It turns on one number and one habit: the rating stamped on the case, and whether the crown is screwed home. 30m is not a swimming watch at any price - and being automatic has nothing to do with it.
How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.
Yes — if the case is rated for it. The short answer is that being automatic has nothing to do with it. A mechanical movement is no more vulnerable to water than a quartz one; what keeps water out is the case, the crystal seal, the caseback gasket and the crown tube, and those are identical engineering problems on both. The number stamped on the case is the whole answer, and the habit that undoes it is leaving the crown unscrewed.
So the practical version: a watch marked 100m or more will swim happily. A watch marked 50m will survive shallow swimming but is not a pool watch. A watch marked 30m — which includes most dress automatics, including both Orient Bambinos we recommend elsewhere on this site — should not go in the water at all. And a watch with no marking should be treated as not water resistant.
What the ratings actually permit
These markings are defined by ISO 22810, the standard for ordinary water-resistant watches, and the practical reading of them is consistent across the industry:
30m / 3 bar — splash only. Rain, hand-washing, a spilled drink. Not swimming, not showering, not the sea. This is the rating on dress automatics and it is the one people most often misread, because “30 metres” sounds like depth and is not.
50m / 5 bar — showering and shallow swimming. The Citizen Tsuyosa and the Seiko Presage sit here. Fine for getting in a pool; not for diving in, not for swimming lengths every morning for ten years.
100m / 10 bar — swimming and water sports. This is where a watch stops being a worry. The Seiko 5 Sports is rated here.
200m / 20 bar with a screw-down crown — anything recreational. Snorkelling, surfing, the sea, repeatedly. The Orient Kamasu, the Seiko Prospex divers and most budget NH35 divers state this.
ISO 6425 “DIVER’S” marking — scuba. A separate standard with a separate dial marking. It requires at least 100m, a unidirectional lockable elapsed-time bezel, legibility in the dark, and testing of every individual watch rather than a batch sample.
That last distinction is the one the budget market blurs. A $150 watch stating 200m is making the maker’s own claim about a case design. A Seiko Prospex with “DIVER’S 200m” on the dial has been through a defined standard. Both will take you swimming. Only one of them is a certified instrument, and we say so on every roundup — including the Steeldive versus ADDIESDIVE comparison, where neither brand claims ISO 6425.
Why ratings are a pressure test, not a depth
A 30m rating does not mean you can take the watch 30 metres down. The test is static: the watch is held at a pressure equivalent to that depth in still water for a defined period. Swimming is not static. Pushing a hand through water, diving in, or turning on a tap at full blast all produce brief pressure spikes well above what the equivalent depth suggests, which is why the practical guidance for each rating is so much more conservative than the number.
The second reason to be conservative is age. Gaskets are rubber; they compress, harden and shrink over years, and the rating describes the watch as manufactured. A ten-year-old 100m watch that has never been serviced is not a 100m watch any more. A pressure test is cheap, takes minutes at a watchmaker, and is the one check worth doing before a holiday.
The three habits that actually flood watches
1. An unscrewed crown
This is the big one. A screw-down crown seals the single hardest hole in a case to waterproof, and it only seals when it is screwed home. Set the time, push the crown in, then turn it until it stops. A dive watch with the crown half out is less water resistant than a dress watch with a push-pull crown, because the stem channel is wide open. Our screw-down crown guide covers how to re-seal one properly and how to tell when the thread is cross-starting.
2. Hot water and steam
Showers, saunas and hot tubs are harder on a watch than swimming is, and not because of pressure. Heat expands the metal and the gaskets at different rates and thins the lubricants; steam is small enough to get past seals that would stop liquid water. Seiko’s own mechanical-watch guidance is explicit about avoiding this kind of exposure. Take the watch off for the sauna even if it is rated 200m.
3. Operating the crown or pushers while wet
Never unscrew a crown with the watch wet or underwater, and do not press chronograph pushers in the pool unless the watch is explicitly built for it. Dry the watch first. Rinse after salt or chlorine — salt crystallises as it dries and is corrosive to the case, bracelet and seals — and work the bezel and clasp under fresh water while you do it.
If you want one watch you can swim in without thinking
Buy a stated 200m case with a screw-down crown. That removes the entire decision from your day: you stop checking, you stop taking it off, and the watch gets worn. Three honest versions of that watch, at three prices:
#1Best for genuine diving
Seiko Prospex SRPG57
The cheapest watch Seiko will sell you with a diver's marking on the dial, and the single most useful watch in this comparison. It runs the same 4R36 as the Seiko 5 Sports, in a case the same thickness and a tenth of a millimeter narrower - what the extra money actually buys is a screw-down crown, a 200m diver's rating and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands.
Strengths
+200m diver's rating with a screw-down crown and unidirectional bezel
+Seiko states LumiBrite on hands, indexes AND bezel - the 5 Sports omits the bezel
+42.4mm and 13.4mm, so no thicker or wider than the 5 Sports it replaces
Trade-offs
−49.4mm lug-to-lug wears noticeably longer than the 5 Sports' 46.0mm
−Hardlex mineral crystal, not sapphire, at well over $400
−Solid screw case back - you lose the 5 Sports' view of the movement
Movement
Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
41 hours
Case size
42.4 mm
Water resistance
200 m
Crystal
Hardlex with magnified glass
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. This is the reference that makes the whole Seiko 5 versus Prospex argument concrete. Seiko publishes both: 4R36 and approximately 41 hours on each, 42.5mm/13.4mm on the SRPD65 against 42.4mm/13.4mm here. The movement and the case size are not what you are paying for.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#2Best all-round swimmer
Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)
The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.
Strengths
+Sapphire crystal at a price where mineral is the norm
+True 200m rating with a screw-down crown and solid bracelet
+In-house F6922 movement that both hacks and hand-winds
Trade-offs
−The in-house movement isn't chronometer-accurate
−Roughly 42mm with a broad case — wears large on a small wrist
Movement
Orient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
40 hours
Case size
41.88 mm
Water resistance
200 m
Crystal
Sapphire
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. The Kamasu's real upgrade over the Mako II is the sapphire crystal — both share the same F6922 movement, so both already hack and hand-wind. (The Orient diver that does neither is the original Mako I, on the older 46943 caliber.)
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#3Best on a budget
ADDIESDIVE NH35 Diver 200m
The specification sheet a $600 watch had ten years ago: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating and a steel bracelet. ADDIESDIVE has become the default answer for people who want dive-watch specs and do not care about a name on the dial.
Strengths
+Seiko NH35 automatic with hacking and hand-winding
+Sapphire crystal and a stated 200m rating
+Consistently in stock, unlike most micro-brand divers
Trade-offs
−A stated 200m rating is not an ISO 6425 DIVER'S certification
−Bracelet and clasp are the obvious place the money was saved
Movement
Seiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
Not published
Case size
Not published
Water resistance
200 m
Crystal
Sapphire
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. A stated depth rating and an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' marking are different claims. Only the second involves testing every individual watch.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
Seiko publishes a 200m diver’s rating with a screw-down crown and LumiBrite on the bezel as well as the hands for the Prospex; Orient publishes 200m, a screw-down crown and a 120-click unidirectional bezel for the Kamasu, behind a sapphire crystal. The ADDIESDIVE states 200m and sapphire and no ISO certification, which is the honest trade at a third of the price. Full lists: best automatic dive watches and best Seiko Prospex.
And if the watch you love is rated 30m?
Keep it dry and enjoy it. A dress automatic with a domed mineral crystal and a push-pull crown is not a compromised swimming watch; it is a different object for a different purpose, and asking it to go in the pool is how you end up paying for a movement clean. If you only want to own one watch, that is an argument for buying the 100m or 200m case first — the everyday roundup is built around exactly that compromise, and the 38mm page names the one small-cased pick on this site that states 200m.
Frequently asked questions
Can you swim with an automatic watch?+
Yes, if the case is rated for it. Being automatic is irrelevant to water resistance - what matters is the rating stamped on the case and the condition of the gaskets. As a practical reading of the standard markings: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and 200m with a screw-down crown is comfortable for anything recreational.
Can you swim with a 50m water-resistant watch?+
Shallow swimming, yes; diving off a board or swimming hard laps, no. A 50m rating is a static pressure test, not a measure of what happens when you hit water at speed. If a watch is going to be in the pool regularly, buy 100m or more and stop thinking about it.
Is 30m water resistance enough for swimming?+
No. 30m means splash resistance - rain, hand-washing, getting caught out in the weather. It is the rating on most dress automatics, including both Orient Bambinos we recommend, and it is the single most common way people ruin a watch they love.
Can you scuba dive with an automatic watch?+
Only with one marked for it. ISO 6425 is the standard behind a 'DIVER'S' dial marking: a minimum 100m rating, a unidirectional and lockable elapsed-time bezel, legibility in the dark, and pressure testing of every individual watch rather than a sample. A watch that merely states 200m has not been through that.
Does salt water damage an automatic watch?+
Not immediately, but salt crystallises as it dries and it is corrosive to the case, the bracelet and - over years - the gaskets. Rinse the watch in fresh water after sea swimming, with the crown screwed down, and work the bezel and clasp while it is wet. Chlorine deserves the same treatment.
Do I need to get my watch pressure tested?+
If it is going in the water regularly, yes - gaskets harden and compress over the years, and the rating on the case describes a new watch. A pressure test is inexpensive and is the standard first step at any service. A watch that has sat unworn for years is the most likely to let water in.
Sources
Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
ISO 22810:2010 — Water-resistant watches — Defines the requirements, test methods and permitted markings for ordinary water-resistant watches (daily use / swimming, not scuba diving) (accessed July 21, 2026)
ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
Orient Watch USA — Kamasu RA-AA0003R39B specification — Orient's published sheet for the Kamasu: caliber F6922 automatic, hand-winding, hacking; approximately 40 hours reserve; sapphire crystal; 41.88mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 12.8mm thick, 22mm lugs; 200m; screw-down crown; 120-click unidirectional bezel; three-year warranty (accessed September 15, 2026)
Seiko - Prospex SRPG57 product specification — Seiko's own listing for the SRPG57: caliber 4R36, approx. 41h reserve, 42.4mm diameter, 13.4mm thick, 49.4mm lug-to-lug, Hardlex with magnified glass, '200m / 660ft diver's' water resistance, a screw-down crown, a unidirectional rotating bezel, a screw case back, and LumiBrite on hands, index(es) AND bezel (accessed September 1, 2026)
Seiko — Customer service: mechanical watch knowledge — Seiko's own guidance page for mechanical watches, covering handling, magnetic-resistant performance and the care a self-winding movement needs (accessed August 11, 2026)