Dial & Lume

How to Tell if an Automatic Watch Is Fully Wound

Most automatics have no gauge and no hard stop, so you work it out two ways - by the crown, and by the clock. Both take about thirty seconds to learn.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

The frustrating answer first: on most automatic watches you cannot feel when the mainspring is full, and that is deliberate engineering rather than a shortcoming. So there are two reliable methods, one that takes ten seconds and one that takes two days. The ten-second method is to count crown turns — about 30 to 40 from a stopped watch. The two-day method is to wind it, leave it absolutely still, and time how long it runs before it stops, then compare that against the reserve figure the maker publishes for the caliber.

Why there is no hard stop at the crown

In a hand-wound watch the mainspring is hooked solidly to the inside of its barrel. Wind it to the end and it stops dead; keep forcing it and something breaks. That unambiguous stop is how owners of hand-wound watches know they are done.

An automatic cannot work that way, because the rotor on your wrist never stops trying to wind. Instead the outer end of the mainspring is held by a slipping bridle: a sprung strip that grips the barrel wall under normal tension and slips once the spring is fully wound, letting the excess go. That single component is why an automatic is mechanically impossible to overwind, by rotor or by a watch winder, and it is also why the crown keeps turning forever with roughly the same feel.

Some people describe a faint change in resistance as the bridle starts to slip. It is real but subtle, it varies by caliber, and it is not something to bet on. Counting is better.

Method 1: count the turns

From a fully stopped watch, hold the crown in its neutral position — pushed in, or in the first position on a screw-down crown once you have unscrewed it — and turn it in the winding direction:

  • About 20 turns: the watch is running happily with enough reserve for a day. This is all you need to start a stopped watch and set it.
  • About 30–40 turns: a full wind on a typical modern automatic. Past this point the bridle is slipping and you are achieving nothing.
  • Beyond that: harmless but pointless. The thing to avoid is not over-winding, it is wearing out the crown threads and the stem by doing this every day on a screw-down crown. If a watch needs winding daily, wear it more or use a winder.

Two cautions. First, not every automatic hand-winds — older Seiko 5s and the original Orient Mako, for instance, had calibers that did not. If turning the crown produces no sound or resistance at all, check the caliber before you keep going; the winding guide covers how to tell. Second, wind the watch off the wrist. Winding it on your wrist pulls the stem sideways, and side load on a stem is a real way to damage one.

Method 2: time the reserve against the published figure

This is the definitive test, and it doubles as the best health check you can perform on an automatic without opening it. Wind the watch fully, set it, note the time, and put it somewhere it will not be touched — dial up, undisturbed, not on a winder. Then record when the seconds hand stops.

Now compare. The figures below are published by the makers for the calibers, not estimated by us:

  • Seiko 4R35 / 4R36: approximately 41 hours, per Seiko’s own caliber specification (which also states 24 jewels, 21,600 vibrations an hour and a rate of +45 to −35 seconds a day worn on the wrist).
  • Orient F6922: approximately 40 hours, per Orient’s published sheet for the Kamasu.
  • Citizen 8210: 42 hours, per Citizen’s own listing for the Tsuyosa, which also states a hack feature.

Land within a few hours of the published number and you now know two things: your winding routine really does fill the spring, and the movement is in good order. Come in dramatically short — 20 hours against a published 41 — and the watch is telling you something. A short reserve points at the mainspring, the barrel or tired lubrication, and it is the most common honest reason to book a service.

The reason this matters: accuracy sags as the spring unwinds

A mainspring does not deliver even torque across its whole reserve. The last few hours before a watch stops are the least accurate hours it has, because the escapement is receiving the weakest push. This is why a watch that is nearly unwound every morning can look like a watch with an accuracy fault and is really a watch with a winding problem — and why the desk-bound week is the classic cause of both. Losing time and accuracy in general both start here.

It is also why “I wear it every day, why does it stop at the weekend?” has a boring answer: wearing a watch winds it in proportion to how much your wrist actually moves, and a quiet office day may add less than the day consumes. How many hours a day you need to wear one is the full version.

Three watches whose makers publish the figure to test against

If you want to run the reserve test, it helps to own a watch whose maker states a number. These three do — and that published figure is a far better reason to buy one than any claim about accuracy.

#1Best documented reserve

Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65

The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.

Strengths

  • In-house Seiko 4R36 movement with hacking and hand-winding
  • Day-date, 100m water resistance and a see-through caseback onto the movement
  • The most cross-shopped, best-supported budget automatic there is

Trade-offs

  • The 4R36 is reliable, not accurate to chronometer standards
  • Hardlex crystal scratches more easily than sapphire
MovementSeiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy+45 / -35 sec/day
Power reserve41 hours
Case size42.5 mm
Water resistance100 m
CrystalHardlex mineral
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The 5 Sports line is the modern heir to the original Seiko 5: an honest, serviceable automatic with real heritage, which is exactly why it anchors so many of our lists. Seiko sells the SRPD65 head on more than one band; the listing linked here is the K4 variant, and the case, caliber and crystal figures above are Seiko's own for the reference rather than for a particular band.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best in-house alternative

Orient Kamasu Diver (RA-AA0003R)

The value dive watch to beat. The Kamasu (Mako III) runs Orient's proven in-house F6922 — which hacks and hand-winds — behind a sapphire crystal, on a true 200m case. That sapphire is the main hardware upgrade over the older mineral-crystal Mako II, and it all lands for well under the Seiko it competes with.

Strengths

  • Sapphire crystal at a price where mineral is the norm
  • True 200m rating with a screw-down crown and solid bracelet
  • In-house F6922 movement that both hacks and hand-winds

Trade-offs

  • The in-house movement isn't chronometer-accurate
  • Roughly 42mm with a broad case — wears large on a small wrist
MovementOrient F6922 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve40 hours
Case size41.88 mm
Water resistance200 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Kamasu's real upgrade over the Mako II is the sapphire crystal — both share the same F6922 movement, so both already hack and hand-wind. (The Orient diver that does neither is the original Mako I, on the older 46943 caliber.)

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Longest published reserve here

Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)

The integrated-bracelet sports watch look, at a fraction of the watches that started the trend. A sunburst dial, a slim case and a comfortable bracelet make the Tsuyosa the affordable way to scratch that particular itch — with Citizen's own automatic movement inside.

Strengths

  • On-trend integrated bracelet and sunburst dial
  • Citizen in-house automatic movement
  • Wears slim and comfortable for an everyday watch

Trade-offs

  • 50m water resistance — splash-proof, not a swimmer
  • Movement is reliable rather than high-accuracy
MovementCitizen 8210 (Miyota-based, automatic)
Stated accuracyNot published
Power reserve42 hours
Case size40 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire
Hacks / hand-windsYes / Yes

Why this one. The Tsuyosa rode the integrated-bracelet wave and became a genuine hit by delivering the silhouette honestly and cheaply. One caveat worth knowing: the earliest units did not hack, while current production does — Citizen doesn't publish a daily accuracy figure either way.

Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

All three hand-wind, which is what makes the test possible at all, and all three hack so you can set them precisely against a reference clock. If you are shopping rather than diagnosing, the wider lists are best Japanese automatics and best entry-level automatics.

Frequently asked questions

How do I know when my automatic watch is fully wound?

Count, do not feel. Most automatics use a slipping bridle on the mainspring, so the crown never reaches a hard stop - the spring simply slips once it is full. Around 30 to 40 turns of the crown from a stopped watch is a full wind on a typical modern automatic. The definitive test is to wind it, leave it still, and time how long it runs before stopping.

Can you feel when an automatic watch is fully wound?

Not reliably, and that is by design. A hand-wound watch stops dead when the mainspring is at its limit; an automatic's spring is attached to the barrel wall by a bridle that slips instead, which is what makes a watch impossible to overwind by rotor or by winder. Some people report a slight change in resistance as the bridle begins to slip, but it is subtle and not something to rely on.

How many turns to fully wind an automatic watch?

Roughly 30 to 40 turns of the crown on a typical modern automatic, which gets you into the full-reserve region. There is no harm in a few more - the bridle slips - and no benefit either. 20 turns is plenty to get a stopped watch running accurately for a day.

Does wearing an automatic watch fully wind it?

Not necessarily. The rotor winds in proportion to wrist movement, so an active day fully winds most watches and a sedentary day at a desk may not. This is the most common reason a watch that is worn daily still stops over a weekend - it was never actually at full reserve.

Do any automatic watches show how wound they are?

Some do: a power-reserve indicator is a small sub-dial that reads the mainspring's state directly. It is uncommon below several hundred dollars, and none of the watches on this page has one, which is exactly why the two methods here exist.

My watch only runs 20 hours from a full wind. Is that a problem?

It is a symptom worth investigating if the maker publishes about 40. A reserve far below the published figure usually means the mainspring, the barrel or the lubrication needs attention, and it is the clearest self-test there is for a movement that is due a service. Check first that the watch really was fully wound and genuinely undisturbed during the test.

Sources

  • Automatic watch — Wikipedia — Reference on self-winding watches: most automatics can also be wound by hand at the crown, and a slipping bridle on the mainspring barrel makes overwinding by a rotor or a winder mechanically impossible (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Orient Watch USA — Kamasu RA-AA0003R39B specification — Orient's published sheet for the Kamasu: caliber F6922 automatic, hand-winding, hacking; approximately 40 hours reserve; sapphire crystal; 41.88mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 12.8mm thick, 22mm lugs; 200m; screw-down crown; 120-click unidirectional bezel; three-year warranty (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Citizen - Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A product specification — Citizen's own listing for the Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A: caliber 8210 automatic, a 40mm case width, a sapphire crystal, WR50 ('Still Water Swimming'), and '42 Hour Power Reserve' and 'Hack Feature' in its movement-functions list. Citizen publishes no accuracy figure, case thickness or lug-to-lug distance for this reference (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Mechanical watch — Wikipedia — Reference walk-through of the power flow in a mechanical/automatic watch: rotor → mainspring → gear train → escapement → balance wheel (accessed July 21, 2026)
  • Seiko — Customer service: mechanical watch knowledge — Seiko's own guidance page for mechanical watches, covering handling, magnetic-resistant performance and the care a self-winding movement needs (accessed August 11, 2026)

Keep reading