Dial & Lume

Citizen vs Bulova

This is not a fight between two companies. Citizen bought Bulova on January 10, 2008, and Citizen also owns Miyota - so the question is really which of two in-house brands tells you more about what you are buying. Six automatics compared, three a side, on what each maker actually publishes.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

Buy Citizenif you want to know what you own. Citizen names the caliber on the references most people buy — the 8210 in both Tsuyosasizes — and publishes a 42-hour power reserve, a hack feature, a sapphire crystal and a WR50 rating for each. Bulova names a caliber on none of the three references here. Buy Bulova for two things Citizen will not sell you at this money: the Marine Star 98B466 pairs an anti-reflective sapphire crystal with a stated WR200and a unidirectional bezel for less than Citizen’s cheapest mechanical Promaster diver, and the Sutton 96A330 is a 40mm skeleton dress watch with a domed sapphire that Citizen has no equivalent for. The honest symmetry: neitherbrand publishes an accuracy figure for a single one of these six watches. And the thing to know before you pick a side — Citizen has owned Bulova since 2008 and owns Miyota, the movement house, outright. You are choosing between two badges in one building.

The first thing to settle is that this is not a rivalry. Citizen Watch bought Bulova from Loews Corporation for $250 million on January 10, 2008, and lists Bulova Corporation among its principal group companies. Citizen also owns Miyota, the movement division it built in the town of Miyota, Nagano, in 1959 and launched as a brand in 1980 — the house behind an enormous share of the world’s affordable automatics, including plenty that are not Citizens or Bulovas.

So “Citizen vs Bulova” is a comparison between a parent company and a brand it has owned for eighteen years. Nobody is reverse-engineering anyone. The two brands sit in different places on purpose: Citizen sells engineering, a named caliber and a technical spec sheet; Bulova sells American design history, case shapes nobody else makes, and a price that undercuts Citizen on some specifications while publishing far less.

And the documentation gap is the real story, because it is measurable. Across the six watches below:

Citizen names the caliber on two of three— the 8210 in both Tsuyosas — and publishes a 42-hour reserve, a hack feature, a sapphire crystal and WR50 for each. On its third, the Promaster Dive Automatic, it publishes the 41mm case and the 200m diver’s rating and names nothing else. Bulova names the caliber on zero of three. It publishes a 42-hour reserve on two and a 40-hour reserve on the third, a crystal material on all three, and a water-resistance figure in meters on only one.

Bulova can do better, and we know it can, because on exactly one reference it does: Bulova’s own page for the Sutton 97A162 says its exhibition case back “offers a glimpse of the Miyota 8N2421-jewel automatic skeletonized movement”. That is a Citizen-group caliber, and Miyota publishes its figures in full: -20 to +40 sec/day, 21 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, about 42 hours of running time, with hand winding and a stop-second (hacking) device. Bulova simply declines to name the movement on the references most people actually buy — which is a choice, not a limitation.

Every figure below was read from each maker’s own US product page, except the bracelet Promaster, whose only live source is its retail listing. All were read on the date printed under the table. We have not handled any of these watches, and where a maker publishes nothing the table says “Not published”.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceCase sizeCrystalWater resistance
1
Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)

Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)

The integrated-bracelet sports watch look, at a fraction of the watches that started the trend. A sunburst dial, a slim case and a comfortable bracelet make the Tsuyosa the affordable way to scratch that particular itch — with Citizen's own automatic movement inside.

Best overall
$356.25 · View on Amazon

$495.0028% off

Price as of November 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

40 mmSapphire50 m
2
Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

The one Bulova automatic whose specification sheet stands up next to a Japanese diver at the same money, and the only watch in this registry whose MAKER states the dial color in words rather than leaving it to a photograph. Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR200, a 41mm case, a 42-hour reserve, a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back - and then declines to name the caliber behind it.

Best Bulova
$412.50 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

41 mmAnti-reflective sapphire200 m
3
Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

The same Tsuyosa, three millimeters narrower. Citizen publishes the identical caliber 8210, sapphire crystal, 50m rating, 42-hour reserve and hack feature for the 37mm NJ0200 as for the 40mm NJ0150 - the only line that changes on its spec sheet is the case width. If integrated-bracelet watches tend to look large on you, this is the Tsuyosa to buy.

Best smaller size
$356.25 · View on Amazon

$396.0010% off

Price as of November 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

37 mmSapphire50 m
4
Bulova Sutton Automatic Skeleton 96A330 (40mm)

Bulova Sutton Automatic Skeleton 96A330 (40mm)

The open-dial Sutton at 40mm instead of 43mm, and the only one of the two Bulova publishes a sapphire crystal for. You can read the movement through the dial, Bulova states 21 jewels and 42 hours of reserve, and the case is a size that suits a wrist rather than a watch counter. What you give up is water resistance: Bulova's details panel says 'Splash Resistant' and prints no meter figure at all.

Best dress watch
$369.84 · View on Amazon

$625.0041% off

Price as of November 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

40 mmAnti-reflective domed sapphireNot published
5
Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Best diver
$549.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

41 mmNot published200 m
6
Bulova Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 (41mm)

Bulova Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 (41mm)

The least expensive automatic Bulova currently sells, and a straightforward dress watch: 41mm steel, a double-curved mineral box crystal, an exhibition case back, 40 hours of published reserve and a croco-embossed leather strap. Bulova states 30 meters in the description and 'Splash Resistant' in the details panel, which is the honest reading of 30m anyway.

Best value
$290.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of November 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

41 mmDouble-curved mineral box30 m

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on September 22, September 30 and October 26, 2026. Prices checked live — as of November 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)

The integrated-bracelet sports watch look, at a fraction of the watches that started the trend. A sunburst dial, a slim case and a comfortable bracelet make the Tsuyosa the affordable way to scratch that particular itch — with Citizen's own automatic movement inside.

Strengths

  • On-trend integrated bracelet and sunburst dial
  • Citizen in-house automatic movement
  • Wears slim and comfortable for an everyday watch

Trade-offs

  • 50m water resistance — splash-proof, not a swimmer
  • Movement is reliable rather than high-accuracy
MovementCitizen 8210 (Miyota-based, automatic)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size40 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Tsuyosa rode the integrated-bracelet wave and became a genuine hit by delivering the silhouette honestly and cheaply. One caveat worth knowing: the earliest units did not hack, while current production does — Citizen doesn't publish a daily accuracy figure either way.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best Bulova

Bulova Marine Star Series B 98B466 (41mm)

The one Bulova automatic whose specification sheet stands up next to a Japanese diver at the same money, and the only watch in this registry whose MAKER states the dial color in words rather than leaving it to a photograph. Bulova publishes an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR200, a 41mm case, a 42-hour reserve, a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back - and then declines to name the caliber behind it.

Strengths

  • Anti-reflective sapphire crystal at a price where Seiko still ships Hardlex
  • WR200 with a unidirectional bezel and a crystal case back, all on Bulova's own page
  • Bulova describes the dial precisely: a sunray that reads bright blue at the center and black toward the edge

Trade-offs

  • Bulova names no caliber for this reference, so there is no published accuracy figure
  • No case thickness or lug-to-lug published - the 41mm width is the only sizing number you get
  • Not an ISO 6425 certified diver; WR200 is a water-resistance rating, not a dive certification
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size41 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalAnti-reflective sapphire
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Bulova's page for this reference reads 'Sunray dial shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge', a 'Unidirectional bezel with bi-color aluminum insert' and a 20mm lug width on a premium H-link bracelet. It is the most complete spec sheet Bulova publishes for any automatic in this registry, and it still has no caliber on it.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best smaller size

Citizen Tsuyosa 37mm (NJ0200-50M)

The same Tsuyosa, three millimeters narrower. Citizen publishes the identical caliber 8210, sapphire crystal, 50m rating, 42-hour reserve and hack feature for the 37mm NJ0200 as for the 40mm NJ0150 - the only line that changes on its spec sheet is the case width. If integrated-bracelet watches tend to look large on you, this is the Tsuyosa to buy.

Strengths

  • Same 8210 caliber, sapphire crystal and 42-hour reserve Citizen lists for the 40mm Tsuyosa
  • 37mm case width - the smallest Citizen automatic we could find live on Amazon
  • Hack feature listed on Citizen's own page for this reference

Trade-offs

  • 50m rating - fine for rain and a shower, not for regular swimming
  • Integrated bracelet, so no strap changes, and Citizen publishes no thickness or lug-to-lug to size it from
  • Fewer dial colors live than the 40mm: three other 37mm listings showed as unavailable on our September 22, 2026 check
MovementCitizen 8210 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size37 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Citizen's own spec pages for the 37mm NJ0200-50M and the 40mm NJ0150-56E differ in exactly one line: case width. Caliber, crystal, water resistance, power reserve and the hack feature are identical, so choose between them on your wrist rather than on the movement.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best dress watch

Bulova Sutton Automatic Skeleton 96A330 (40mm)

The open-dial Sutton at 40mm instead of 43mm, and the only one of the two Bulova publishes a sapphire crystal for. You can read the movement through the dial, Bulova states 21 jewels and 42 hours of reserve, and the case is a size that suits a wrist rather than a watch counter. What you give up is water resistance: Bulova's details panel says 'Splash Resistant' and prints no meter figure at all.

Strengths

  • Anti-reflective domed sapphire crystal - the 43mm 96A208 Sutton gets domed mineral
  • 40mm case width, which is the most wearable size in Bulova's automatic range
  • Bulova publishes 21 jewels and 42 hours of power reserve for this reference

Trade-offs

  • 'Splash Resistant' with no meter figure published - treat it as a dress watch only
  • Bulova names no caliber, so there is no accuracy figure to hold it to
  • Blue applied indices on an open dial - this is not a blue-dial watch, which the photographs can imply
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size40 mm
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalAnti-reflective domed sapphire
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Bulova's page states a '21-jewel skeletonized automatic movement' with '42-hours of power reserve' and names no caliber. Those three figures - 21 jewels, 42 hours, skeletonized - match the published sheet for the Miyota 8N24 that Bulova DOES name on its 97A162 page, but Bulova does not name it here, so neither do we.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best diver

Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm

The Citizen automatic to buy if one watch has to do the whole week, pool included. The listing states a 41mm steel case on a steel bracelet with an automatic movement, a day-date and luminous hands, and the dial itself is marked AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m - so unlike the Tsuyosa it swims, and unlike the Tsuyosa it takes a strap. What it is not is a dress watch: this is a bezel-and-bracelet tool watch with an amber gradient dial.

Strengths

  • 200m diver's marking on the dial - four times the Tsuyosa's 50m
  • Day-date and luminous hands and markers, on a steel bracelet rather than a strap
  • 41mm is the most wearable case width in Citizen's mechanical dive range

Trade-offs

  • Citizen does not name the caliber on this listing, and publishes no crystal, thickness or power-reserve figure for it
  • A rotating dive bezel on every outfit, which is a lot of watch for a desk week
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size41 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The Sport Automatic NH7530-52M that used to sit here is still sold on Citizen's own site but has no live Amazon listing, so it was replaced rather than parked. This is the Citizen automatic that honours the same brief - it swims and it takes any strap - and it does it on a 200m diver's marking rather than the NH7530's 100m. It is a different reference from the budget Promaster Dive on this site: that one is the NY0129-07L on a polyurethane strap, this one is the bracelet version with the amber dial.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best value

Bulova Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 (41mm)

The least expensive automatic Bulova currently sells, and a straightforward dress watch: 41mm steel, a double-curved mineral box crystal, an exhibition case back, 40 hours of published reserve and a croco-embossed leather strap. Bulova states 30 meters in the description and 'Splash Resistant' in the details panel, which is the honest reading of 30m anyway.

Strengths

  • 40 hours of power reserve published for the reference, which Bulova does not do on every line
  • Double-curved mineral box crystal and an exhibition case back at the bottom of the range
  • 41mm on a 20mm leather strap - a dress watch you can re-strap for about $20

Trade-offs

  • 30 meters is hand-washing and rain, not swimming
  • Mineral crystal on a box profile, which is the shape most exposed to a knock
  • Bulova's own page calls the dial gray in the description and black in the page title, and names no caliber
MovementNot published
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41 mm
Water resistance30 m
CrystalDouble-curved mineral box
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The dial color on this reference is genuinely ambiguous in Bulova's own words: the product description says 'open aperture gray dial' while the page title says 'Black Dial'. That is a documentation problem rather than a quality one, and it is the reason this watch is not on any of our color-led lists.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Five things one brand publishes and the other does not

1. The caliber

Citizen names the 8210 on both Tsuyosas, and its own manual for the 8200/8210 family states 21,600 oscillations per hour, automatic winding and a quick-set date. Elsewhere in the Promaster line Citizen names the 8204 (day-date) and the higher-grade 9051, and publishes accuracy bands for both — -20 to +40 sec/day for the 8204 and -10 to +20 for the 9051.

Bulova names nothing on the Marine Star 98B466, the Sutton 96A330 or the Aerojet 98A187. The 96A330 gets as close as Bulova gets without naming it: “the dial reveals the captivating mechanics of the 21-jewel skeletonized automatic movement, which offers 42-hours of power reserve”. Twenty-one jewels and forty-two hours, with no caliber attached — which, read next to the published Miyota 8N24 figures, tells you roughly where you are without telling you anything you could verify.

2. Accuracy — where neither brand covers itself in glory

Neither maker publishes an accuracy figure for any of these six watches. That matters more against Citizen than Bulova, because Citizen demonstrably can: it publishes -20 to +40 for the 8204, -10 to +20 for the 8203 and -10 to +20 for the 9051, and even notes that those are static figures at normal temperature which vary with wind, position and environment. For the 8210 in the Tsuyosa, Citizen’s own manual states no daily accuracy figure at all.

The practical reading: at this price, expect a mechanical watch running within roughly a handful of seconds either side of the Miyota-class bands above, and do not treat an unpublished figure as a promise. If a rate specification matters to you, the brand that publishes one on the reference you are buying is Seiko — see Bulova vs Seiko, where the same documentation argument runs with a different answer.

3. Crystal: Bulova’s clearest win

Citizen puts sapphire on both Tsuyosas (anti-reflective on the 37mm) and publishes no crystal material at all for the bracelet Promaster Automatic. Bulova puts an anti-reflective sapphire on the 98B466, an anti-reflective domed sapphire on the 96A330, and a double-curved mineral box crystal on the Aerojet.

Two sapphires out of three on the Bulova side, including on the cheapest 200m diver in this comparison, is the strongest single argument for the American badge. The hardness figures behind why that matters are in our sapphire vs mineral crystal comparison.

4. Water resistance, stated in meters

This is where Bulova’s paperwork gets slippery. The 98B466 states WR200(20 bar, 666 ft, suitable for swimming, showering and snorkeling) — a real figure with real guidance. But the Sutton 96A330 states only “WR [Splash Resistant]” with no meter figure, and the Aerojet gives 30 meters in its description while its own details panel also reads “WR [Splash Resistant]”.

Citizen is consistent: WR50 (“Still Water Swimming”) on both Tsuyosas, and a diver’s 200m on the Promaster, which has “AUTOMATIC DIVER’S 200m” printed on the dial. Elsewhere in the line Citizen goes further and states ISO compliance with a screw-down crown. If you plan to swim in the watch, our water-resistance guide explains why “splash resistant” with no number is the one answer you should not accept.

5. The hack feature, and why it is the one you will notice

Citizen publishes a “Hack Feature”in the movement-functions list for both Tsuyosas. That means the seconds hand stops when you pull the crown, so you can set the watch to the second against a phone. Bulova publishes no such statement for any reference here — although the Miyota 8N24 it names on one other watch does have a stop-second device, so the capability plainly exists inside the group.

It is a small feature with an outsized effect on how a watch feels to own, and it is the clearest case on this page of Citizen’s documentation being worth money rather than just being tidier. Our guide to what hacking means on a watch covers why.

Which should you buy?

Buy Citizen if you want a named caliber, a published reserve, a hack feature and a sapphire crystal on a 37mm or 40mm everyday watch; if you want a diver with a genuine ISO-style 200m rating from a maker that publishes its mechanical calibers; or if the idea of not knowing what movement is in your watch bothers you. The 40mm Tsuyosa is the single best-documented watch in this comparison and the reason it takes the overall slot.

Buy Bulova ifyou want sapphire and a 200m rating in the same case for less than Citizen charges for its cheapest mechanical diver; if you want a 40mm skeleton dress watch with a domed sapphire, which Citizen does not offer; or if you simply prefer the way Bulova’s cases look, which is a perfectly good reason to buy a watch and the one Bulova is really selling.

Buy neither if a published accuracy band is on your list. Seiko publishes +45 / -35 sec/day for the 4R35/4R36 across most of its range, and neither brand on this page publishes a rate for any of these six references.

For the full lists either side of this comparison, see the best Citizen automatic watches and the best Bulova automatic watches. For the three-way version of the same question across the Japanese brands, Seiko vs Orient vs Citizen is the one to read.

Frequently asked questions

Is Bulova owned by Citizen?

Yes. Citizen Watch bought Bulova from Loews Corporation for $250 million on January 10, 2008, and lists Bulova Corporation among its principal group companies. Loews had owned Bulova since 1979. Citizen also owns Miyota, the movement division it built in Miyota, Nagano, in 1959 and launched as a brand in 1980 - so a Bulova automatic is a Citizen-group product with a Citizen-group movement under an American brand name.

Which is better, Citizen or Bulova?

On what is published, Citizen - it names the caliber on the references most people buy (the 8210 in both Tsuyosa sizes) and publishes a 42-hour reserve, a hack feature, a sapphire crystal and a WR50 rating for each, where Bulova names no caliber on any of the three references compared here. On what you get for the money, Bulova has two real wins: the Marine Star 98B466 puts an anti-reflective sapphire crystal on a stated WR200 case for less than Citizen's cheapest mechanical Promaster diver, and the 40mm Sutton 96A330 is a domed-sapphire skeleton dress watch Citizen has no equivalent for.

What movement is in a Bulova automatic?

Bulova does not say on most references, which is the honest answer. It names a caliber on exactly one watch in this registry: its own page for the Sutton 97A162 describes the exhibition case back as offering a glimpse of the Miyota 8N24 21-jewel automatic skeletonized movement. Miyota is Citizen's movement house, and it publishes the 8N24 in full: -20 to +40 sec/day, 21 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, about 42 hours of running time, with hand winding and a stop-second device. For the Marine Star 98B466, the Sutton 96A330 and the Aerojet 98A187, Bulova states 'automatic' and nothing more.

Do Citizen and Bulova automatics use the same movements?

They come from the same corporate family, and that is as far as the published information goes. Citizen names its own 8210, 8204 and 9051 calibers on its mechanical watches. Bulova names a Miyota 8N24 on one reference and names nothing on the rest. Miyota is wholly owned by Citizen. So the group supplies both, but no maker publishes a cross-reference, and this site does not assert that any specific unnamed Bulova movement is any specific Miyota caliber.

Does Citizen or Bulova publish an accuracy figure?

Not for any of the six watches compared here. Citizen does publish accuracy for other calibers in the same line - its own manuals state -20 to +40 sec/day for the 8204, -10 to +20 for the 8203, and -10 to +20 for the 9051 Promaster - and notes those are static figures that vary with wind, position and temperature. For the 8210 in the Tsuyosa, Citizen's manual states no figure. Bulova publishes no accuracy figure anywhere in this registry. If a published rate band matters, Seiko states +45 / -35 sec/day for the 4R35/4R36.

Which has the better crystal, Citizen or Bulova?

Bulova, across these three references. Bulova states an anti-reflective sapphire on the Marine Star 98B466 and an anti-reflective domed sapphire on the Sutton 96A330, with a double-curved mineral box crystal on the Aerojet 98A187. Citizen states sapphire on both Tsuyosas - anti-reflective on the 37mm - and publishes no crystal material at all for the bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic. Two sapphires out of three, including on a 200m diver, is Bulova's strongest argument here.

Is a Citizen Tsuyosa worth it over a Bulova?

If documentation and a hack feature matter, yes. The 40mm Tsuyosa is the best-documented watch in this comparison: Citizen publishes the 8210 caliber, a 40mm case, a sapphire crystal, WR50 'Still Water Swimming', a 42-hour power reserve and an explicit hack feature. No Bulova here publishes a caliber or a hack statement. What the Tsuyosa will not give you is 200m, a dive bezel or a skeleton dial at this price, and Bulova will.

Which brand has better warranty and service in the US?

Both are genuine, established brands with US service channels, which is itself the main reason to pick either over a micro-brand at the same money - and the comparison stops there, because neither publishes a warranty length on the product pages read for this page. That is the one place where we would not call the documentation gap in Citizen's favor: on service terms, you have to go to each brand's support pages rather than the product listing, for both of them.

Sources

  • Bulova - Wikipedia — Reference on Bulova's ownership: the company was founded in New York in 1875 and was bought by Citizen Watch from Loews Corporation for $250 million on January 10, 2008. Loews had owned Bulova since 1979. Citizen lists Bulova Corporation among its principal group companies (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • MIYOTA — About (Citizen Watch movement division) — Miyota's own account of itself: Citizen Watch built a movement factory in the town of Miyota, Nagano, in 1959; the MIYOTA brand launched in 1980, and its movements are used in millions of watches (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • MIYOTA - Caliber 8N24 specification — Miyota's own spec for the 8N24, the open-dial caliber Bulova names on its 97A162 page: -20 to +40 sec/day, 21 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, approximately 42 hours of running time, 5.55mm high, with hand winding and a stop-second (hacking) device (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Citizen - Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A product specification — Citizen's own listing for the Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A: caliber 8210 automatic, a 40mm case width, a sapphire crystal, WR50 ('Still Water Swimming'), and '42 Hour Power Reserve' and 'Hack Feature' in its movement-functions list. Citizen publishes no accuracy figure, case thickness or lug-to-lug distance for this reference (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Tsuyosa 37mm NJ0200-50M product specification — Citizen's own listing for the 37mm Tsuyosa from the NJ020 series: caliber 8210 automatic, a 37mm case width, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal, WR50, a 42-hour power reserve and a hack feature - the same caliber, crystal, rating and reserve Citizen lists for the 40mm NJ0150 (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Amazon - Citizen Promaster Dive Automatic 41mm (stainless steel bracelet) listing — The retail listing for the bracelet Promaster Dive Automatic: 'Citizen Men's Promaster Dive Automatic 3-Hand Stainless Steel Watch, Day Date, Luminous, 41mm', with 'AUTOMATIC DIVER'S 200m' printed on the dial in the listing image. Citizen does not name the caliber on the listing and publishes no crystal, thickness, lug width or power-reserve figure for the reference, so those rows read 'Not published'. This listing replaced the Sport Automatic NH7530-52M on 30 September 2026: Citizen still sells that reference on its own site, but its Amazon listing returned 'Currently unavailable.' with no offer behind it (accessed 2026-09-30)
  • Citizen - Calibers 8200 / 8210 instruction manual (PDF) — Citizen's own manual for calibers 8200 and 8210: 21,600 oscillations per hour, automatic winding, a quick-set date, and a day of week on the 8200 only. Citizen recommends winding the crown manually 5 to 10 times to start the watch. The manual states no daily accuracy figure (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Caliber 8203/8204 instruction manual (NY0 series, PDF) — Citizen's own manual for the NY0 series: the 8204 has an average daily difference of -20 to +40 seconds (the 8203 -10 to +20), about 42 hours when fully wound, 21,600 beats per hour, a manual winding function and a second-hand stop function (8204 only). Citizen notes the stated accuracy is static accuracy at normal temperature and varies with mainspring wind, position and environment (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Citizen - Promaster Dive Automatic NB6021-17E product specification — Citizen's own listing for the higher-grade Promaster mechanical diver: caliber 9051 automatic, a 41mm Super Titanium case, sapphire, 200m ('Scuba Diving'), a 42-hour power reserve, 'Antimagnetic 16000' and a stated -10 to +20 seconds a day (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Bulova - Marine Star Series B 98B466 product specification — Bulova's own page for the 98B466: 'Automatic' with no caliber named, a 42-hour power reserve, a 41mm silver-tone stainless steel case, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal described as impact and shatter resistant, 'WR200' (20 bar / 666 ft, suitable for swimming, showering and snorkeling), a 'Sunray dial shifts from bright blue at the center to black toward the edge', a unidirectional bezel with a bi-color aluminum insert and timing scale, a crystal case back showing the movement, a premium H-link bracelet and a 20mm lug width. Bulova publishes no case thickness, lug-to-lug or accuracy figure for this reference (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Sutton Automatic 96A330 product specification — Bulova's own page for the 40mm Sutton 96A330: 'The dial reveals the captivating mechanics of the 21-jewel skeletonized automatic movement, which offers 42-hours of power reserve' - 21 jewels and 42 hours, with NO caliber named. Also an anti-reflective domed sapphire crystal, a 40mm silver-tone stainless steel case, 'WR [Splash Resistant]' with no meter figure stated, an open dial with blue applied indices and matching luminescent-filled hands, a blue alligator-embossed leather strap and a 20mm lug width (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Classic Aerojet Automatic 98A187 product specification — Bulova's own page for the Aerojet 98A187, filed under its 'Classic Automatic Collection': an automatic self-winding movement with no caliber named, a 40-hour power reserve, a 41mm silver-tone stainless steel case, a 'Double Curved Mineral Box Crystal', an exhibition case back, a croco-embossed black leather strap with a three-piece buckle and a 20mm lug width. Water resistance is given as 30 meters in the description and 'WR [Splash Resistant]' in the details panel. The dial is called an 'open aperture gray dial' in the description while the page title says Black Dial (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Bulova - Sutton 97A162 product specification — The one Bulova page in this registry that names a caliber: 'Exhibition case back offers a glimpse of the Miyota 8N24 21-jewel automatic skeletonized movement.' Also a 43mm gold-tone stainless steel case, a flat mineral crystal, WR100 (swimming, showering and snorkeling), an open-aperture gold-tone dial, a gold-tone bracelet with a push-button deployant buckle and a 22mm lug width. The word 'chronograph' does not appear anywhere on Bulova's page for this reference, although the Amazon listing title uses it (accessed October 26, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)

Keep reading