Dial & Lume

Best Automatic Watches With a Day-Date

Seven automatics where the maker publishes a day AND a date for that exact reference - and the caliber rule that decides which watches can have one at all.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

A day-date is the one complication most people actually use. The date tells you what to write on a form; the day of the week tells you the thing your brain keeps losing. And unlike a moonphase or a chronograph, it costs almost nothing in thickness or price — which makes it strange how few automatics under $600 have one.

The reason is not fashion. It is the caliber. Inside every big Japanese movement family there are two versions of the same movement, and only one of them carries a day wheel. Seiko’s 4R35 and 4R36 share a single instruction booklet, and only the 4R36 lists a “date/day of the week display.” Citizen’s 8200 and 8210 share one manual, and Citizen states the day of the week is on the 8200 only. Orient’s F6922 has both on every diver in the line. Read the caliber on the spec sheet and you already know what the dial will show, before you have looked at a single photograph.

Our entry rule for this page: the maker must publish a dayanda date for that exact reference number — not for the caliber in general, and not in an Amazon bullet point. That rule excluded some obvious candidates, including the Citizen Tsuyosa and Seiko’s own 5 Sports GMT, and the exclusions below are as useful as the picks. Seven watches made it, roughly $240 to $540. We have not worn any of them; every specification is quoted from the maker’s own sheet and dated in the spec table, and every price comes from a live daily check rather than being typed into this page.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Best overall
$329.34 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 29, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Best supported
$339.01 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 29, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Orient Mako II Diver

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Best value
$240.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 29, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Seiko 5 Sports Field SRPG35

Seiko 5 Sports Field SRPG35

The field-flavored 5 Sports: a clean, bezel-free dial on a steel case and a nylon strap, driven by Seiko's own automatic with hand-winding. It is the model to buy when the SRPD's dive bezel is more watch than you want.

Best smaller case
$252.00 · View on Amazon

$315.0020% off

Price as of September 29, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Seiko Prospex SRPG57

Seiko Prospex SRPG57

The cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver's marking on the dial, and the single most useful watch in this comparison. It runs the same 4R36 as the Seiko 5 Sports, in a case the same thickness and a tenth of a millimeter narrower - what the extra money actually buys is a screw-down crown, a 200m diver's rating and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands.

Best diver's-rated
$440.00 · View on Amazon

$550.0020% off

Price as of September 29, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Orient Kanno Diver (RA-AA0913L19B)

Orient Kanno Diver (RA-AA0913L19B)

Orient's under-appreciated diver: the same in-house F6922 as the Kamasu in a noticeably bigger case — Orient publishes 44mm across and 50.5mm lug-to-lug — usually for less money. If the Kamasu is out of budget, this is the pick rather than dropping to a homage brand.

Best for a large wrist
$241.88 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 29, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

7
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic "Fugu" 44mm (NY0154-51L)

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic "Fugu" 44mm (NY0154-51L)

Citizen's real dive watch, and the only Citizen automatic here that Citizen itself calls ISO compliant. Its own page lists caliber 8204, a screw-down crown, a sapphire crystal, luminous hands and markers and 200m 'Scuba Diving' water resistance, in a 44mm reissue of the 1989 Promaster Fugu with the serrated bezel the nickname comes from. It is large and this reference is two-tone, but no other Citizen automatic on Amazon carries a dive specification this complete.

Best from Citizen
$540.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 29, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal at a price where mineral is the norm
  • True 200m rating with a screw-down crown and solid bracelet
  • In-house F6922 movement that both hacks and hand-winds

Trade-offs

  • The in-house movement isn't chronometer-accurate
  • Roughly 42mm with a broad case — wears large on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.88 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Kamasu's real upgrade over the Mako II is the sapphire crystal — both share the same F6922 movement, so both already hack and hand-wind. (The Orient diver that does neither is the original Mako I, on the older 46943 caliber.)

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best supported

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Strengths

  • In-house Seiko 4R36 movement with hacking and hand-winding
  • Day-date, 100m water resistance and a see-through caseback onto the movement
  • The most cross-shopped, best-supported budget automatic there is

Trade-offs

  • The 4R36 is reliable, not accurate to chronometer standards
  • Hardlex crystal scratches more easily than sapphire
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy+45 / -35 sec/day
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.5 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalHardlex mineral
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line is the modern heir to the original Seiko 5: an honest, serviceable automatic with real heritage, which is exactly why it anchors so many of our lists.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best value

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver at a genuinely low price
  • In-house Orient F6922 movement, hacking and hand-winding
  • A modern classic with a huge owner base

Trade-offs

  • Mineral crystal, not sapphire — the Kamasu fixes exactly this
  • Roughly 41mm with a broad case — big on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.5 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral (Hardlex-class)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Mako II versus Kamasu decision comes down to one thing: the crystal. Both use the same F6922 (both hack and hand-wind), so you're really deciding whether sapphire is worth the small step up from mineral.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best smaller case

Seiko 5 Sports Field SRPG35

The field-flavored 5 Sports: a clean, bezel-free dial on a steel case and a nylon strap, driven by Seiko's own automatic with hand-winding. It is the model to buy when the SRPD's dive bezel is more watch than you want.

Strengths

  • Seiko's own 4R36 with hacking and hand-winding
  • 39.4mm case, the smallest diameter of the Seiko references we compare
  • Clean, legible dial without a dive bezel

Trade-offs

  • Curved Hardlex, not sapphire
  • 48.1mm lug-to-lug on a 39.4mm case, so it wears longer than the diameter suggests
  • 10 bar, not a diver's rating - fine for swimming, not dive equipment
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size39.4 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalCurved Hardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line covers field, dive and street styling on one movement platform. Choosing between them is a styling decision, not a mechanical one. Seiko publishes this reference in full: 4R36, 39.4mm across, 13.2mm thick, 48.1mm lug-to-lug, 10 bar, curved Hardlex, approximately 41 hours of reserve, LumiBrite on hands and index(es), on a nylon band.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best diver's-rated

Seiko Prospex SRPG57

The cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver's marking on the dial, and the single most useful watch in this comparison. It runs the same 4R36 as the Seiko 5 Sports, in a case the same thickness and a tenth of a millimeter narrower - what the extra money actually buys is a screw-down crown, a 200m diver's rating and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's rating with a screw-down crown and unidirectional bezel
  • Seiko states LumiBrite on hands, indexes AND bezel - the 5 Sports omits the bezel
  • 42.4mm and 13.4mm, so no thicker or wider than the 5 Sports it replaces

Trade-offs

  • 49.4mm lug-to-lug wears noticeably longer than the 5 Sports' 46.0mm
  • Hardlex mineral crystal, not sapphire, at well over $400
  • Solid screw case back - you lose the 5 Sports' view of the movement
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.4 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex with magnified glass
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. This is the reference that makes the whole Seiko 5 versus Prospex argument concrete. Seiko publishes both: 4R36 and approximately 41 hours on each, 42.5mm/13.4mm on the SRPD65 against 42.4mm/13.4mm here. The movement and the case size are not what you are paying for.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best for a large wrist

Orient Kanno Diver (RA-AA0913L19B)

Orient's under-appreciated diver: the same in-house F6922 as the Kamasu in a noticeably bigger case — Orient publishes 44mm across and 50.5mm lug-to-lug — usually for less money. If the Kamasu is out of budget, this is the pick rather than dropping to a homage brand.

Strengths

  • In-house Orient automatic with hand-winding
  • Usually undercuts the Kamasu while sharing its mechanical DNA
  • Proper dive styling with a substantial case

Trade-offs

  • Orient publishes 44mm across and 50.5mm lug-to-lug — genuinely big
  • Mineral crystal, where the Kamasu gets sapphire for a little more
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size44 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Orient is owned by Seiko Epson and builds its own movements — which is why an Orient diver at this price is a genuinely different proposition from a marketplace homage.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#7Best from Citizen

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic "Fugu" 44mm (NY0154-51L)

Citizen's real dive watch, and the only Citizen automatic here that Citizen itself calls ISO compliant. Its own page lists caliber 8204, a screw-down crown, a sapphire crystal, luminous hands and markers and 200m 'Scuba Diving' water resistance, in a 44mm reissue of the 1989 Promaster Fugu with the serrated bezel the nickname comes from. It is large and this reference is two-tone, but no other Citizen automatic on Amazon carries a dive specification this complete.

Strengths

  • Citizen states ISO compliance, a screw-down crown and 200m for this reference
  • Sapphire crystal over a dial with luminous hands and markers
  • Caliber 8204 hacks and hand-winds, and is the only Citizen caliber here with a published daily-rate window

Trade-offs

  • 44mm case width - the largest watch on the page
  • This reference is two-tone, with gold-tone case and bracelet elements - a taste call
  • The most expensive Citizen automatic on the page
MovementCitizen 8204 (automatic + hand-winding, day-date)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size44 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Citizen's 8203/8204 manual, written for the NY0 series this watch belongs to, gives the 8204 an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds and about 42 hours fully wound. That rate is a caliber figure, not a reference one, which is why the spec table leaves accuracy as not published.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The caliber decides the calendar, and the caliber is published

This is the whole shortcut. You do not need to squint at a product photo to work out whether a watch has a day window; you need to read one line of the spec sheet. Here is what the three makers on this page publish, in their own documents.

Seiko: 4R36 yes, 4R35 no, 4R34 no

Seiko covers seven calibers in a single instruction booklet — 4R35, 4R36, 4R37, 4R38, 4R39, 4R71 and 4R72 — and the contents page alone settles the question. One section is titled “How to set the time and date (4R35).” The next is titled “How to set the time, date, and day of the week(4R36).” In the specification table only the 4R36 lists a date/day of the week display; the 4R35 and 4R37 are date only, and the 4R38, 4R71 and 4R72 have no calendar at all. Everything else about them matches: 21,600 vibrations per hour, approximately 41 hours of reserve, +45 to -35 seconds a day at normal temperatures.

That single fact sorts most of Seiko’s catalog for you. The 5 Sports references and the 4R36 Prospex divers on this page have a day window. The Presage Cocktail Time line runs the 4R35, so it has a date and no day — which is correct for a dress watch and is also why it is not on this page. Our Seiko brand roundup maps the whole range line by line if you want the wider picture.

Citizen: 8200 yes, 8210 no — from the same manual

Citizen publishes one instruction manual covering calibers 8200 and 8210 together. Both run at 21,600 oscillations per hour, both wind automatically, both have a quick-set date — and the manual states the day of the week is on the 8200 only. That is the reason the Tsuyosa, which Citizen builds on the 8210, shows a date and nothing else, while the Sport Automatic on the 8200 shows both. Two watches, one manual, one wheel of difference.

Orient: the F6922 has both, across the whole diver line

Orient makes it simple. Open Orient Watch USA’s sheet for the Kamasu, the Mako II or the Kanno and the feature line reads identically on all three: “Day, Date, Luminous Hour Markers And Hands.” Same caliber F6922, same approximately 40-hour reserve, same hacking and hand-winding, same 200m and screw-down crown. Three of our seven picks are Orients for exactly that reason — it is the only line at this money where the day-date is the default rather than the exception. The Orient brand roundup covers what separates them once the calendar is a given.

What the rule excluded, and why that is the useful part

Five watches we rate elsewhere on this site did not make it. Each exclusion tells you something you would otherwise learn after paying.

  • Seiko 5 Sports GMT (SSK003) — the obvious assumption is that a 5 Sports GMT is a 5 Sports with a second time zone added. It is not. Seiko publishes “Date display” and a “24-hour hand (dual time display function)” for the SSK003, because the 4R34 spends the day wheel on the GMT hand. If you want both, you are buying two watches. Our Seiko 5 GMT review makes the case for it on its own terms.
  • Citizen Tsuyosa — caliber 8210, so date only, per Citizen’s own manual. It is an excellent watch and the site recommends it repeatedly; it simply cannot be on a day-date page. Seiko 5 Sports vs Citizen Tsuyosa is the head-to-head, and the calendar is one of the real differences between them.
  • Seiko Presage Cocktail Time — caliber 4R35. Date, no day, by design. The Presage roundup covers which reference to buy when the calendar is not the point.
  • Citizen Promaster Dive NY0129-07L — the closest miss on the page. The retail listing names it as a day-date, and we have no particular reason to doubt that, but Citizen’s own site returns a 404 for the reference, so there is no maker document to check it against. Our rule here is the maker’s sheet for the exact reference, so it stays off. It appears on the dive roundup where the water resistance is the claim being made.
  • Invicta Pro Diver, and most sub-$150 automatics — Invicta labels its movement only as “IM-A-005” and publishes no caliber specification at all, so there is no document that says what its calendar does. The same is true of most OLEVS, FORSINING and unbranded NH35 listings: they may well have a day wheel, but nobody publishes it. That is the honest reason the cheapest confirmed day-date on this page is a $240 Orient rather than a $90 diver — and our Pro Diver review argues for that watch on the things Invicta does state.

Setting a day-date without breaking it

This is the part that costs people money, and it is written down by every maker. Seiko’s instructions for the 4R36 say the date and the day of the week are both adjusted from the first crown click, and the time from the second. They also carry an explicit caution: “Do not set the date or the day of the week between 9:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m.” Seiko’s stated reason is that doing so “may cause problems such as the date or the day of the week failing to change the next day or may cause damage.”

The mechanism behind that warning is simple. A calendar watch spends several hours around midnight with its date and day wheels already engaged and slowly turning over. Forcing the quick-set while those parts are under load is how a calendar jumper gets bent. The safe habit is to move the hands to roughly 6 or 7 o’clock first, set the calendar, then set the time — and remember that a watch with a 12-hour dial has no idea whether you mean morning or evening, so wind the hands past 12 once to confirm the date flips before you settle on the time. The exact window varies by caliber — our guide to setting an automatic covers the general rule; the figure quoted above is Seiko’s own, for this movement.

The second thing worth knowing: none of these is a perpetual calendar. Seiko states plainly that the date needs adjusting by hand at the end of February and every 30-day month. That is five corrections a year on any watch on this page. If that sounds tedious, it is the strongest practical argument for either wearing the watch constantly or storing it properly so the corrections stay predictable.

What a day window actually costs you

Three trade-offs, in the order they matter.

Dial space. A day and a date at three o’clock is a wide aperture, and it eats the 3 marker entirely. On a busy dive dial that is invisible; on a clean dress dial it breaks the symmetry, which is why Seiko keeps the 4R35 in the Presage line and the 4R36 in the 5 Sports and Prospex lines. If you want a dress automatic, the honest answer is usually to give up the day — our dress roundup is built on exactly that assumption.

More resetting, not less. Two displays to correct instead of one, five times a year, plus every time the watch stops. An automatic with roughly 40 hours of reserve that comes off on Friday evening is stopped by Sunday lunchtime; that is normal, not a fault, and why an automatic stops covers it. This is also the one genuine case where a winder earns its keep — not for the movement’s sake, but because you stop resetting a calendar you hate resetting.

Not much thickness, and no accuracy penalty. Seiko publishes 13.4mm for the 4R36-powered SRPD65 and 13.4mm for the 4R36-powered SRPG57, and the 4R35 Presage references in the same catalog are not meaningfully thinner for losing the day. The accuracy figure is identical across the family: +45 to -35 seconds a day. The day wheel is an extra part, not an extra compromise.

How to choose between the seven

All seven publish the same calendar, so the decision comes down to three specifications that are also published.

Crystal. Only two picks here have sapphire: the Orient Kamasu and the Citizen Fugu. Everything else is mineral or Seiko’s Hardlex, which scratches. Over five years that is the difference you will actually notice, and the sapphire versus mineral comparison works through what the hardness figures mean in practice. It is also the entire Kamasu-versus-Mako-II decision — same movement, same case, same calendar, different glass.

Water resistance, and the word on the dial. Orient publishes 200m with a screw-down crown for all three of its divers here. Seiko publishes “10 bar” for the 5 Sports references and “200m diver’s” for the SRPG57 — and that word diver’s is regulated, not marketing. Citizen describes the Fugu as ISO compliant with a screw-down crown at 200 meters. Our water resistance guide explains what each marking permits.

Size, measured properly. The published diameters here run 39.4mm to 44mm, and diameter is the less useful number. Seiko publishes 48.1mm lug-to-lug for the 39.4mm SRPG35 and 46.0mm for the much wider 42.5mm SRPD65 — the smaller watch has the longer lug span. Orient publishes 47mm for both the Kamasu and the Mako II and 50.5mm for the 44mm Kanno, which is the number that makes the Kanno a big-wrist watch rather than just a wide one. The watch size guide covers measuring your own wrist, and the big-wrist roundup is the page to read if 44mm sounds right.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best automatic watch with a day-date?

On our rule - the day and the date both published by the maker for that exact reference - the Orient Kamasu leads: Orient's own sheet lists caliber F6922 with day, date, hacking and hand-winding, a sapphire crystal, 200m and a screw-down crown. The Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65 is the pick if the service network and parts availability matter more than the crystal.

Which automatic movements have both a day and a date?

Among the calibers on this page: Seiko's 4R36 (Seiko publishes a 'date/day of the week display'), Orient's F6922, and Citizen's 8200 and 8204. The near-identical siblings do not - Seiko's 4R35 and 4R37 are date only, Seiko's 4R34 spends the day wheel on a GMT hand, and Citizen's 8210 is date only per the manual it shares with the 8200.

Why do so few automatic watches have a day of the week?

Because the day wheel is a caliber-level decision made before the watch is designed, and because it costs dial space. A day and date aperture at three o'clock removes the 3 marker and unbalances a clean dial, so makers keep the day-date calibers in their sports and tool lines and the date-only calibers in their dress lines.

When should you not set the day and date on an automatic watch?

Seiko's own instructions for the 4R36 say: do not set the date or the day of the week between 9:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m. During that window the calendar is already engaged and turning over, and forcing the quick-set can leave the date or day failing to change the next day, or damage the mechanism. Move the hands to about 6 o'clock first, then set the calendar.

Is there a cheap automatic watch with a real day-date?

Confirmed, the cheapest on this page is the Orient Mako II at around the $240 mark - caliber F6922 with the day-date published on Orient's own sheet. Plenty of sub-$150 automatics appear to show a day window, but their makers publish no caliber specification at all, so there is nothing to check the claim against. We do not list a specification we cannot source.

Do day-date automatic watches need adjusting every month?

Yes, in the months that are not 31 days long. None of these is a perpetual calendar, and Seiko states that the date needs correcting by hand at the end of February and every 30-day month - five corrections a year. The day of the week looks after itself as long as the watch keeps running.

Sources

  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Seiko - How to set the time, date, and day of the week (caliber 4R36) — Seiko's own setting instructions for the 4R36. The date and the day of the week are both set from the FIRST crown click and the time from the second, and Seiko cautions: 'Do not set the date or the day of the week between 9:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m.' - doing so 'may cause problems such as the date or the day of the week failing to change the next day or may cause damage.' The same document instructs adjusting the date by hand at the end of February and every 30-day month. Note that the sibling page for the 4R35 is titled 'How to set the time and date' - no day of the week (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • Seiko Service USA — 4R35B / 4R36A technical data sheet (PDF) — Seiko's official service data sheet for the 4R35B/4R36A calibers (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Seiko - 5 Sports SRPD65 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SRPD65: caliber 4R36, automatic with manual winding, approx. 41h reserve, 42.5mm diameter, 13.4mm thick, 46.0mm lug-to-lug, Hardlex, LumiBrite on hands and index(es), a unidirectional rotating bezel and a see-through screw case back. Water resistance is stated as '10 bar' - NOT a diver's rating - and no screw-down crown is listed (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Seiko - 5 Sports SRPG31 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SRPG31: caliber 4R36, approx. 41h reserve, 39.4mm diameter, 13.2mm thick, 48.1mm lug-to-lug, curved Hardlex, 10 bar water resistance and LumiBrite on hands and index(es) (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Seiko - Prospex SRPG57 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SRPG57: caliber 4R36, approx. 41h reserve, 42.4mm diameter, 13.4mm thick, 49.4mm lug-to-lug, Hardlex with magnified glass, '200m / 660ft diver's' water resistance, a screw-down crown, a unidirectional rotating bezel, a screw case back, and LumiBrite on hands, index(es) AND bezel (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Seiko - 5 Sports GMT SSK003 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SSK003: caliber 4R34, automatic with manual winding, approx. 41h reserve, 24 jewels, 42.5mm diameter, 13.6mm thick, Hardlex with magnified glass, a 22mm band width (Seiko's "distance between lugs"), 10 bar water resistance, magnetic resistance 4,800 A/m, 161.0g (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — Kamasu RA-AA0003R39B specification — Orient's published sheet for the Kamasu: caliber F6922 automatic, hand-winding, hacking; approximately 40 hours reserve; sapphire crystal; 41.88mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 12.8mm thick, 22mm lugs; 200m; screw-down crown; 120-click unidirectional bezel; three-year warranty (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — Mako II FAA02009D9 specification — Orient's published sheet for the Mako II: caliber F6922, approximately 40 hours reserve, MINERAL crystal, 41.5mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 13mm thick, 22mm lugs, 200m, screw-down crown, 120-click unidirectional bezel (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — Kanno RA-AA0913L19B specification — Orient's published sheet for the Kanno: caliber F6922, approximately 40 hours reserve, mineral crystal, 44mm diameter, 50.5mm lug-to-lug, 12.9mm thick, 22mm lugs, 200m, screw-down crown, 120-click unidirectional bezel (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Citizen - Promaster Dive Automatic NY0154-51L product specification — Citizen's own listing for the reimagined 1989 Promaster Fugu: caliber 8204 automatic with day-date, a 3-piece 44mm case, 20mm lugs, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, luminous hands and markers, a serrated rotating bezel, and 'ISO compliant with a screw-down crown and water resistant to 200 meters' (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Calibers 8200 / 8210 instruction manual (PDF) — Citizen's own manual for calibers 8200 and 8210: 21,600 oscillations per hour, automatic winding, a quick-set date, and a day of week on the 8200 only. Citizen recommends winding the crown manually 5 to 10 times to start the watch. The manual states no daily accuracy figure (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Caliber 8203/8204 instruction manual (NY0 series, PDF) — Citizen's own manual for the NY0 series: the 8204 has an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds (the 8203 -10 to +20), about 42 hours when fully wound, 21,600 beats per hour, a manual winding function and a second-hand stop function (8204 only). Citizen notes the stated accuracy is static accuracy at normal temperature and varies with mainspring wind, position and environment (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading