Dial & Lume

Seiko 5 vs Invicta Pro Diver

The two watches every first-time automatic buyer ends up cross-shopping — separated by a price gap large enough to make the answer less obvious than the forums claim.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Search for a first automatic watch and you will land on these two within about twenty minutes. The Seiko 5 Sports is the consensus recommendation and has been for a decade. The Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB is the watch that costs a third as much and, on paper, gives you most of the same things.

The forum answer is “buy the Seiko,” usually delivered with a certain amount of contempt for the alternative. We think the Seiko is the better watch and we also think that answer is too quick, because the price gap here is not marginal — it is roughly $90 against roughly $250, which for a first mechanical watch is the difference between an experiment and a commitment.

Below: what each watch actually is, the four places they diverge, and who should buy which. Five picks including both watches and the obvious alternatives. We have not handled any of them. Seiko’s movement figures come from its own published caliber documentation; Invicta’s come from its listing, which publishes rather less; prices come from a live daily check.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on movement, specs and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Best overall
$316.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Best on a budget
$86.69 · View on Amazon

$94.999% off

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Seiko 5 Sports SRPG31

Seiko 5 Sports SRPG31

The field-flavored 5 Sports: a clean, bezel-free dial on a steel case, driven by Seiko's own automatic with hand-winding. It is the model to buy when the SRPD's dive bezel is more watch than you want.

Best Seiko 5 alternative
$252.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Orient Mako II Diver

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Best real diver
$240.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Invicta Pro Diver Coin-Edge Automatic

Invicta Pro Diver Coin-Edge Automatic

The coin-edge bezel version, which reads a little dressier than the standard Pro Diver and rather less like a copy of something Swiss. Mechanically it is the same proposition: a cheap, honest automatic that keeps running.

Best Invicta variant
$86.69 · View on Amazon

$91.255% off

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Strengths

  • In-house Seiko 4R36 movement with hacking and hand-winding
  • Day-date, 100m water resistance and a see-through caseback onto the movement
  • The most cross-shopped, best-supported budget automatic there is

Trade-offs

  • The 4R36 is reliable, not accurate to chronometer standards
  • Hardlex crystal scratches more easily than sapphire
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy+45 / -35 sec/day
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.5 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalHardlex mineral
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line is the modern heir to the original Seiko 5: an honest, serviceable automatic with real heritage, which is exactly why it anchors so many of our lists.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best on a budget

Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

The cheapest automatic diver worth owning, and an honest one about what it is: a Submariner-homage case, a 200m rating, and a Japanese automatic Invicta labels only 'IM-A-005' — widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class unit — for around a hundred dollars. Nobody's fooled it's a Rolex, and at this price nobody minds.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver for roughly $100
  • Reportedly a Japanese Seiko/TMI (NH35-class) movement
  • Coin-edge bezel and a look far above the price

Trade-offs

  • Overt Submariner homage won't suit everyone
  • Invicta doesn't name the movement, and the bracelet feels its price
MovementAutomatic — Invicta labels it only "IM-A-005"
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case size40 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. Invicta's reputation is mixed, but the 8926 Pro Diver is the exception enthusiasts actually endorse. Invicta names the movement only as 'IM-A-005'; it's widely reported to be a Seiko/TMI NH35-class caliber, and the value is real.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best Seiko 5 alternative

Seiko 5 Sports SRPG31

The field-flavored 5 Sports: a clean, bezel-free dial on a steel case, driven by Seiko's own automatic with hand-winding. It is the model to buy when the SRPD's dive bezel is more watch than you want.

Strengths

  • Seiko's own 4R36 with hacking and hand-winding
  • 39.4mm case, the smallest diameter of the Seiko references we compare
  • Clean, legible dial without a dive bezel

Trade-offs

  • Curved Hardlex, not sapphire
  • 48.1mm lug-to-lug on a 39.4mm case, so it wears longer than the diameter suggests
  • 10 bar, not a diver's rating - fine for swimming, not dive equipment
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve41 hours
Case size39.4 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalCurved Hardlex
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line covers field, dive and street styling on one movement platform. Choosing between them is a styling decision, not a mechanical one. Seiko publishes this reference in full: 4R36, 39.4mm across, 13.2mm thick, 48.1mm lug-to-lug, 10 bar, curved Hardlex, approximately 41 hours of reserve.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best real diver

Orient Mako II Diver

The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.

Strengths

  • 200m rated automatic diver at a genuinely low price
  • In-house Orient F6922 movement, hacking and hand-winding
  • A modern classic with a huge owner base

Trade-offs

  • Mineral crystal, not sapphire — the Kamasu fixes exactly this
  • Roughly 41mm with a broad case — big on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case sizeNot published
Water resistance200 m
CrystalMineral (Hardlex-class)
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Mako II versus Kamasu decision comes down to one thing: the crystal. Both use the same F6922 (both hack and hand-wind), so you're really deciding whether sapphire is worth the small step up from mineral.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best Invicta variant

Invicta Pro Diver Coin-Edge Automatic

The coin-edge bezel version, which reads a little dressier than the standard Pro Diver and rather less like a copy of something Swiss. Mechanically it is the same proposition: a cheap, honest automatic that keeps running.

Strengths

  • Coin-edge bezel gives it its own look rather than a borrowed one
  • Automatic movement inside the same well-proven Pro Diver case
  • Widely stocked, so it is rarely out of supply

Trade-offs

  • Still an Invicta dial, with the branding that implies
  • Specs beyond the movement type are not published on the listing
MovementAutomatic
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserveNot published
Case sizeNot published
Water resistanceNot published
CrystalNot published
Hacks / hand-windsNot published / Not published

Why this one. The coin-edge bezel is a genuine styling difference, not a marketing name — it is the version to pick if the homage looks put you off.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What each watch actually is

The Seiko 5 Sports

A 100 meter sports automatic running Seiko’s 4R36 caliber, which Seiko publishes openly: automatic with hand winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, roughly 41 hours of power reserve, day and date, and an accuracy specification of about −35 to +45 seconds a day worn on the wrist. It hacks and it hand-winds. Crystal is Seiko’s own Hardlex mineral glass rather than sapphire.

It is not a dive watch despite the styling — Seiko dropped the diver’s rating from the 5 line when it relaunched it, which is a genuine and frequently missed change from the old SKX models.

The Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB

A 200 meter automatic with a screw-down crown, an exhibition caseback and a mineral crystal, at roughly a third of the Seiko’s price. Its case shape is openly derived from a very famous Swiss diver, which is most of why it looks like it costs more than it does.

Invicta does not publish a caliber specification in any meaningful sense — its listing labels the movement with an internal code rather than naming a caliber family, and states no accuracy figure. That is why the spec table below prints “Not published” in several rows, and that omission is genuinely informative: it is the clearest single difference between these two companies.

The four places they diverge

1. What the maker will tell you

Seiko publishes its caliber data, hosts service documentation and will repair the watch. Invicta publishes a price and a photograph. For a watch you intend to own for years, that gap matters more than any individual specification, because it decides what happens when something goes wrong.

2. Finishing, and how the watch reads in person

The Invicta’s specification is arguably better — 200m against 100m, a screw-down crown, an exhibition caseback. What it does not have is Seiko’s consistency: dial printing, hand finishing, bracelet quality and bezel action are all noticeably better on the Seiko, and those are the things you look at every day.

Neither watch has a sapphire crystal. Both use mineral glass, which sits around 5.5 on the Mohs hardness scale against 9 for sapphire, and everyday grit is largely quartz at 7 — so both will collect fine scratches. If that matters, our sapphire roundup has the alternatives.

3. Water resistance, where Invicta genuinely wins

200m with a screw-down crown against 100m without one. On the specification, the cheaper watch is the more waterproof watch, and it is not close. Neither carries an ISO 6425 DIVER’S marking, which requires testing every individual watch rather than a production sample — our water resistance guide explains what the ratings permit.

4. Resale, and what happens when you move on

A Seiko 5 holds a meaningful fraction of its price second-hand. An Invicta holds very little. Since a first automatic is frequently sold within two years as tastes settle, the real cost of the Seiko is smaller than the sticker gap suggests — though not smaller than the gap in cash you need on day one.

Who should buy which

Buy the Seiko 5 if this is a watch rather than an experiment. The finishing, the published caliber, the service path and the resale all point the same way, and nobody who has bought one has needed to be talked into keeping it. It is the right default answer and the reason it is the consensus.

Buy the Invicta if $250 is genuinely more than you want to spend to find out whether you like mechanical watches at all. It is a functioning automatic with a 200m case for under $100, and the honest failure mode is that you outgrow it, not that it breaks. Anyone who tells you this is a shameful purchase is confusing taste with advice.

Buy neither if what you actually want is a diver, in which case the Orient Mako II sits between them on price and beats both on movement pedigree — a 200m case with Orient’s own in-house F6922 caliber that hacks and hand-winds. It is the most frequently overlooked answer to this exact question.

Whichever you choose, our guide to choosing an automatic watch covers the five decisions that matter, and the entry-level roundup has the rest of the field.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Seiko 5 worth three times the price of an Invicta Pro Diver?

For a watch you intend to keep, yes — you are paying for finishing consistency, a published caliber specification, a service network and meaningful resale value. For a first mechanical watch bought to find out whether you like the idea, the Invicta is a defensible purchase and the failure mode is outgrowing it rather than it breaking.

Is the Invicta Pro Diver a real dive watch?

It carries a 200m rating with a screw-down crown, which comfortably covers swimming and surface water sports and is a higher rating than the Seiko 5's 100m. It does not carry an ISO 6425 DIVER'S marking, which requires every individual watch to be tested rather than a production sample — so it is a water-resistant sports watch rather than a certified diver.

What movement is in the Invicta Pro Diver 8926OB?

Invicta labels it with an internal code rather than naming a caliber family, and publishes no accuracy figure. That is why our spec table shows 'Not published' for several rows — we do not print figures a maker has not stated. Seiko, by contrast, publishes the 4R36's full specification openly.

Is the Seiko 5 Sports a dive watch?

No. It is rated 100m and Seiko dropped the diver's rating from the 5 line when it relaunched it — a real change from the older SKX models that people frequently miss. It is a sports watch that looks like a diver, and 100m covers swimming and surface water sports comfortably.

Which has better water resistance, Seiko 5 or Invicta Pro Diver?

The Invicta, clearly: 200m with a screw-down crown against 100m without one. This is the one specification where the cheaper watch straightforwardly wins, and it is worth saying so rather than pretending the more expensive watch leads everywhere.

Is there a better option than either for a first automatic?

If you specifically want a diver, the Orient Mako II sits between them on price and beats both on movement pedigree — a 200m case with Orient's own in-house F6922 caliber, which hacks and hand-winds. It is the most commonly overlooked answer to this question.

Sources

  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specificationSeiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Seiko Service USA — 4R35B / 4R36A technical data sheet (PDF)Seiko's official service data sheet for the 4R35B/4R36A calibers (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • ISO 6425:2018 — Divers' watchesThe standard a watch must meet to be legally marked 'Diver's [depth]m': minimum 100m, a unidirectional/lockable elapsed-time bezel, dark legibility, and testing of every piece (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Water Resistant mark — WikipediaWhat the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Mohs scale of mineral hardness — WikipediaThe hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading