

Best overall
$412.50 · View on Amazon

$550.0025% off

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

41 mmAnti-reflective sapphire200 m
2
Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

The same Tsuyosa, three millimeters narrower. Citizen publishes the identical caliber 8210, sapphire crystal, 50m rating, 42-hour reserve and hack feature for the 37mm NJ0200 as for the 40mm NJ0150 - the only line that changes on its spec sheet is the case width. If integrated-bracelet watches tend to look large on you, this is the Tsuyosa to buy.

Best at 37mm
$356.25 · View on Amazon

$396.0010% off

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

37 mmSapphire50 m
3
ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Best on a budget
$165.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not publishedSapphire200 m
4
Seiko Presage SRPL73 (Style60's silver-blue)

Seiko Presage SRPL73 (Style60's silver-blue)

The dress Presage on a bracelet, and the dial is the whole argument: a textured silver-blue face under a box-shaped crystal, on a 39.5mm case that is the most wearable size in the range. Seiko publishes the whole sheet for it - caliber 4R35, roughly 41 hours of reserve, 12.0mm thick, a see-through screw caseback and 5 bar - which is the same mechanical package the rest of the affordable Presage line runs.

Best dress blue
$446.25 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

39.5 mmBox-shaped Hardlex50 m
5
Seiko Prospex SRPE99

Seiko Prospex SRPE99

The big one. Same 4R36 and the same 13.4mm thickness as everything else here, but a 45.0mm case, and that is the whole decision - it is either the Seiko that finally looks like a proper tool watch on your wrist or the one that overhangs it. Seiko publishes the diver's rating, the screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the bezel; the retail listing adds the PADI Special Edition designation.

Best full-size diver
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

45 mmHardlex200 m
6
OLEVS Moon Phase Skeleton Automatic (blue dial)

OLEVS Moon Phase Skeleton Automatic (blue dial)

The mid-budget option: a self-winding automatic with a moonphase-style sub-dial and an aperture cut over the balance, at roughly a third of what the Orients cost. It looks like more watch than it is, which is either the appeal or the problem.

Most dial detail for the money
$147.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 27, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not publishedNot publishedNot published

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on August 31, September 1, September 22 and October 26, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

The one Bulova automatic whose specification sheet stands up next to a Japanese diver at the same money, and the only watch in this registry whose MAKER states the dial color in words rather than leaving it to a photograph. Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR200, a 41mm case, a 42-hour reserve, a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back - and then declines to name the caliber behind it.

Strengths

  • Anti-reflective sapphire crystal at a price where Seiko still ships Hardlex
  • WR200 with a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back, all on Bulova's own page
  • Bulova describes the dial precisely: a sunray that reads bright blue at the center and black toward the edge

Trade-offs

  • Bulova names no caliber for this reference, so there is no published accuracy figure
  • No case thickness or lug-to-lug published - the 41mm width is the only sizing number you get
  • Not an ISO 6425 certified diver; WR200 is a water-resistance rating, not a dive certification
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size41 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalAnti-reflective sapphire
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Bulova's page for this reference reads 'Sunray dial shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge', a 'Unidirectional bezel with bi-color aluminum insert' and a 20mm lug width on a premium H-link bracelet. It is the most complete spec sheet Bulova publishes for any automatic in this registry, and it still has no caliber on it.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best at 37mm

Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

The same Tsuyosa, three millimeters narrower. Citizen publishes the identical caliber 8210, sapphire crystal, 50m rating, 42-hour reserve and hack feature for the 37mm NJ0200 as for the 40mm NJ0150 - the only line that changes on its spec sheet is the case width. If integrated-bracelet watches tend to look large on you, this is the Tsuyosa to buy.

Strengths

  • Same 8210 caliber, sapphire crystal and 42-hour reserve Citizen lists for the 40mm Tsuyosa
  • 37mm case width - the smallest Citizen automatic we could find live on Amazon
  • Hack feature listed on Citizen's own page for this reference

Trade-offs

  • 50m rating - fine for rain and a shower, not for regular swimming
  • Integrated bracelet, so no strap changes, and Citizen publishes no thickness or lug-to-lug to size it from
  • Fewer dial colors live than the 40mm: three other 37mm listings showed as unavailable on our September 22, 2026 check
MovementCitizen 8210 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size37 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Citizen's own spec pages for the 37mm NJ0200-50M and the 40mm NJ0150-56E differ in exactly one line: case width. Caliber, crystal, water resistance, power reserve and the hack feature are identical, so choose between them on your wrist rather than on the movement.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best on a budget

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Strengths

  • Listing names BGW9 specifically instead of saying 'luminous'
  • Seiko NH35 with sapphire and a stated 200m rating
  • Costs a fraction of the Seiko divers making comparable lume claims

Trade-offs

  • A named pigment code is not a measured brightness figure, and none is published
  • No brand behind it, no service network and no resale value
  • Case diameter is not stated on the listing, so we have not recorded one
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. BGW9 glows blue-green (emission at 485 nm) and reads white in daylight; C3, the other code you will see quoted, glows green and reads pale yellow-green. Neither code tells you the GRADE - Standard, A or X1 - which is what actually decides how slowly the glow decays.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best dress blue

Seiko Presage SRPL73 (Style60's silver-blue)

The dress Presage on a bracelet, and the dial is the whole argument: a textured silver-blue face under a box-shaped crystal, on a 39.5mm case that is the most wearable size in the range. Seiko publishes the whole sheet for it - caliber 4R35, roughly 41 hours of reserve, 12.0mm thick, a see-through screw caseback and 5 bar - which is the same mechanical package the rest of the affordable Presage line runs.

Strengths

  • 39.5mm and 12.0mm - the easiest Presage to wear under a cuff
  • Seiko's own 4R35 with hand-winding and a stop-seconds function, and a published 41-hour reserve
  • Steel bracelet and a see-through screw caseback onto the movement

Trade-offs

  • 5 bar rating - this is a dress watch, not a daily beater
  • Box-shaped Hardlex rather than sapphire, on a watch that lives next to shirt cuffs
  • 4R35 accuracy is workhorse-grade, not chronometer
MovementSeiko 4R35 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size39.5 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalBox-shaped Hardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The SRPJ13 that used to hold this slot is no longer purchasable, and the SRPB41 before it is gone too. The SRPL73 is the live bracelet Presage - and it is a provenance upgrade rather than a compromise: Seiko published no case, thickness or crystal figure for the SRPJ13 and publishes all three here (39.5mm, 12.0mm, box-shaped Hardlex). It sits in Seiko's Style60's line rather than the Cocktail Time tier, so the dial is a vertical texture rather than a lacquered sunburst. For the classic Cocktail Time figures see the SRPE15.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best full-size diver

Seiko Prospex SRPE99

The big one. Same 4R36 and the same 13.4mm thickness as everything else here, but a 45.0mm case, and that is the whole decision - it is either the Seiko that finally looks like a proper tool watch on your wrist or the one that overhangs it. Seiko publishes the diver's rating, the screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the bezel; the retail listing adds the PADI Special Edition designation.

Strengths

  • 45.0mm 200m diver's case with a screw-down crown and unidirectional bezel
  • LumiBrite on hands, indexes and bezel, per Seiko's own specification
  • Three-fold clasp with a secure lock and a diver's extender

Trade-offs

  • 45.0mm is too much watch for a lot of wrists - measure before you buy
  • The most expensive watch in this comparison, on Hardlex rather than sapphire
  • The PADI designation is on the retail listing, not on Seiko's specification page
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size45 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Seiko files this under Prospex Sea and does not describe the case shape on its specification page, so we do not claim one - what is published is 45.0mm across and 13.4mm thick, which is a large watch by any measure.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Most dial detail for the money

OLEVS Moon Phase Skeleton Automatic (blue dial)

The mid-budget option: a self-winding automatic with a moonphase-style sub-dial and an aperture cut over the balance, at roughly a third of what the Orients cost. It looks like more watch than it is, which is either the appeal or the problem.

Strengths

  • Automatic movement with the balance visible through the dial
  • Moonphase sub-dial plus skeleton work at a low price
  • Steel bracelet and a widely stocked listing, so returns are straightforward

Trade-offs

  • Movement is not named anywhere on the listing
  • OLEVS states only 'waterproof' — no ATM or meter figure is published
  • The listing uses the word 'tourbillon', which at this price it is not
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Unnamed movements are the norm at this price. It does not mean the watch is bad, it means nobody has published anything you can check. The ASIN that used to sit here had drifted onto an OUPINKE listing entirely and is now dead; this is a live OLEVS whose own listing names the moon phase and the skeleton work, and whose own product image shows the balance aperture. The 30m rating recorded against the old listing is dropped rather than carried across, because this one publishes no rating at all.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The three things that decide a blue dial

1. Which blue, and who says so

Dial finish moves the color further than pigment does. A sunrayor sunburst dial is brushed in rays from the center, so it shifts from bright at one angle to nearly black at another — which is why photographs of sunray dials never match the watch on a wrist. Gradient dials are lighter in the middle and darker at the edges by design. Matte dials hold one color in all light, which is predictable and less interesting. Lacquered or glossy dials read deeper and pick up more reflection.

Bulova is the only maker here that tells you which it used — a sunray that goes bright blue to black. For everything else on this page the color word comes from a retail listing: “Navy Blue Dial” on the ADDIESDIVE, “Blue Dial” on the Citizen and the OLEVS, “Silver-Blue Dial” on the Seiko Presage, “Blue Dial” on the Prospex. Those are real published words and good enough to build a page on, but they are not a maker’s specification, and they are written to sell rather than to describe. Treat them as the floor of what you know, not the ceiling.

The practical move is the same one we give for green dials: look for owner photographs taken outdoors rather than studio shots, assume anything electric in a product image will be darker in person, and buy from a retailer with free returns if a specific shade genuinely matters.

2. Navy that reads black is the commonest disappointment

This is the blue-specific trap. A deep navy dial under indoor light is functionally a black watch; it only shows its color in daylight or near a window. Plenty of people want exactly that — a watch that is quietly blue rather than loudly blue — and plenty of others open the box and find the black watch they were trying to avoid buying.

The tell is in the words. “Navy”, “midnight” and “petrol” all run dark. “Bright”, “royal”, “cobalt” and “ice” run light. Bulova’s “bright blue at the center to black toward the edge” is telling you it does both, deliberately, across the same dial. The ADDIESDIVE’s own listing says navy, which is honest and tells you to expect the darker end.

3. Crystal matters more on a colored dial than a black one

Three of these six publish sapphire: the Bulova Marine Star (anti-reflective), the Citizen Tsuyosa and the ADDIESDIVE. Both Seikos publish Hardlex, Seiko’s own hardened mineral glass — box-shaped on the Presage, flat on the Prospex. And the OLEVS publishes no crystal material at all, which is why its row reads “Not published”. Note which way that falls: the two cheapest-but-one picks have the harder crystal and the two Seikos do not.

That split matters more here than it would on a black watch. A hazed, fine- scratched crystal dulls a saturated color in a way it does not dull black, and a sunray dial loses its whole effect behind one. Sapphire is corundum at Mohs 9; everyday grit is mostly quartz at Mohs 7, so mineral glass scuffs and sapphire largely does not. The counter is brittleness — sapphire chips where mineral scuffs. Our sapphire versus mineral comparison has the trade in full, and the sapphire-crystal roundup is the registry sorted on exactly that.

What each price bracket buys you here

Around $150 to $170, from brands with no service network

The ADDIESDIVE and the OLEVS. The ADDIESDIVE is the better watch of the two by a wide margin on paper: a named Seiko NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m and a named BGW9luminous grade rather than the word “luminous”. What you give up is information — no case diameter is published for it, so you are buying a watch whose size you discover on arrival. The OLEVS is the cheapest blue automatic here and the busiest dial, with a moon-phase display and a skeletonized center, and it publishes nothing at all: no case size, no crystal, no water rating. Both are covered in the wider under-$200 roundup.

Around $350 to $450, from makers that publish sheets

The Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm, the Bulova Marine Star and the Seiko Presage SRPL73. This is the sweet spot on this page. The Tsuyosa gives you Citizen’s own 8210 caliber with a published 42-hour reserve and a hack feature, sapphire, and a 37mm case — the smallest proper automatic we could find live, and the answer if integrated-bracelet watches usually swamp you. The Marine Star gives you sapphire, WR200 and the only maker-published shade on the page. The Presage gives you Seiko’s 4R35, 39.5mm across, 12.0mm thick and 46.2mm lug-to-lug — the most completely documented fit on this list — in exchange for a Hardlex crystal and a 5 bar rating.

Around $600, for size rather than specification

The Prospex SRPE99 is a 45mm, 200m diver’s-rated Seiko with the 4R36, LumiBrite on hands, indexes and bezel, and a screw-down crown. It is on this page because it is a genuinely blue Seiko diver that is live and purchasable, and because a 45mm case is what some wrists want. It is also the single most expensive way to buy a blue dial here, on a mineral crystal, and 45mm will overhang a wrist under about seven inches. Measure first with the watch size guide, and read the large-wrist roundup if that is genuinely your size. Seiko also sells the SRPG57 under a “Light Blue” listing at a little less money if you want the smaller 42.4mm case — it is on our Seiko 5 vs Prospex page.

The two we left out, and why

Bulova’s own 96A330 Sutton fails the entry rule and it is worth explaining, because it is the clearest example of the trap. It is a 40mm watch with an anti-reflective domed sapphire crystal, 21 jewels and 42 hours of published reserve, on a blue leather strap, and Bulova describes the dial as an open dial with blue applied indicesand matching hands. The markers are blue. The dial is not. In a photograph it looks like a blue watch; in Bulova’s own words it is not one. We card it on the Bulova roundup instead, where it belongs.

Several Invicta Pro Diversare sold as blue-dial automatics and one is in our registry as such, but the live listing title for that reference no longer states a color at all on the date we built this page — it reads “Silver”. Since the listing was the only published source for the color in the first place, the pick does not survive the rule. It stays on the Invicta roundup, where it is carded for its case size and rating rather than its dial.

What a blue dial does not change

Anything mechanical. Dial color has no effect on accuracy, power reserve, servicing interval or longevity, and the blue version of a reference is the same watch as the black one. So the questions that actually decide the purchase are the usual ones: case diameter against your wrist, what the water rating permits — see water resistance explained — and whether the movement is one you can get serviced. On this page the answer to that last one is yes for the Seikos, the Citizen and the Bulova, and no in any meaningful sense for the two cheapest picks.

Blue does have one genuine practical advantage over green or burgundy: it is the easiest non-black dial to pair. Brown and tan leather, gray and black rubber, steel bracelets, canvas — almost everything works. Most of the picks here come on a steel bracelet, which sidesteps the question entirely. And if you want blue on the wrist without committing to a dial, a blue strap on a black-dialed automatic is a $20 experiment instead of a $400 one. Our guide to resizing a bracelet covers the other half of that job.

Finally, the lume. A blue dial and a blue gloware unrelated — luminous material sits on the hands and markers, not the dial surface. Two picks here name a material: Seiko states LumiBrite on the Prospex and the ADDIESDIVE listing names BGW9, which glows blue-green. The other four name nothing. Our best-lume roundup ranks the whole registry on what makers actually put in writing, and what lume is covers how long a charge should hold.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best blue dial automatic watch?

The Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 for most buyers. It is the only watch in this roundup whose maker publishes the dial finish and shade in its own words - a sunray dial that shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge - and Bulova pairs that with an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, a WR200 rating, a 41mm case, a 42-hour power reserve and a crystal case back. For a 37mm case, the Citizen Tsuyosa NJ0200; on the smallest budget, the ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9.

Why do blue dials look different in photographs?

Mostly because of the dial finish rather than the pigment. A sunray or sunburst dial is brushed in rays from the center, so it reads bright at one angle and nearly black at another, and studio photography catches it at its brightest. Gradient dials are lighter in the middle than at the edges by design. Matte dials are the most predictable. Most makers never state which finish they used, so outdoor owner photographs tell you more than product images do.

Do watch makers publish the dial color?

Often not. Seiko publishes some of the most complete specification sheets at this price - caliber, reserve, diameter, thickness, lug-to-lug, crystal, water resistance - and publishes no dial color at all; we checked its own US pages for both Seiko references in this roundup. Citizen's sheets are similar. Bulova is the exception here and states both the finish and the shade for the Marine Star 98B466. For every other pick on this page the color word comes from the retail listing, which is a weaker source than a maker's spec sheet.

Is a navy dial the same as a blue dial?

No, and it is the most common disappointment with blue watches bought online. A deep navy reads as black under indoor light and only shows its color in daylight. If you want a dial that is obviously blue across a room, look for words like bright, royal, cobalt or ice; if you want a watch that is quietly blue, navy, midnight and petrol are the words to look for. One pick here states navy outright, which is useful honesty rather than a mark against it.

Which blue dial automatics have a sapphire crystal?

Three of the six here publish one. The Bulova Marine Star 98B466 states an anti-reflective sapphire, the Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm states sapphire, and the ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 states a synthetic sapphire crystal. Both Seiko picks use Hardlex, Seiko's own hardened mineral glass - box-shaped on the Presage, flat on the Prospex - and the OLEVS publishes no crystal material at all. On a colored dial the crystal matters more than on a black one, because haze dulls a saturated color faster than it dulls black.

Is there a cheap blue dial automatic watch worth buying?

The ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 is the strongest cheap option on paper: its listing states a navy blue dial, a synthetic sapphire crystal, a named Seiko NH35 movement, a 200m rating and BGW9 luminous material by grade rather than just 'luminous'. The catch is documentation and support - no case diameter is published for the reference, and there is no brand service network behind it. The OLEVS moon-phase is cheaper again and publishes nothing beyond the dial color.

Is blue a safer first dial color than green?

Yes, for two reasons. Blue has been a mainstream dial color for decades rather than years, so it dates more slowly than a saturated green; and blue pairs with far more strap colors - brown and tan leather, gray and black rubber, steel, canvas - where green fights most of them. The one way blue is harder is that its range is wider: a pale ice blue and a near-black navy are both sold as 'blue dial', and the makers rarely tell you which you are getting.

Does a blue dial affect the lume?

No. Luminous material is applied to the hands and markers rather than the dial surface, and most modern lume glows greenish-blue regardless of what is underneath it. What varies is the material and how much is applied: Seiko uses its own LumiBrite, budget divers often name Super-LumiNova or a BGW9 grade, and plenty of makers publish only 'luminous hands'. Two of the six picks here name a material; the other four name nothing.

Sources

  • Bulova - Marine Star Series B 98B466 product specification — Bulova's own page for the 98B466: 'Automatic' with no caliber named, a 42-hour power reserve, a 41mm silver-tone stainless steel case, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal described as impact and shatter resistant, 'WR200' (20 bar / 666 ft, suitable for swimming, showering and snorkeling), a 'Sunray dial shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge', a unidirectional bezel with a bi-color aluminum insert and timing scale, a crystal case back showing the movement, a premium H-link bracelet and a 20mm lug width. Bulova publishes no case thickness, lug-to-lug or accuracy figure for this reference (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Sutton Automatic 96A330 product specification — Bulova's own page for the 40mm Sutton 96A330: 'The dial reveals the captivating mechanics of the 21-jewel skeletonized automatic movement, which offers 42-hours of power reserve' - 21 jewels and 42 hours, with NO caliber named. Also an anti-reflective domed sapphire crystal, a 40mm silver-tone stainless steel case, 'WR [Splash Resistant]' with no meter figure stated, an open dial with blue applied indices and matching luminescent-filled hands, a blue alligator-embossed leather strap and a 20mm lug width (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Citizen - Tsuyosa 37mm NJ0200-50M product specification — Citizen's own listing for the 37mm Tsuyosa from the NJ020 series: caliber 8210 automatic, a 37mm case width, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR50, a 42-hour power reserve and a hack feature - the same caliber, crystal, rating and reserve Citizen lists for the 40mm NJ0150 (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Seiko - Presage SRPL73 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SRPL73 Presage: caliber 4R35, automatic with manual winding, approx. 41h reserve, 39.5mm diameter, 12.0mm thick, box-shaped Hardlex, a see-through screw case back and 5 bar water resistance. No accuracy figure is published for this reference (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Seiko - Prospex SRPE99 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SRPE99: caliber 4R36, approx. 41h reserve, 45.0mm diameter, 13.4mm thick, Hardlex, '200m / 660ft diver's', a screw-down crown, a unidirectional rotating bezel, LumiBrite on hands, index(es) and bezel, and a three-fold clasp with secure lock and extender, and a stated weight of 195.0g. Seiko files it under Prospex Sea and does not state a case shape, a lug-to-lug figure or the PADI designation (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Seiko — What is LumiBrite? (customer service FAQ) — Seiko's own figure for LumiBrite: exposed to more than 500 lux for about 10 minutes it emits light for about 3 to 5 hours in the dark, and it is completely free of radioactive material (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Super-LumiNova — Wikipedia — Super-LumiNova is a strontium-aluminate photoluminescent pigment (europium- and dysprosium-doped) made by RC Tritec AG in Switzerland with Nemoto & Co. It is non-radioactive, is recharged by light indefinitely without chemical degradation, and its higher grades (A and X1) decay far more slowly than Standard grade. It is offered in colors identified by code: C3 glows green and appears pale yellow-green in daylight (emission at 515 nm); BGW9 glows blue-green and appears white in daylight (emission at 485 nm) (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)

Keep reading