No - and there is nowhere to put one. But three kinds of watch that look exactly like an automatic do contain a cell, and two of them are among the best-selling watches in the world.
How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. It never changes which watch or winder we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.
No. An automatic watch has no battery, has nowhere to put one, and will never need one. It stores energy the way a wind-up toy does: a weighted rotor swings as your arm moves, that motion winds a coiled steel mainspring, and the spring unwinds through a gear train at a rate an escapement controls. Nothing in that chain is electrical.
If you want to see the figure that replaces the battery, look up your movement’s power reserve. Seiko publishes about 41 hours for the 4R35 and 4R36. Citizen publishes about 42 hours for the 8204 and lists 42 for the Tsuyosa’s 8210. Orient publishes about 40 hours for the F6922. That is how long a fully wound watch runs with nothing driving it — roughly a day and a half, which is the single most useful number to know about owning one.
So why does this question come up constantly?
Because three completely different kinds of watch look identical to an automatic from the outside, and two of them are enormously popular. The dial says “automatic” on precisely one of them.
Quartz
A battery drives a quartz crystal oscillating at 32,768 times a second, and a motor steps the hands forward. It needs a new cell every year or two. Quartz is more accurate than any mechanical watch and far cheaper to make, which is why it reshaped the industry in the 1970s — Swiss watchmaking firms fell from around 1,600 to 600 between 1970 and 1983. The giveaway is the seconds hand: quartz usually ticks once per second, while a mechanical sweeps in small steps. Our automatic versus quartz comparison covers the trade properly.
Seiko Kinetic
This is the real trap, because a Kinetic has a rotor. Seiko calls Kinetic a platform alongside mechanical and quartz, and describes its 1986 prototype as “the first watch in the world to convert kinetic movement into electrical energy”. The rotor charges a cell rather than winding a mainspring. So a Kinetic winds from your wrist, looks like an automatic, and contains electronics and a rechargeable cell that will eventually need replacing. It is also the one lookalike a watch winder genuinely helps — which we cover in do winders work on manual watches.
Citizen Eco-Drive
Light, not motion. Citizen states that Eco-Drive converts any light into energy stored in a power cell, that it has been in production since 1976, and that a fully powered watch runs up to six months in darkness — up to seven years on select Power Save models — with no battery replacement. An Eco-Drive therefore has a cell you never change, needs daylight rather than winding, and gains nothing whatsoever from a winder. If you own Citizens of both kinds, our winders for Citizen page deals with the mixed collection.
The ten-second test
Hold the watch to your ear in a quiet room, then look at the seconds hand.
Sweeping in tiny steps, faint rapid ticking: mechanical. Six or eight beats a second — Seiko’s 4R36 and Citizen’s 8204 both run at 21,600 beats an hour, which is six a second.
One clean tick per second, silent otherwise: quartz, Kinetic or Eco-Drive. There is a cell in there somewhere.
Stops within about two days of taking it off, restarts when you move it: automatic.
Stops after months in a dark drawer and revives in daylight: Eco-Drive.
If the caseback is glass and you can see a semicircular weight swinging, that is a rotor and the watch is automatic — unless it is a Kinetic, which is why reading the dial text matters. Our full guide to telling whether a watch is automatic goes through every case.
What an automatic needs instead of a battery
Two things, and it is worth being honest that neither is free.
Wearing, or winding. An automatic that sits for two days is a stopped watch that needs the time — and often the date — set again. Citizen’s own manual for the 8200 and 8210 tells owners to wind the crown five to ten times to get a stopped watch going, which is better advice than shaking it. How many hours a day you need to wear it works through the arithmetic.
A service, every several years. This is the real cost of owning a battery-free watch: the lubricants in a mechanical movement degrade, friction rises, and eventually the watch cannot run properly on a full spring. A service is cleaning, re-oiling and regulation, and it costs considerably more than any battery swap. Our service cost guide sets out what to expect, and how long automatic watches last explains why a serviced mechanical outlives every quartz watch you will ever own.
What to look for if you want a watch that never needs a cell
Two published figures tell you everything. First, a named caliber with a stated power reserve — if the maker publishes “4R36, about 41 hours” or “8210, 42-hour power reserve”, you are looking at a real mechanical movement with real documentation behind it. Second, a hand-winding function, so you can start a stopped watch at the crown instead of shaking it awake. All three picks below publish both.
#1Seiko 4R36 - about 41 hours, hand-winding
Seiko 5 Sports SRPD65
The default first automatic, and it earns it. Seiko's own 4R36 movement with day-date, hacking and hand-winding, a 100m case and a genuine in-house pedigree — for a price that makes it the reference point every other budget automatic is measured against.
Strengths
+In-house Seiko 4R36 movement with hacking and hand-winding
+Day-date, 100m water resistance and a see-through caseback onto the movement
+The most cross-shopped, best-supported budget automatic there is
Trade-offs
−The 4R36 is reliable, not accurate to chronometer standards
−Hardlex crystal scratches more easily than sapphire
Movement
Seiko 4R36 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy
+45 / -35 sec/day
Power reserve
41 hours
Case size
42.5 mm
Water resistance
100 m
Crystal
Hardlex mineral
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. The 5 Sports line is the modern heir to the original Seiko 5: an honest, serviceable automatic with real heritage, which is exactly why it anchors so many of our lists. Seiko sells the SRPD65 head on more than one band; the listing linked here is the K4 variant, and the case, caliber and crystal figures above are Seiko's own for the reference rather than for a particular band.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#2Citizen 8210 - 42-hour reserve, hack feature
Citizen Tsuyosa (NJ0)
The integrated-bracelet sports watch look, at a fraction of the watches that started the trend. A sunburst dial, a slim case and a comfortable bracelet make the Tsuyosa the affordable way to scratch that particular itch — with Citizen's own automatic movement inside.
Strengths
+On-trend integrated bracelet and sunburst dial
+Citizen in-house automatic movement
+Wears slim and comfortable for an everyday watch
Trade-offs
−50m water resistance — splash-proof, not a swimmer
−Movement is reliable rather than high-accuracy
Movement
Citizen 8210 (Miyota-based, automatic)
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
42 hours
Case size
40 mm
Water resistance
50 m
Crystal
Sapphire
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. The Tsuyosa rode the integrated-bracelet wave and became a genuine hit by delivering the silhouette honestly and cheaply. One caveat worth knowing: the earliest units did not hack, while current production does — Citizen doesn't publish a daily accuracy figure either way.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
#3Orient F6222 - about 40 hours, hand-winding
Orient Bambino (Version 7, Small Seconds)
The classic affordable dress automatic. A domed crystal, a clean 38.4mm case and a small-seconds sub-dial give it a vintage character that costs a great deal more elsewhere. Orient makes its own movements, which is rare at this price.
Strengths
+In-house Orient movement — a real rarity in this price band
+Domed dial and 38.4mm case wear beautifully under a cuff
+Hand-winding for the days you don't wear it
Trade-offs
−Orient's stated accuracy range is wide — set expectations
−Lower water resistance; keep it away from the pool
Movement
Orient F6222 (automatic + hand-winding)
Stated accuracy
Not published
Power reserve
40 hours
Case size
38.4 mm
Water resistance
30 m
Crystal
Domed mineral
Hacks / hand-winds
Yes / Yes
Why this one. Orient is a Seiko-owned brand that still builds its own calibers, which is why the Bambino delivers an in-house dress automatic for the price others charge for a Miyota-powered one.
Specs read from the product listing and the maker’s published data, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.
Frequently asked questions
Do automatic watches need batteries?+
No. An automatic stores energy mechanically: a weighted rotor swings as you move, winds a coiled mainspring, and that spring releases its tension through the gear train. There is no cell, no charging and no battery compartment. The published reserve figures - about 41 hours on Seiko's 4R35 and 4R36, about 42 on Citizen's 8210 and 8204, about 40 on Orient's F6922 - are what a fully wound spring is worth.
Do automatic watches ever need a battery replacement?+
Never, because there is no battery to replace. What an automatic does need periodically is a service: cleaning, fresh lubricants and regulation, because the oils that let a mechanical movement run smoothly degrade over years. That is a different kind of appointment from a battery swap, and a more expensive one.
Do mechanical watches need batteries?+
No - 'mechanical' means the power comes from a wound spring rather than a cell. The difference between mechanical and automatic is only where the winding comes from: an automatic has a rotor that winds it as you move, a hand-wound mechanical needs the crown turned. Neither has a battery.
Why does my automatic watch keep stopping if it has no battery?+
Because the mainspring has run down. An automatic winds from arm movement, so it stops roughly a day and a half to two days after it leaves your wrist - that is normal behaviour, not a fault. If it stops while you are wearing it, the usual causes are too little movement to keep it wound, magnetism, or a movement overdue for service.
Does a Seiko Kinetic need a battery?+
It has a rechargeable cell rather than a disposable battery. Seiko describes Kinetic as a platform alongside mechanical and quartz: the 1986 prototype was 'the first watch in the world to convert kinetic movement into electrical energy'. A rotor charges a cell instead of winding a mainspring, so a Kinetic looks like an automatic from the outside and is not one - and its cell does eventually need replacing.
Does a Citizen Eco-Drive need a battery?+
No battery replacement, but it does contain a cell - charged by light rather than swapped out. Citizen states that Eco-Drive converts any light into energy stored in a power cell, and that a fully powered watch runs up to six months in darkness, or up to seven years on select Power Save models. It needs light, not winding, and a watch winder does nothing for it.
Sources
Automatic watch — Wikipedia — Reference on self-winding watches: most automatics can also be wound by hand at the crown, and a slipping bridle on the mainspring barrel makes overwinding by a rotor or a winder mechanically impossible (accessed August 11, 2026)
Mechanical watch — Wikipedia — Reference walk-through of the power flow in a mechanical/automatic watch: rotor → mainspring → gear train → escapement → balance wheel (accessed July 21, 2026)
Quartz crisis — Wikipedia — Background on quartz versus mechanical timekeeping: quartz is far more accurate and cheaper to make, and Swiss watchmaking firms fell from about 1,600 to 600 between 1970 and 1983 as a result (accessed August 11, 2026)
Seiko - Kinetic (customer service knowledge) — Seiko's own account of Kinetic: 'Like mechanical and quartz, Kinetic is a platform.' The 1986 prototype was 'the first watch in the world to convert kinetic movement into electrical energy' - a rotor that charges a cell rather than winding a mainspring, which is why a Kinetic looks like an automatic from the outside and is not one (accessed September 18, 2026)
Citizen - Eco-Drive technology — Citizen's own account of Eco-Drive: introduced in 1976, it converts any light into energy stored in a power cell, so a fully powered watch runs for up to six months in darkness (up to seven years on select Power Save models) with no battery replacement - Citizen's answer to the battery-powered quartz watch, not a mechanical movement (accessed September 22, 2026)
Seiko — Caliber 4R35 / 4R36 instruction & specification — Seiko's official spec for the 4R35/4R36: automatic + hand-winding, 24 jewels, 21,600 vph, ~41h reserve, accuracy +45 to -35 sec/day worn on wrist (accessed July 21, 2026)
Citizen - Calibers 8200 / 8210 instruction manual (PDF) — Citizen's own manual for calibers 8200 and 8210: 21,600 oscillations per hour, automatic winding, a quick-set date, and a day of week on the 8200 only. Citizen recommends winding the crown manually 5 to 10 times to start the watch. The manual states no daily accuracy figure (accessed September 22, 2026)
Citizen - Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A product specification — Citizen's own listing for the Tsuyosa NJ0150-56A: caliber 8210 automatic, a 40mm case width, a sapphire crystal, WR50 ('Still Water Swimming'), and '42 Hour Power Reserve' and 'Hack Feature' in its movement-functions list. Citizen publishes no accuracy figure, case thickness or lug-to-lug distance for this reference (accessed September 22, 2026)