Dial & Lume

Best Seiko Prospex Watches: 6 Automatics on Seiko's Own Numbers

Six automatic Prospex divers ranked on the specification sheet Seiko publishes for each reference - diameter, thickness, crystal and what the 200m marking actually certifies. No nicknames we cannot source.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

For most people the Prospex to buy is the Seiko Prospex SRPG57: it is the cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver’s marking on the dial, and at 42.4mm across and 13.4mm thick it is the most wearable of the lot. If you want a steel bracelet in the box rather than a strap you will replace, the SRPE27is the only reference here that pairs that 42.4mm case with a steel bracelet on Seiko’s own listing — the other two bracelet references are both 45mm. And if you only buy one Prospex and want the crystal complaint solved, the SRPK01 is the single reference here Seiko publishes a sapphirecrystal for — at the cost of a 45mm cushion case.

Prospex is not a watch, it is Seiko’s sports line — short for Professional Specifications — and it spans dive watches, field watches and pilot watches across mechanical, Solar and quartz power. That makes “best Seiko Prospex” a question nobody can answer honestly without saying what they filtered on first, so here is the filter: automatic only, and Seiko has to publish a specification sheet for the exact reference. Everything below is a 200m automatic diver with a screw-down crown that Seiko documents itself.

That rule does real work. It removes the Solar and quartz Prospex references entirely, which are a large share of the line and not what this site covers. It removes the Japan-market SPB and SBDC references you will see on Amazon at import prices, because Seiko’s US site publishes no sheet for them. And it removes the nicknames: collectors call these watches Turtles, Samurai and Monsters, and Seiko prints almost none of those words. Where a listing uses a nickname Seiko does not, this page says so rather than repeating it.

What is left is six references that differ on four lines of the same sheet: caliber, diameter, thickness and crystal. We have not handled any of them. Every specification below was read from Seiko’s own product page on the date printed in each spec table, and every price comes from an automated daily check with the date stamped on it.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceMovementCase sizeWater resistanceCrystal
1
Seiko Prospex SRPG57

Seiko Prospex SRPG57

The cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver's marking on the dial, and the single most useful watch in this comparison. It runs the same 4R36 as the Seiko 5 Sports, in a case the same thickness and a tenth of a millimeter narrower - what the extra money actually buys is a screw-down crown, a 200m diver's rating and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands.

Best overall
$440.00 · View on Amazon

$550.0020% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)42.4 mm200 mHardlex with magnified glass
2
Seiko Prospex PADI SRPE27

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPE27

The Prospex to buy if you want the diver's case AND a steel bracelet without paying Turtle money. Seiko publishes the 4R36, 42.4mm across, 13.39mm thick, 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' and LumiBrite hands and markers for this exact reference - and it is one of the very few Prospex references where Seiko's own page, not the retail listing, carries the PADI Special Edition name. It ships on a tri-fold bracelet with a lock and a diver's extender, which is the difference between a watch you wear and a watch you keep meaning to buy a strap for.

Best bracelet
$535.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)42.4 mm200 mHardlex
3
Seiko Prospex PADI SRPK01

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPK01

The only current Prospex Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal for, and the answer to the line's oldest complaint. Seiko's page for this reference states sapphire with an anti-reflective coating on the inner surface, a 200m rating 'suitable for scuba diving', the 4R36, and a steel bracelet with a tri-fold clasp, a secure lock and a diver's extender - all in the cushion case collectors call the Turtle, though Seiko itself does not print that word on the page. The cost of entry is size: 45mm across.

Best crystal
$569.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)45 mm200 mSapphire (anti-reflective)
4
Seiko Prospex Automatic Diver SRPL15

Seiko Prospex Automatic Diver SRPL15

The slim one. At 12.3mm thick and 41.7mm across, this is the thinnest and narrowest 200m automatic Prospex Seiko currently publishes a sheet for - more than a millimeter slimmer than the 4R36 divers and two narrower than the SRPF03 - and it still carries the 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' rating, LumiBrite hands and markers and a black hard-coated steel case. Buy it because it fits, not because it is cheap: it costs more than the better-specified SRPE27.

Best slim case
$574.65 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R35 (automatic + hand-winding)41.7 mm200 mHardlex
5
Seiko Prospex SRPF03

Seiko Prospex SRPF03

The clearest case of lume being a specification rather than a garnish. Seiko's own page for this reference states LumiBrite on the hands and indexes alongside a 200m diver's rating, and Prospex is the line where Seiko lays the material on thickly enough for it to still matter at 3am. You are paying for the dive case and the luminous material; the 4R35 inside is the same movement family that powers watches costing half as much.

Best lume
$439.98 · View on Amazon

$550.0020% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R35 (automatic + hand-winding)43.8 mm200 mHardlex
6
Seiko Prospex SRPE99

Seiko Prospex SRPE99

The big one. Same 4R36 and the same 13.4mm thickness as everything else here, but a 45.0mm case, and that is the whole decision - it is either the Seiko that finally looks like a proper tool watch on your wrist or the one that overhangs it. Seiko publishes the diver's rating, the screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the bezel; the retail listing adds the PADI Special Edition designation.

Best for a big wrist
$459.98 · View on Amazon

$575.0020% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)45 mm200 mHardlex

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on August 31, September 1 and October 12, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 13, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Seiko Prospex SRPG57

The cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver's marking on the dial, and the single most useful watch in this comparison. It runs the same 4R36 as the Seiko 5 Sports, in a case the same thickness and a tenth of a millimeter narrower - what the extra money actually buys is a screw-down crown, a 200m diver's rating and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's rating with a screw-down crown and unidirectional bezel
  • Seiko states LumiBrite on hands, indexes AND bezel - the 5 Sports omits the bezel
  • 42.4mm and 13.4mm, so no thicker or wider than the 5 Sports it replaces

Trade-offs

  • 49.4mm lug-to-lug wears noticeably longer than the 5 Sports' 46.0mm
  • Hardlex mineral crystal, not sapphire, at well over $400
  • Solid screw case back - you lose the 5 Sports' view of the movement
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.4 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex with magnified glass
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. This is the reference that makes the whole Seiko 5 versus Prospex argument concrete. Seiko publishes both: 4R36 and approximately 41 hours on each, 42.5mm/13.4mm on the SRPD65 against 42.4mm/13.4mm here. The movement and the case size are not what you are paying for.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best bracelet

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPE27

The Prospex to buy if you want the diver's case AND a steel bracelet without paying Turtle money. Seiko publishes the 4R36, 42.4mm across, 13.39mm thick, 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' and LumiBrite hands and markers for this exact reference - and it is one of the very few Prospex references where Seiko's own page, not the retail listing, carries the PADI Special Edition name. It ships on a tri-fold bracelet with a lock and a diver's extender, which is the difference between a watch you wear and a watch you keep meaning to buy a strap for.

Strengths

  • Seiko's own page states 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' and that the watch follows ISO standards for scuba diving
  • 42.4mm and 13.39mm - the most wearable diameter in Seiko's current 4R36 dive line
  • Steel bracelet with a tri-fold push-button clasp, a lock and a diver's extender, included

Trade-offs

  • Hardlex mineral crystal, not sapphire, at well over $500
  • Seiko does not name the bezel material on its specification page, so we do not either
  • The blue-and-red PADI bezel is a strong look - it is not a watch that disappears under a cuff
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.4 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Seiko publishes 24 jewels and approximately 41 hours for the 4R36 inside this reference, and states the movement 'can be wound manually or automatically'. The specification sheet lists a length of 49.35mm; Seiko does not label that figure lug-to-lug, so neither do we.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best crystal

Seiko Prospex PADI SRPK01

The only current Prospex Seiko publishes a sapphire crystal for, and the answer to the line's oldest complaint. Seiko's page for this reference states sapphire with an anti-reflective coating on the inner surface, a 200m rating 'suitable for scuba diving', the 4R36, and a steel bracelet with a tri-fold clasp, a secure lock and a diver's extender - all in the cushion case collectors call the Turtle, though Seiko itself does not print that word on the page. The cost of entry is size: 45mm across.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal with an anti-reflective inner coating, on Seiko's own specification page
  • 13.22mm thick - thinner than every other 45mm reference Seiko publishes a sheet for
  • Steel bracelet with a tri-fold push-button clasp, secure lock and diver's extender, included

Trade-offs

  • 45mm across, with a 47.7mm length - it will overhang a wrist under about 7 inches
  • The dearest pick in Seiko's current 4R36 dive line by a clear margin
  • The patterned blue gradient dial is a Special Edition look, not a neutral one
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size45 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire (anti-reflective)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Seiko's own page titles this reference 'Prospex PADI Special Edition' and publishes 45mm x 13.22mm, a 47.7mm length, caliber 4R36 with 24 jewels and approximately 41 hours, sapphire with an inner anti-reflective coating, LumiBrite hands and markers with a blue glow, and 'Automatic with manual winding capability'. Seiko does not label the 47.7mm figure lug-to-lug, so neither do we. Amazon carries the same reference under several import listings at $695 and up; the entry here points at the cheapest live one.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best slim case

Seiko Prospex Automatic Diver SRPL15

The slim one. At 12.3mm thick and 41.7mm across, this is the thinnest and narrowest 200m automatic Prospex Seiko currently publishes a sheet for - more than a millimeter slimmer than the 4R36 divers and two narrower than the SRPF03 - and it still carries the 200m 'suitable for scuba diving' rating, LumiBrite hands and markers and a black hard-coated steel case. Buy it because it fits, not because it is cheap: it costs more than the better-specified SRPE27.

Strengths

  • 41.7mm across and 12.3mm thick on Seiko's own sheet - the slimmest current 200m Prospex
  • 200m 'suitable for scuba diving', LumiBrite hands and markers, and a screw-down crown
  • Black hard coating over the steel case, which hides the scuffs a polished case shows

Trade-offs

  • Hardlex mineral crystal at around $575 - the dearest-per-specification pick on this page
  • The 4R35 is date-only: no day wheel, unlike the 4R36 references
  • Silicone strap, not a bracelet - the cheaper SRPE27 includes steel
MovementSeiko 4R35 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size41.7 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Amazon's listing title calls this a 'Samurai'. Seiko's own page for the reference does not use that word anywhere - it is titled 'Prospex Automatic Diver' - so this entry does not claim the name. What Seiko does publish: caliber 4R35, 23 jewels, approximately 41 hours, 41.7mm x 12.3mm, Hardlex, 200m, LumiBrite hands and markers, a stainless steel case with a black hard coating on a black silicone strap, and that the movement 'can be wound manually or automatically'.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best lume

Seiko Prospex SRPF03

The clearest case of lume being a specification rather than a garnish. Seiko's own page for this reference states LumiBrite on the hands and indexes alongside a 200m diver's rating, and Prospex is the line where Seiko lays the material on thickly enough for it to still matter at 3am. You are paying for the dive case and the luminous material; the 4R35 inside is the same movement family that powers watches costing half as much.

Strengths

  • Seiko states LumiBrite on the hands and indexes for this exact reference
  • 200m diver's rating with the 4R35 automatic, hacking and hand-winding
  • Seiko publishes an actual glow figure for LumiBrite rather than calling it 'luminous'

Trade-offs

  • 43.8mm across and 13.4mm thick - a genuinely large watch
  • Hardlex mineral crystal, not sapphire, at a price where rivals fit sapphire
  • Date only, no day - the 4R35 is the 4R36 without the day wheel
MovementSeiko 4R35 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size43.8 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Seiko's published LumiBrite figure is why this is the reference pick: charged at more than 500 lux for about 10 minutes, Seiko states the material emits light for about 3 to 5 hours in the dark. Nobody else in this price band publishes a figure at all.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best for a big wrist

Seiko Prospex SRPE99

The big one. Same 4R36 and the same 13.4mm thickness as everything else here, but a 45.0mm case, and that is the whole decision - it is either the Seiko that finally looks like a proper tool watch on your wrist or the one that overhangs it. Seiko publishes the diver's rating, the screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the bezel; the retail listing adds the PADI Special Edition designation.

Strengths

  • 45.0mm 200m diver's case with a screw-down crown and unidirectional bezel
  • LumiBrite on hands, indexes and bezel, per Seiko's own specification
  • Three-fold clasp with a secure lock and a diver's extender

Trade-offs

  • 45.0mm is too much watch for a lot of wrists - measure before you buy
  • The most expensive watch in this comparison, on Hardlex rather than sapphire
  • The PADI designation is on the retail listing, not on Seiko's specification page
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size45 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalHardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Seiko files this under Prospex Sea and does not describe the case shape on its specification page, so we do not claim one - what is published is 45.0mm across and 13.4mm thick, which is a large watch by any measure.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What Seiko publishes, reference by reference

The whole decision is in this table. Four of the six run the same caliber, five of the six fit the same crystal, and all six carry the same water resistance — so what you are actually choosing between is a few millimeters of case and what is in the box:

ReferenceCaliberDiameter x thicknessCrystalStrap, as listed
SRPG574R3642.4 x 13.4 mmHardlex, magnifiedNot stated by Seiko
SRPE274R3642.4 x 13.39 mmHardlexSteel bracelet
SRPK014R3645.0 x 13.22 mmSapphire, AR-coatedSteel bracelet
SRPL154R3541.7 x 12.3 mmHardlexSilicone
SRPF034R3543.8 x 13.4 mmHardlexNot stated by Seiko
SRPE994R3645.0 x 13.4 mmHardlexSteel bracelet

Two things jump out of it. The first is that Seiko charges a wide range of money for one caliber: the 4R36 is 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations an hour and approximately 41 hours of reserve on every reference it appears in, and the 4R35 is the same movement without the day wheel. The second is that only one reference here gets sapphire, and it is not the most expensive one by much.

How we picked

Three criteria, applied before any of the writing:

1. Seiko has to publish the sheet for that exact reference. Not the caliber sheet, not a retailer’s spec block, not a forum consensus — Seiko’s own product page for the reference number on the caseback. That is why the accuracy column is empty on every pick: Seiko publishes +45 to -35 seconds a day for the 4R35/4R36 caliber, and does not restate it per reference, so we do not move the number into a field it was not written for.

2. It has to be a mechanical automatic. Prospex contains a great deal of Solar and quartz, including some genuinely excellent watches, and none of it belongs on a site about automatic watches. If a Prospex has a battery or a capacitor, it is not here.

3. Published specification beats reputation.Where a nickname and a sheet disagree, the sheet wins and the disagreement gets printed. The SRPL15 is the clearest case: Amazon’s listing title calls it a “Samurai” and Seiko’s own page for the reference does not use the word anywhere — it is titled simply “Prospex Automatic Diver”. We kept the watch, which is good, and dropped the name, which is not ours to assign.

What the 200m marking actually certifies

Every pick on this page is marked 200m and every one of them says “diver’s” rather than “water resistant”, and that is a legal distinction rather than a marketing one. Under ISO 6425 a watch may only be marked “Diver’s 200m” if it meets a defined set of requirements — a minimum 100m rating, a unidirectional or lockable elapsed-time bezel, legibility in the dark at 25cm, and testing of every individual watch rather than a sample of the batch. An ordinary water-resistance rating under ISO 22810 is a batch test and promises much less.

Seiko’s pages for these references state that the watch is “suitable for scuba diving” and follows ISO standards for scuba diving. That is the single biggest reason to buy a Prospex over a Seiko 5 Sports that looks almost identical: the 5 Sports diver-style references carry 100m of ordinary water resistance and no diver’s marking at all. Our water resistance guide explains why those two numbers are further apart in practice than they look, and Seiko 5 Sports vs Prospex puts the two lines side by side on the specifications Seiko publishes for both.

The line’s real weakness: Hardlex, not sapphire

Five of these six watches have a mineral crystal. Seiko calls its own formulation Hardlex, and it is better than ordinary glass, but the hardness ranking has not moved: on the Mohs scale glass sits at about 5.5, quartz at 7 and sapphire at 9. Everyday grit — sand, dust, the stuff on a kitchen worktop — is largely quartz, which is why a mineral crystal collects fine hairline scratches over a few years of daily wear and a sapphire one mostly does not.

At the prices these sell for, that is a genuine criticism rather than a quibble, and it is the one thing the Prospex line consistently loses on against watches costing half as much from Orient, Steeldive or any NH35-based micro brand with a sapphire crystal. The exception is the SRPK01: Seiko’s page for that reference publishes sapphire with an anti-reflective coating on the inner surface, in the 45mm cushion case — and it is the dearest watch on this page, which tells you what Seiko thinks the crystal is worth. If a scratch-free crystal is what you care about most, buy that one or buy outside Seiko — our automatics with a sapphire crystal roundup is the honest page for the second option, and the sapphire vs mineral comparison sets out how much the difference is worth paying for.

Which case size, in plain numbers

Three of the six are effectively the same watch at different diameters, so this is the decision most people are actually making:

  • 41.7mm and 12.3mm (SRPL15)— the slimmest 200m automatic Prospex Seiko currently publishes a sheet for. Thickness matters more than diameter under a shirt cuff, and this is the only pick here under 13mm.
  • 42.4mm (SRPG57, SRPE27)— the middle, and the two picks we would hand to someone buying their first dive watch. Both are 13.4mm or a hair under.
  • 43.8mm to 45.0mm (SRPF03, SRPK01, SRPE99)— big watches by any measure. For the SRPK01 Seiko also lists a 47.7mm length, and a figure like that decides whether a watch fits far better than the diameter does.

If your wrist is under about 6.5 inches, start at the top of that list and work down. Our watch size guide explains why lug-to-lug beats diameter for predicting fit, and the small-wrist automatics roundup covers the watches that fit when none of these do.

Lume, and the only maker that publishes a figure

Every pick here uses LumiBrite, Seiko’s own photoluminescent material, and Seiko is unusual in publishing what it does: charged at more than 500 lux for about ten minutes, LumiBrite emits light for about three to five hours in the dark, with no radioactive material involved. Nobody else in this price band publishes a figure at all, which is why the SRPF03carries the lume award on this page — Seiko’s page for that reference names LumiBrite on the hands and the indexes specifically.

Worth knowing where it is applied, too: on the diver’s references Seiko lists LumiBrite on the hands, the indexes and the bezel, which is the detail that makes an elapsed-time bezel usable in the dark rather than decorative. If lume is the whole reason you are shopping, our best lume watchesroundup compares Seiko’s material against the Swiss Super-LumiNova grades other makers name.

What we left off, and why

Four kinds of Prospex were excluded on the rules above rather than on quality, and it is worth being specific because all four come up in searches.

The Alpinist and the rest of the 6R35 SPB line.The green Alpinist is probably the most-searched Prospex there is, it is automatic, and it is genuinely a better watch than anything on this page — a 70-hour reserve, a sapphire crystal and an internal compass bezel. It is not here for a documentation reason: the references live on Amazon are Japan-market imports (SPB121J1 and similar), Seiko’s US site publishes no specification page for them, and we are not going to build a spec table out of dealer listings. It is also well over a thousand dollars on those listings, which is a different page from this one.

Solar and quartz Prospex. Excluded by definition. If a watch does not run on a wound mainspring it is outside what this site covers, and automatic vs quartz explains the trade honestly rather than pretending one is simply better.

The Samurai references.The SRPB51 is live and in stock as we write this, and it is listed at nearly twice what the SRPE27 costs for a watch with the same caliber and a thicker case. At that spread it is an import markup, not a watch recommendation. The SRPL-series references that listings label “Samurai” are here — one of them is a pick — under the name Seiko actually uses.

References that have stopped being purchasable. The SKX007 is the watch half the internet still recommends and Seiko stopped making it. The same churn happens inside the current line: the SRPF77, the sapphire-crystal cushion-case reference this site carded until this week, returned no live Amazon listing at all when we checked on 12 October 2026, which is why the sapphire pick above is the SRPK01 instead. We do not card a watch we cannot send you to a live listing for, and on Prospex that rule changes the picks more often than on any other line we cover.

If the money is the problem

Be honest with yourself about what the Prospex premium buys. Against a Seiko 5 Sports at roughly half the price you are getting a diver’s-rated case, a screw-down crown and lume on the bezel — the same caliber, usually the same thickness, and in the SRPG57’s case a diameter a tenth of a millimeter narrower. If you will never put the watch in water deeper than a swimming pool, that premium buys you very little, and the Seiko 5 roundup is the page to read instead.

Against the wider market it is a tougher argument. At Prospex money you can have an Orient with an in-house caliber and a sapphire crystal, or a 300m-rated NH35 diver with sapphire and a ceramic bezel, and you would be giving up Seiko’s service network and the ISO marking rather than any specification you can point at. The clearest single example of that trade is the Steeldive SD1970, which fits sapphire and ceramic for roughly half the price of the SRPG57 and borrows Seiko’s own 6105 case shape to do it. The other comparison worth making before you commit is Prospex against Citizen’s Promaster automatics, where the price gap and the documentation gap run in opposite directions. Our best automatic dive watches page is the cross-brand version of this one, and best Seiko automatics puts Prospex next to the 5 Sports, Presage and 5 Sports GMT lines if you have not settled on Prospex at all yet.

Living with one

These behave like any 4R35 or 4R36 automatic. They wind from wrist motion, they hold roughly 41 hours off the wrist before stopping, and they can be wound by hand from the crown — Seiko states manual and automatic winding on all of them, so you never have to shake a stopped watch awake. All four 4R36 references show a day as well as a date, and Seiko’s own setting instructions carry one caution worth repeating: do not set the date or the day of the week between 9:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m.

A screw-down crown has to actually be screwed down before the 200m rating means anything, which our guide to what a screw-down crown is covers. And if a Prospex is going to sit in a drawer between wears, you have the usual choice: reset it when you pick it up, or put it on a winder sized for a Seiko. We argue both sides of that in whether you need a winder at all, and the honest answer for one watch is usually no.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Seiko Prospex watch?

For most buyers the SRPG57: it is the cheapest reference Seiko sells with a diver's marking on the dial, and at 42.4mm across and 13.4mm thick it is the most wearable automatic Prospex Seiko publishes a sheet for. If you want a steel bracelet included at that size, the SRPE27 is the only one - the other bracelet references are 45mm. If you want sapphire, the SRPK01 is the only pick here that has it, in a 45mm cushion case.

What does Prospex mean?

Professional Specifications. It is Seiko's sports line rather than a model, and it covers dive, field and pilot watches in mechanical, Solar and quartz versions. That is why 'best Prospex' needs a filter before it can be answered: this page covers only the automatics Seiko publishes a specification page for.

Is a Seiko Prospex better than a Seiko 5 Sports?

For water it genuinely is. Prospex divers carry a 200m diver's rating tested per ISO 6425 on every individual watch, a screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the bezel; the diver-styled Seiko 5 Sports references carry 100m of ordinary water resistance and no diver's marking. Mechanically they are often identical - the same 4R36, the same approximately 41-hour reserve, frequently the same thickness. If the watch will never leave dry land, the 5 Sports is the better buy.

Do Seiko Prospex watches have sapphire crystals?

Mostly no, and it is the line's weakest point. Five of the six picks here are fitted with Hardlex, Seiko's own mineral crystal. The exception is the SRPK01, for which Seiko publishes sapphire with an anti-reflective coating on the inner surface. On the Mohs scale sapphire is 9 and glass about 5.5, and ordinary grit is largely quartz at 7 - which is why mineral crystals pick up hairlines over a few years and sapphire does not.

Which Seiko Prospex is the smallest?

Of the references Seiko currently publishes sheets for, the SRPL15 at 41.7mm across and 12.3mm thick - the only pick on this page under 13mm. The SRPG57 and SRPE27 are next at 42.4mm. The SRPF03 is 43.8mm and both the SRPK01 and SRPE99 are 45.0mm, which is a large watch by any measure.

Is the Seiko Alpinist a Prospex?

Yes - it sits in Prospex as a land watch rather than a diver, and it runs the 6R35 with a roughly 70-hour reserve and a sapphire crystal. It is not a pick here because the references actually purchasable are Japan-market imports such as the SPB121J1, Seiko's US site publishes no specification page for them, and we do not build spec tables out of dealer listings. It is also several times the price of everything above.

What is the difference between the 4R35 and the 4R36?

The day wheel. Both are automatic with hand-winding and a stop-seconds function, both run at 21,600 vibrations per hour with approximately 41 hours of reserve, and Seiko publishes +45 to -35 seconds per day for the family. The 4R36 adds a day-of-the-week display to the 4R35's date. On this page the SRPL15 and SRPF03 are date-only 4R35 references; the other four show both.

Can you dive with a Seiko Prospex?

These references are built for it - Seiko states they are suitable for scuba diving and follow ISO standards for scuba diving, which under ISO 6425 means each individual watch is tested rather than a sample of the batch. In practice you still need the crown screwed fully down, and the gaskets are a wear item: a watch that has never been pressure-tested since it left the factory is not a watch to take to depth on faith.

Sources

  • Seiko - Prospex PADI Special Edition SRPK01 product specification — Seiko's own US page for the SRPK01, titled 'Prospex PADI Special Edition': caliber 4R36 with 24 jewels, approximately 41 hours, a 45mm stainless steel case 13.22mm thick with a length of 47.7mm, SAPPHIRE crystal with an anti-reflective coating on the inner surface, 200 meters 'suitable for scuba diving' and following 'ISO standards for scuba diving', LumiBrite hands and markers with a blue glow, a patterned and gradated blue dial, and a stainless steel bracelet with a tri-fold push-button release clasp, secure lock and extender. Seiko states 'Automatic with manual winding capability'. The page does not label the 47.7mm figure lug-to-lug, and does not use the word 'Turtle' anywhere (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Seiko - Prospex PADI Special Edition SRPE27 product specification — Seiko's own US page for the SRPE27, titled 'Prospex PADI Special Edition': caliber 4R36 with 24 jewels, approximately 41 hours of power reserve, a 42.4mm stainless steel case 13.39mm thick (length listed as 49.35mm), Hardlex crystal, 200 meters / 660 feet 'suitable for scuba diving' and following 'ISO standards for scuba diving', LumiBrite hands and markers, a blue and red one-way rotating elapsed timing bezel, and a stainless steel bracelet with a tri-fold push-button release clasp with secure lock and extender. Seiko states the movement 'can be wound manually or automatically' and does not name the bezel material (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Seiko - Prospex Automatic Diver SRPL15 product specification — Seiko's own US page for the SRPL15, titled 'Prospex Automatic Diver': caliber 4R35 with 23 jewels, approximately 41 hours, a 41.7mm case 12.3mm thick (length listed as 49.5mm), Hardlex crystal, 200 meters / 660 feet 'suitable for scuba diving' and following 'ISO standards for scuba diving', LumiBrite hands and markers, a stainless steel case with a black hard coating, a black uni-directional rotating elapsed timing bezel, a black dial and a black silicone strap. Seiko states the movement 'can be wound manually or automatically'. The word 'Samurai' does not appear on Seiko's page for this reference, although Amazon's listing title uses it (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Seiko - Prospex SRPG57 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SRPG57: caliber 4R36, approx. 41h reserve, 42.4mm diameter, 13.4mm thick, 49.4mm lug-to-lug, Hardlex with magnified glass, '200m / 660ft diver's' water resistance, a screw-down crown, a unidirectional rotating bezel, a screw case back, and LumiBrite on hands, index(es) AND bezel (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • ISO 22810:2010 — Water-resistant watches — Defines the requirements, test methods and permitted markings for ordinary water-resistant watches (daily use / swimming, not scuba diving) (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Seiko — What is LumiBrite? (customer service FAQ) — Seiko's own figure for LumiBrite: exposed to more than 500 lux for about 10 minutes it emits light for about 3 to 5 hours in the dark, and it is completely free of radioactive material (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading