Dial & Lume

Steeldive vs ADDIESDIVE

Same Seiko NH35, same sapphire, same stated 200m - and only one of the two will tell you how big the watch is. Five divers compared on what their makers put in writing.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer

Buy the Steeldive SD1970 if you want to know what you are getting. It is the only watch in this comparison whose maker publishes the measurements that decide fit — 43.8mm across, 13.5mm thick and 46.8mm lug-to-lug — alongside an AR-coated sapphire crystal, a 120-click unidirectional ceramic bezel and a stated 41-hour NH35. Buy the ADDIESDIVE NH35 Ceramic Bezel instead if the budget is the constraint: it brings the same caliber, the same sapphire and a ceramic insert for meaningfully less, and ADDIESDIVE stays in stock when Steeldive does not. The honest summary is that these two brands sell the same parts bin at different prices, and the price difference buys documentation and case construction rather than a better movement. Neither is ISO 6425 certified, whatever the dial says.

This comparison comes up constantly and it is almost never answered on anything factual, because on paper the two brands look identical. Steeldive and ADDIESDIVE both build dive watches around the Seiko NH35 automatic, both fit sapphire crystals, both state 200m or more, and both sell direct on Amazon with no dealer network and no resale value. If you line up the bullet points, there is nothing to choose between them.

There is one real, checkable difference, and it is not a spec — it is which specs exist. Steeldive publishes the dimensions. Its own store listing for the SD1970 states 43.8mm without the crown, 13.5mm thick, 46.8mm lug-to-lug, a 20mm lug width, 316L steel, a 120-click unidirectional ceramic bezel, sapphire with an anti-reflective coating, 200m, and 41 hours of running time from the NH35. Every one of those numbers is a commitment you can hold it to. ADDIESDIVE’s listings publish the movement, the crystal and the depth rating, and no case diameter at all — which is why the diameter row reads “Not published” against all three ADDIESDIVE picks below. We do not fill that in from a photograph or a forum post.

For a watch you are buying unseen, that gap is the whole decision. A dive watch that turns out to be 2mm wider or 2mm thicker than you pictured is a watch you stop wearing. So this page is organised around what each maker will state, not around which dial you prefer. We have not handled any of these watches; every figure below was read from the maker’s own page where one exists and from the retail listing where it does not, on the dates shown under the table.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPriceCase sizeWater resistanceCrystal
1
Steeldive SD1970 200m Diver

Steeldive SD1970 200m Diver

The one watch on this list whose maker publishes the measurement that actually decides fit. Steeldive states 43.8mm across, 13.5mm thick and 46.8mm lug-to-lug - a shorter lug span than Seiko publishes for its own 42.4mm diver - so this is a wide watch that does not run long down the wrist. Sapphire with AR coating and a 120-click ceramic bezel at this money is the specification story.

Best overall
$219.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

43.8 mm200 mSapphire with AR coating
2
Steeldive SD1953 300m Diver

Steeldive SD1953 300m Diver

The enthusiast's NH35 diver. Steeldive builds the closest thing to a proper tool-watch case at this price — a stated 300m rating, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal and lume that people buy the watch for.

Best tool-watch build
$195.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not published300 mSapphire (anti-reflective)
3
ADDIESDIVE NH35 Ceramic Bezel Diver

ADDIESDIVE NH35 Ceramic Bezel Diver

The step-up ADDIESDIVE: the same NH35 and sapphire, with a ceramic bezel insert instead of aluminum. Ceramic does not scratch or fade, which on a dive bezel is the single most visible durability difference there is.

Best ADDIESDIVE
$199.49 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not published200 mSapphire
4
ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Best lume claim
$165.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not published200 mSapphire
5
ADDIESDIVE NH35 Diver 200m

ADDIESDIVE NH35 Diver 200m

The specification sheet a $600 watch had ten years ago: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating and a steel bracelet. ADDIESDIVE has become the default answer for people who want dive-watch specs and do not care about a name on the dial.

Best on a budget
$162.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Not published200 mSapphire

Specs read from each maker’s published data and retail listing on August 11, August 31 and September 8, 2026. Prices checked live — as of October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure; we don’t fill the gap with a guess.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Steeldive SD1970 200m Diver

The one watch on this list whose maker publishes the measurement that actually decides fit. Steeldive states 43.8mm across, 13.5mm thick and 46.8mm lug-to-lug - a shorter lug span than Seiko publishes for its own 42.4mm diver - so this is a wide watch that does not run long down the wrist. Sapphire with AR coating and a 120-click ceramic bezel at this money is the specification story.

Strengths

  • Steeldive publishes 43.8mm diameter, 13.5mm thickness AND 46.8mm lug-to-lug
  • AR-coated sapphire and a 120-click unidirectional ceramic bezel
  • Seiko NH35 automatic with a stated 41 hours, in a 200m 316L case

Trade-offs

  • 13.5mm is thick, and thickness is what makes a big watch feel heavy
  • A Seiko 6105 homage, so you are wearing someone else's design
  • Micro-brand support: the repair path is movement replacement, not service
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size43.8 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire with AR coating
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Steeldive lists the diameter as 43.8mm WITHOUT the crown; the Amazon title rounds it to 44mm. The 46.8mm lug-to-lug is the number worth knowing - it is 2.6mm shorter than the 49.4mm Seiko publishes for the smaller-diameter SRPG57, which is the clearest demonstration on this page that diameter and wearing size are different things.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 8, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best tool-watch build

Steeldive SD1953 300m Diver

The enthusiast's NH35 diver. Steeldive builds the closest thing to a proper tool-watch case at this price — a stated 300m rating, an anti-reflective sapphire crystal and lume that people buy the watch for.

Strengths

  • Stated 300m rating with a screw-down crown
  • Anti-reflective sapphire and unusually strong lume
  • The homage the enthusiast forums actually recommend

Trade-offs

  • Thick and heavy — this is a full-size dive watch
  • Availability comes and goes between sellers
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance300 m
CrystalSapphire (anti-reflective)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Steeldive's reputation rests on case construction rather than on the movement, which is the same NH35 half this list uses.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best ADDIESDIVE

ADDIESDIVE NH35 Ceramic Bezel Diver

The step-up ADDIESDIVE: the same NH35 and sapphire, with a ceramic bezel insert instead of aluminum. Ceramic does not scratch or fade, which on a dive bezel is the single most visible durability difference there is.

Strengths

  • Ceramic bezel insert — no fading, very hard to scratch
  • NH35 with sapphire and a stated 200m rating
  • Bronze-finished buckle detail lifts it above the plain versions

Trade-offs

  • Ceramic chips rather than scratching if you knock it hard
  • Still an unknown brand with no service network
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. Aluminum bezel inserts fade and scratch; ceramic does not, but it can chip. Neither behavior is a fault — they are different failure modes.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best lume claim

ADDIESDIVE NH35 BGW9 Diver

The cheapest watch here whose listing names the actual pigment. BGW9 is a documented Super-LumiNova emission code rather than a marketing adjective, and a brand that prints it is telling you something a listing that reads 'luminous' is not. The rest is the familiar budget-diver package: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating.

Strengths

  • Listing names BGW9 specifically instead of saying 'luminous'
  • Seiko NH35 with sapphire and a stated 200m rating
  • Costs a fraction of the Seiko divers making comparable lume claims

Trade-offs

  • A named pigment code is not a measured brightness figure, and none is published
  • No brand behind it, no service network and no resale value
  • Case diameter is not stated on the listing, so we have not recorded one
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. BGW9 glows blue-green (emission at 485 nm) and reads white in daylight; C3, the other code you will see quoted, glows green and reads pale yellow-green. Neither code tells you the GRADE - Standard, A or X1 - which is what actually decides how slowly the glow decays.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best on a budget

ADDIESDIVE NH35 Diver 200m

The specification sheet a $600 watch had ten years ago: NH35, sapphire, a stated 200m rating and a steel bracelet. ADDIESDIVE has become the default answer for people who want dive-watch specs and do not care about a name on the dial.

Strengths

  • Seiko NH35 automatic with hacking and hand-winding
  • Sapphire crystal and a stated 200m rating
  • Consistently in stock, unlike most micro-brand divers

Trade-offs

  • A stated 200m rating is not an ISO 6425 DIVER'S certification
  • Bracelet and clasp are the obvious place the money was saved
MovementSeiko NH35 automatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. A stated depth rating and an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' marking are different claims. Only the second involves testing every individual watch.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Where the two brands genuinely differ

Published measurements

Steeldive states diameter, thickness and lug-to-lug; ADDIESDIVE states none of the three on the listings we read. This is the single most useful difference between them, and it compounds: the SD1970’s 46.8mm lug span is 2.6mm shorter than the 49.4mm Seiko publishes for its own narrower 42.4mm diver, which is the clearest proof going that diameter and wearing size are different things. You can make that calculation for a Steeldive. You cannot make it for an ADDIESDIVE.

Case construction

Steeldive’s reputation among enthusiasts rests on the cases rather than the movement — 316L steel, a 120-click ceramic bezel, AR-coated sapphire, and on the SD1953 a stated 300m with a screw-down crown. ADDIESDIVE sells the same movement and crystal in a case that is adequate rather than admired, and saves the money at the bracelet and clasp. If you intend to put the watch on a strap anyway, that saving costs you less than it sounds.

Availability

This cuts the other way. ADDIESDIVE listings are consistently in stock; Steeldive’s come and go between sellers, which is normal for the micro-brand end of the market and genuinely annoying when the one you wanted disappears. If a Steeldive pick above shows no live price, that is the mechanism working — our prices come from a daily refresh and a reference with no buyable offer simply shows no number.

What the lume listing says

Both brands make lume claims; one of them names the pigment. ADDIESDIVE’s BGW9 reference prints an actual Super-LumiNova emission code rather than the word “luminous”, and Steeldive states Swiss C3 green plus BGW9 blue on the SD1970. A named code tells you the colour — BGW9 emits blue-green at about 485nm and reads white in daylight; C3 glows green and reads pale yellow-green — but it does not tell you the grade, and grade is what decides how slowly the glow decays. Nobody at this price publishes the grade, and we are not going to pretend otherwise. Our lume roundup only admits watches whose listing names the material.

The thing both brands share: the NH35

Every watch on this page runs the Seiko NH35 (or the 36mm field watch’s unnamed automatic). That is the most important fact in the comparison and the reason neither brand can really out-engineer the other on paper. The NH35 is the same movement family Seiko fits to its own 5 Sports line: it hacks, it hand-winds, parts are everywhere, and any watchmaker will service it — or, more realistically at this price, replace it for less than a service costs. Our NH35 roundup covers the caliber and the watches built around it.

What neither brand publishes is an accuracy figure. Seiko does publish one for its own 4R-series calibers — +45 to −35 seconds a day on the wrist — and the NH35 is the same architecture, but a figure published for one caliber is not a figure published for another, so our spec tables leave accuracy blank. That omission is information too: it is the difference between buying a brand and buying a parts list.

“200m” is not a diver’s certification

Both brands state depth ratings, and neither states ISO 6425 compliance. The distinction is real and worth knowing before you dive with either: a stated pressure rating is the maker’s own claim, while an ISO 6425 “DIVER’S” marking requires a minimum 100m rating, a unidirectional and lockable elapsed-time bezel, legibility in the dark, and testing of every individual watch rather than a sample. A $150 NH35 diver with 200m on the dial will handle swimming and snorkelling comfortably. Treat scuba as a question for a certified watch and a serviced gasket, not for a marketplace homage. The full version is in water resistance explained, and the screw-down crown guide covers the single most common way people flood one of these.

Which should you actually buy?

If you are buying one watch and you want the fewest unknowns, buy the Steeldive. The premium over ADDIESDIVE is small in absolute terms and it buys published dimensions, a better-regarded case and a ceramic bezel with a 120-click action. If you are buying a beater, a second diver, or a watch to find out whether you even like 44mm, buy the ADDIESDIVE and put the difference towards a strap. Both are the same bargain at heart: a documented Japanese movement in a case that costs a fraction of the watch it resembles. Our homage roundup is honest about what that costs you in originality, and the sub-$200 diver list puts both brands up against Seiko, Orient and Invicta at the same money.

Frequently asked questions

Is Steeldive better than ADDIESDIVE?

On documentation and case construction, yes. Steeldive publishes diameter, thickness and lug-to-lug for the SD1970 and fits an AR-coated sapphire with a 120-click ceramic bezel; ADDIESDIVE publishes no case diameter on the listings we read. Mechanically the two are the same proposition - both use the Seiko NH35 - so the money buys information and a better case, not a better movement.

Do Steeldive and ADDIESDIVE use the same movement?

Yes, on every pick on this page that names a caliber: the Seiko NH35 automatic, which hacks and hand-winds. It is the same movement family Seiko fits to its own 5 Sports watches, which is why neither brand can claim a mechanical advantage over the other.

Are Steeldive and ADDIESDIVE watches real dive watches?

They are water-resistant to the ratings they state - 200m for most, 300m for the Steeldive SD1953 - and that comfortably covers swimming and snorkelling. Neither brand states ISO 6425 compliance, which is the standard that requires a lockable unidirectional bezel, dark legibility and testing of every individual watch before 'DIVER'S' can appear on the dial.

Which is cheaper, Steeldive or ADDIESDIVE?

ADDIESDIVE, consistently. It is the budget end of the same parts bin, and the saving shows up at the bracelet and clasp rather than in the movement or the crystal. The live prices on this page are refreshed daily, so compare them above rather than taking a figure from an article.

What size is an ADDIESDIVE watch?

The listings we read do not say, which is the central finding of this comparison. We record case diameter only when the maker or the listing publishes it, so the ADDIESDIVE rows above read 'Not published'. If the exact size matters to you, buy the Steeldive, where 43.8mm across and 46.8mm lug-to-lug are stated.

Will a watchmaker service a Steeldive or an ADDIESDIVE?

The movement, yes - the NH35 is one of the most common automatics in the world and parts are plentiful. The practical path at this price is replacement rather than overhaul, because a full service can cost more than the watch. Neither brand runs a service network of its own.

Sources

  • Steeldive - SD1970 200m diver product specification (Steeldive Watch Store) — Steeldive's own store listing for the SD1970: 43.8mm case diameter without the crown, 13.5mm thick, 46.8mm lug-to-lug ('case length'), 20mm lug width, 316L stainless steel, Japan NH35 automatic with 41 hours of energy storage, sapphire crystal with AR coating, a 120-click unidirectional ceramic bezel, 200m / 20 ATM, and Swiss C3 green plus BGW9 blue luminous. Amazon's listing title rounds the diameter to 44mm (accessed September 8, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watches — The standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Super-LumiNova — Wikipedia — Super-LumiNova is a strontium-aluminate photoluminescent pigment (europium- and dysprosium-doped) made by RC Tritec AG in Switzerland with Nemoto & Co. It is non-radioactive, is recharged by light indefinitely without chemical degradation, and its higher grades (A and X1) decay far more slowly than Standard grade. It is offered in colors identified by code: C3 glows green and appears pale yellow-green in daylight (emission at 515 nm); BGW9 glows blue-green and appears white in daylight (emission at 485 nm) (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading