Five decisions decide whether you like the watch in a year: size, movement, crystal, water resistance and brand. Here they are in the order that actually saves you money.
How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.
Most automatic watch buying advice starts with the movement, and that is the wrong end. The movement is the part you will think about least once the watch is on your wrist, because nearly every affordable automatic uses one of about five calibers and they are all fine. What you will notice every day is whether the watch fits, whether you can read it, and whether it still looks good after two years.
So here are the five decisions in the order that actually matters, with the traps at each stage. Work through them in this sequence and you will not talk yourself into a watch you stop wearing.
Decision 1: size, and it comes first for a reason
A watch that does not fit is a watch that lives in a drawer, and no specification rescues it. This is the single most common expensive mistake in the category.
The number everyone quotes is case diameter, and it is the least useful of the three. What actually decides fit is lug-to-lug distance— the length from the tip of the top lugs to the tip of the bottom lugs. If that exceeds the flat part of your wrist, the lugs overhang and the watch looks wrong regardless of how modest the diameter is. The third number is thickness, which decides whether the watch slides under a shirt cuff.
For most wrists, 36 to 40mm diameter with a lug-to-lug under about 48mm is the safe zone. If you are new to mechanical watches and used to large sports watches, expect anything under 38mm to feel small for roughly a week and then stop registering. Our watch size guide covers how to measure and what to check on a listing.
Decision 2: the movement, and how little of it matters
The realistic choice at sensible money is between a handful of calibers, and the honest summary is that all of them work.
Seiko 4R35 / 4R36 — in Seiko’s own watches. Seiko publishes the spec: 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations per hour, roughly 41 hours of reserve, about −35 to +45 seconds a day, hacking and hand-winding.
Seiko NH35 / NH36 — the same design sold to other brands. Usually arrives unregulated, which is why micro-brand watches more often run near the edges of that window. See NH35 versus 4R36.
Miyota 9015 — Citizen’s premium caliber. Miyota publishes 28,800 vibrations per hour, 24 jewels, about 42 hours, 3.90mm thick, −10 to +30 seconds a day. Smoother seconds sweep, thinner watch.
Orient’s F6xxx family — in-house calibers from a maker that builds its own, which is unusual at these prices.
The one thing to insist on: the listing names the caliber. A watch described only as “automatic movement” is withholding the specification that determines whether it can ever be repaired. That single omission is a better filter than any spec you can compare.
Decision 3: the crystal
The specification you will notice most over five years. Sapphire sits at 9 on the Mohs hardness scale, ordinary glass at 5.5, and acrylic at 2 to 2.5 — while the grit in everyday dust and sand is largely quartz at 7. That is why acrylic hazes in months, mineral glass collects hairlines in a couple of years, and sapphire generally does not.
Two caveats worth knowing before you treat sapphire as compulsory. It is more brittle, so a hard corner impact is more likely to chip it than mineral glass. And it cannot be polished at home, where acrylic can be restored with a cloth and a mild compound in ten minutes. Our crystal comparison covers the whole trade.
Also learn to spot “sapphire coated”. That is mineral glass with a thin hardened layer that wears through, not sapphire. Price it as mineral.
Decision 4: water resistance
Buy for how you actually live rather than for the largest number available. 30m means splashes and handwashing only — it is not a depth you can take the watch to, because the rating comes from a static pressure test and swimming generates dynamic pressure well above it. 50m adds showering and shallow swimming. 100m is the point at which a watch is genuinely fine for swimming and surface water sports.
Anything marked for diving needs an ISO 6425 DIVER’S rating, which requires every individual watch to be tested rather than a production sample. Most watches that look like divers do not carry it, and that is fine unless you are actually diving. Our water resistance guide explains the markings properly — including why a hot shower is harder on a watch than a swim.
Decision 5: the brand, which is really a question about later
Everything up to here is about the watch on day one. This decision is about year five.
A maker that builds its own movements, publishes their specifications and runs a service network — Seiko, Orient, Citizen — is selling you a repairable object. A micro-brand assembling bought-in calibers is selling you a specification, and the practical repair route is movement replacement rather than overhaul. Both are legitimate purchases; they are different purchases, and the price difference between them is largely this.
Three watches that fit this advice
Not a ranking of the whole market — three watches that each land cleanly on the five decisions above, so you can see what “named caliber, sensible size, honest water resistance, maker with a service path” looks like in practice. Prices are from a live daily check; we have not handled any of them.
#1Best all-round first automatic
Seiko 5 Sports SRPG31
The field-flavored 5 Sports: a clean, bezel-free dial on a steel case, driven by Seiko's own automatic with hand-winding. It is the model to buy when the SRPD's dive bezel is more watch than you want.
Strengths
+Seiko's own 4R36 with hacking and hand-winding
+39.4mm case, the smallest diameter of the Seiko references we compare
+Clean, legible dial without a dive bezel
Trade-offs
−Curved Hardlex, not sapphire
−48.1mm lug-to-lug on a 39.4mm case, so it wears longer than the diameter suggests
−10 bar, not a diver's rating - fine for swimming, not dive equipment
Movement
Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
41 hours
Case size
39.4 mm
Water resistance
100 m
Crystal
Curved Hardlex
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. The 5 Sports line covers field, dive and street styling on one movement platform. Choosing between them is a styling decision, not a mechanical one. Seiko publishes this reference in full: 4R36, 39.4mm across, 13.2mm thick, 48.1mm lug-to-lug, 10 bar, curved Hardlex, approximately 41 hours of reserve.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#2Best if you want a dress watch
Orient Bambino (Version 7, Small Seconds)
The classic affordable dress automatic. A domed crystal, a clean 38.4mm case and a small-seconds sub-dial give it a vintage character that costs a great deal more elsewhere. Orient makes its own movements, which is rare at this price.
Strengths
+In-house Orient movement — a real rarity in this price band
+Domed dial and 38.4mm case wear beautifully under a cuff
+Hand-winding for the days you don't wear it
Trade-offs
−Orient's stated accuracy range is wide — set expectations
−Lower water resistance; keep it away from the pool
Movement
Orient F6222 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
40 hours
Case size
38.4 mm
Water resistance
30 m
Crystal
Domed mineral
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. Orient is a Seiko-owned brand that still builds its own calibers, which is why the Bambino delivers an in-house dress automatic for the price others charge for a Miyota-powered one.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on July 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#3Best if you want something you can swim in
Orient Mako II Diver
The budget diver that built the reputation. The Mako II gives you a true 200m case and Orient's in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — for even less than the Kamasu. The one real trade versus the Kamasu is the crystal: mineral here, sapphire there. A lot of watch for the money.
Strengths
+200m rated automatic diver at a genuinely low price
+In-house Orient F6922 movement, hacking and hand-winding
+A modern classic with a huge owner base
Trade-offs
−Mineral crystal, not sapphire — the Kamasu fixes exactly this
−Roughly 41mm with a broad case — big on a small wrist
Movement
Orient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
40 hours
Case size
Not published
Water resistance
200 m
Crystal
Mineral (Hardlex-class)
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. The Mako II versus Kamasu decision comes down to one thing: the crystal. Both use the same F6922 (both hack and hand-wind), so you're really deciding whether sapphire is worth the small step up from mineral.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
The three traps
Buying a specification instead of a watch
Sapphire, 300m and a ceramic bezel for $150 is a genuinely impressive spec sheet and a poor reason on its own to buy anything. Ask what the watch looks like on your wrist and who will fix it, then look at the specification. Our micro-brand roundup sets out where that trade is worth making.
Buying up before you know what you like
Tastes change fast in the first year. A great many people who spend $600 on a first automatic discover within six months that they wanted a smaller, plainer watch. Start around $150 to $300, wear it for a year, then buy the expensive one knowing what you actually want.
Worrying about accuracy
A new automatic running twenty seconds a day fast is working correctly, not broken. If it bothers you, a watchmaker can regulate it for a modest fee. Our accuracy guide explains how to test yours properly before you conclude anything is wrong — and why an automatic loses time covers the causes that are free to fix.
Frequently asked questions
What should I look for when buying an automatic watch?+
In order: case size that suits your wrist, a named movement from a maker that publishes its specification, the crystal material, a water resistance figure that matches how you live, and a brand that will still service the watch later. Size first, because a watch that does not fit is a watch you stop wearing.
What size automatic watch should I buy?+
For most wrists, 36 to 40mm. Diameter matters less than lug-to-lug distance — if the lugs overhang the flat of your wrist the watch looks wrong at any diameter. If you cannot try one on, measure your wrist and check the lug-to-lug figure rather than the case width.
How accurate should a new automatic watch be?+
Seiko publishes about -35 to +45 seconds a day for its common 4R calibers, and Miyota publishes -10 to +30 for the 9015. A COSC-certified chronometer averages -4 to +6. Anything inside the maker's stated window is working correctly, even if it sounds poor next to a quartz watch.
Is a sapphire crystal essential on an automatic watch?+
Not essential, but it is the specification you will notice most over years of wear. Sapphire sits at 9 on the Mohs hardness scale, ordinary glass at 5.5, and the grit in everyday dust is largely quartz at 7 — hard enough to scratch glass but not sapphire. If it is available in your budget, take it.
How much should I spend on my first automatic watch?+
Roughly $150 to $300 buys a watch from a maker that builds its own movements, publishes specifications and will service it. Below that you are into micro-brands and Invicta, which is a reasonable experiment but a poorer first watch. Above about $500 the improvements become finishing rather than function.
Should I buy an automatic watch online without trying it on?+
You can, but check two numbers first: lug-to-lug distance against your wrist width, and thickness. Those two decide fit far more reliably than case diameter, and they are the two most commonly missing from listings. If neither is published, treat that as a reason to be cautious.
Sources
Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
MIYOTA — Caliber 9015 Premium Automatic specification — Miyota's own spec for the 9015: -10 to +30 sec/day, 24 jewels, 28,800 vibrations per hour, approximately 42 hours of running time, 3.90mm high, with a stop-second device and automatic plus hand winding (accessed August 19, 2026)
Mohs scale of mineral hardness — Wikipedia — The hardness ranking behind every watch-crystal argument: corundum (sapphire) 9, quartz 7, glass 5.5, plastic 2 to 2.5 — which is why sand and grit, largely quartz, scratch mineral glass and acrylic but not sapphire (accessed August 19, 2026)
Water Resistant mark — Wikipedia — What the depth markings actually mean: 30m is splash resistance only, 50m covers showering and shallow swimming, 100m covers swimming and water sports, and only an ISO 6425 'DIVER'S' mark is rated for scuba (accessed August 11, 2026)